We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with magnificent lake view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with magnificent lake view!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Otesaga on two separate occasions this summer while our son was playing in the week-long Cooperstown Dreams Park tournaments. The decor is old-world and lovely, and the service was friendly and gracious. I still dream about sitting out on the porch having breakfast or sipping drinks in the wooden rocking chairs overlooking the lake. For the two weeks we spent there, it really became our home away from home. Definitely worth the price compared to other local hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmm0692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear mmm0692,
How inspiring it is to read such a kind review from your stays at The Otesaga this past summer, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and especially for staying with us, not once but twice in one season! We’ll make sure to share your comments with the rest of the team, they’ll be happy to know that you enjoyed the friendly service that they provided. We look forward to your return, hopefully in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    120
    42
    13
    20
See reviews for
168
235
10
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our hotel room was beautiful with a fantastic view of Otsego lake... we had such a great time we decided to stay an extra night. The hotel is also in a lovely town with the added benefit of being home to the Baseball Hall of Fame.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brionc29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Brionc29,
We love to hear stories of guests who stayed an extra night because they enjoyed it so much! Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we truly appreciate your endorsement and we’re glad that you enjoyed our resort, the town, and its sights during your weekend stay. We look forward to your return in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel with great personnel who cater to you every need. The night manager allowed us to place our grandchildrens Christmas gift by the fire place on 12/24 and watched them so our grandchildren could be surprised that Santa found them and brought gyre presents all the way from California ! Thank you for making our trip a memorable one!
Howard and Maryann B.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I didn't see a separate listing for the Otesage Resort Hotel dining room so I'm putting my review here. While staying at the Cooper Inn, my husband and I enjoyed a marvelous dinner at the Otesaga Resort Hotel dining room. As typical with prix fixe restaurants, the choices were limited BUT the quality was excellent. Even vegetarian husband had a marvelous meal. Service was stellar with the wait staff able to balance cordial attention with 'staying out of the way' while we dined -- very nicely done. The wine selection was good and out of the ordinary. Again, wait staff knew the wine as well as the food. Okay, I'm a push-over when the table is 'crumbed' before dessert but i do like this type of attention to detail in a fine restaurant. We will definitely dine here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cherrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Kay E,
We’re so glad to read that you took advantage of dining in our Main Dining Room as one of the many benefits available to guests of The Cooper Inn. Thank you for posting a comment about your dining experience, we’re delighted to know that you enjoyed the quality of the food and service as our team makes every effort to provide an unforgettable experience, whether you’re dining with us or staying overnight. We look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

we went to enjoy a meal at the resort. The main dining area is very old and well decorated. This hotel dates back to 1909. The hospitality and service we received was just fantastic. They really put out a fabulous meal with everything you could possibly want. the wait staff waited on our every need and were prompt and courteous. The food is all top shelf they don't hold back on anything. Stop in and enjoy a fabulous meal in the main dining room at the Otesaga Resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WBevanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear WBevanW,
Thank you for your endorsement, we’re excited to know that you had a ‘fantastic’ experience in the Main Dining Room of The Otesaga. The team will be so happy to read your comments as they strive to exceed every guest’s expectation while visiting The Otesaga. We hope to welcome you back during one of our many events lined up for the upcoming season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

This beautiful period hotel sits right on the lake, wonderful period ambience, fantastic experience! We went to a wedding here last weekend and never felt anything except relaxed! I have stayed here once before and will definitely again. Loved the little pub downstairs with music until the wee hours. Oh! The food was great also, especially the apps.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stirling061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Stirling061,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at The Otesaga, we’re so glad to know that you had a fantastic experience while attending a wedding. Your kind comments will be shared with the rest of the team who will be so proud to know that they made your stay special. We hope to welcome you back for a return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

There is something elegant about understated class. Here it is.
I had stayed here for a conference years ago. Single beds. No TV, and no telephone or ammenities in the rooms. Now things are up to resort standards. But what still remains is the subdued attentiveness of the staff. In other reviews you will have seen the accurate comments about the views and the food; all true. But what is more important is the pervasive attitude. You are their GUEST. And they are there to insure your experience. I've been to a lot of top drawer resorts, but in Upstate NY only the Mirror Lake Inn in Lake Placid is in the same league with regard to attentiveness.
Downside-We would have liked coffee and tea in the room in the morning.
We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: You obviously want the lake side, but the other charms of the hotel are such that you will not want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Robert,
Thank you so much for your endorsement, it’s so delightful to read such positive comments about your recent stay at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, it makes our team proud to know that our attentive service is what made your stay so memorable. While we offer complimentary coffee and tea selection to our guests in the main lobby each day, we’ll make sure to share your comment with the appropriate departments for consideration. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#6 of 16 in Cooperstown
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
9.6 mi away
The Lake House
The Lake House
#4 of 4 in Richfield Springs
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Otesaga Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Otesaga Resort Hotel

Property: The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Address: 60 Lake St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#3 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Otesaga Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Otesaga Resort Hotel is the historic grand resort of Cooperstown, NY, overlooking majestic Lake Otsego and providing exceptional accommodations, excellence service, and an elegant atmosphere since 1909. The resort is located just a short walk from Cooperstown's main attractions, including the Baseball Hall Of Fame, The Fenimore Art Museum and The Farmers' Museum, and provides exclusive packages for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Otesaga Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown
Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing