We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical with a view”
Review of Lake View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake View Motel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our first stay here and first trip to Cooperstown. Side trip on our vacation to the Baseball Hall of Fame. This is a great place for those on a budget. We had a king room that was adequate and clean. (No bells and whistles but you get the necessities: TV, Coffee maker, fridge.) The bed was uncomfortable though which was really the only drawback. The view from the top of the hill was beautiful. We stayed in early fall so the colors and mist on the lake in the morning were gorgeous. Aside from the bed issues we found it very relaxing and peaceful. I imagine it may be nosier in the summer months as this place looks well suited for families. They have some very cute looking cottages with BBQ's, private decks, and patio furniture. They also have a nice little dock with paddle boats and roped off swimming area. Much too cold for us to enjoy aside from sitting on the dock and watching the boats go by. Overall I would definitely recommend this place for the value. It's also not too far from the Baseball Museum and other area attractions. FYI: Cell phone reception not so good. You can only get Verizon at the motel. You can get all other carriers about 1 mile down the road. Was not an issue for us as we left ours off most of the time but thought it was worth mentioning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dinergirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeviewmotel, Manager at Lake View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Diner Girl,

Thank you so much for your review and kind comments. We are pleased you found your stay enjoyable. we appreciate your comment on the comfort of the bed. It is so important to get feedback from our guests particularly on items that we might be unaware of but which need attention. We do routinely replace mattresses and box springs and your room is now at the top of our list to inspect as we close for the season. Again, thank you and trust if you return the concern will be gone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Lake View Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 197 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our third stay here and we will be back! The view of the lake is amazing, the staff is friendly and the rooms are comfortable. This year we took out the paddle boats too. It's a great place to unwind and enjoy at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redloveswine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was perfect for a one-night stay in the area. We arrived too early to check in and had an outdoor lunch at one of their picnic tables right on the water. We were then allowed to check in and given plenty of advice on the area by the friendly staff. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We stayed in #14 and 15 which each had two beds, microwave, coffee maker and fridge along with a view of the lake. After dinner we returned to the water-front area and sat down there talking and watching the water till the wee hours. And it was less than half the price of the in-town lodging options. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NBPINVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great place!

The rooms are comfortable. The people are friendly. You have direct access to lake Otesaga which you pay triple for if you are 6 miles south in Cooperstown!

Utilize their beach and paddle-boats for additional fun!

I'd stay here again in a minute.

-D

Room Tip: All the rooms have lake view. Ask for one with no neighbors if you want privacy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinksinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice comfortable place to stay. We've stayed on their grounds closest to the water and also at their upper location rooms. View is fantastic from either location, staff are friendly. Nice place at a great price.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K2a2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very nice place, is it a 5 star no, but very clean, very friendly staff, beautiful view and great location and easy and close to Cooperstown, I would stay again and advise my friends to check it out, no Wi-Fi, but I can live with out that, the staff gave great ideas for places to visit and eat. my friend was able to fish and really enjoyed that, they have fishing poles you can borrow.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Rooms are clean and very comfortable. Relaxing place and beautiful view although the lake is across the highway. Easy drive to town. Wi-fi works although cell phone reception is poor. Would enjoy going back!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Traveling_Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooperstown hotels
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
5.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
305 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
858 reviews
1.7 mi away
Terrace Motor Inn
Terrace Motor Inn
#10 of 16 in Cooperstown
99 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Motel

Address: 6805 State Highway 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326-3105
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#7 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range: $73 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake View Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Cooperstown, New York? The National Baseball Hall of Fame, Beautiful Lake Otsego, the Dreams Park, Leather Stocking golf course, the Farmers Museum are just a few of the many attractions in America's perfect village.The Lake View Motel on Lake Otsego is just 6 miles from the Village of Cooperstown and the Hall of Fame. We offer a selection of rooms, suites and cottages to accommodate your special needs. The beach area includes a swim dock and float, paddle boats at no charge, fishing dock and sun deck. Our spacious well kept grounds have more than ample room for that game of catch or to toss the football and Frisbee. With grills and picnic tables our "backyard" is perfect for your family picnic.You will greatly enjoy the terrific lake views from anyplace on the facility. We are open from May to mid- October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lake View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Hotel Cooperstown
Lake View Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing