We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Trumansburg, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gracious”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

There is something elegant about understated class. Here it is.
I had stayed here for a conference years ago. Single beds. No TV, and no telephone or ammenities in the rooms. Now things are up to resort standards. But what still remains is the subdued attentiveness of the staff. In other reviews you will have seen the accurate comments about the views and the food; all true. But what is more important is the pervasive attitude. You are their GUEST. And they are there to insure your experience. I've been to a lot of top drawer resorts, but in Upstate NY only the Mirror Lake Inn in Lake Placid is in the same league with regard to attentiveness.
Downside-We would have liked coffee and tea in the room in the morning.
We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: You obviously want the lake side, but the other charms of the hotel are such that you will not want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Robert,
Thank you so much for your endorsement, it’s so delightful to read such positive comments about your recent stay at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, it makes our team proud to know that our attentive service is what made your stay so memorable. While we offer complimentary coffee and tea selection to our guests in the main lobby each day, we’ll make sure to share your comment with the appropriate departments for consideration. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    115
    42
    13
    19
See reviews for
167
225
10
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Park, NY
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at The Otesaga for a conference in October and it was magnificent! The hotel is filled with old world charm and all the modern amenities. The view over Lake Otsego was gorgeous with the fall foliage peaking, even though it was over-cast and raining at night. The food was wonderful and the staff was warm and welcoming. Ivan started our afternoon off wonderfully by offering to fill our ice bucket for drinks while we settled in ~ so welcome after driving 3 hours by car and sitting through classes all afternoon! The entertainment in the lounge downstairs was fun and lively. I was disappointed that we didn't get to have drinks out by the huge fire pit at night because of the rain... but it gives me a reason to go back another time! Whether you visit the Otesaga for a conference, weekend away with a loved one, or a wedding, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor, end of the wing, so that the windows in the room overlooked the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank higginsfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Higginsfoster,
We're so excited to read such positive and kind comments, thank you for taking the time to write a review, it means a lot to us! We’re glad that you enjoyed everything about The Otesaga Resort Hotel during your recent conference and delighted to know that the staff’s friendliness and assistance contributed for a pleasant stay. It’s unfortunate that you weren't able to experience our new lakeside Fire Bar but as you mentioned, it gives another reason to return and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Outstanding experience. Old style charm with beautiful building, location, and view; but the service and attitude was off the charts. Hawkeye Grill: best scallops of my life! Add the lamb T-bones for world-class "surf n turf". Main dining room meals virtually perfect. Bell, front desk, housekeeping, concierge, event management, F&B staffs all went out of their way to attend to every potential need with a great, helpful attitude.

Doesn't get much better!

Room Tip: Lakeview, of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Mark R,
We’re so happy to read about your recent experience at The Otesaga, thank you for the kind comments, especially as it relates to our service. We’ll make sure to share your feedback with the rest of the team, as they will be proud to know that one more guest had a great experience during their stay. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to making your next visit even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Visiting cooperstown for baseball hall of fame. Went to this restuarant to have dinner. This was a very nice old bar and grill, would have been nice to sit on patio overlooking lake, but was a bit cold. Had the special prime rib with horseradish dip, large salad, and home fries. Beef was excellent. Local beer also available and is very good. Will be back when I return to town.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mikiej09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mikiej09,
Thank you for choosing the Hawkeye Bar & Grill for your recent dining experience, we’re so glad that you enjoyed your menu selection and that everything was to your satisfaction, we’ll make sure to share your kind comments with the chef and his team! We hope to welcome you back when you can experience dining on our outdoor patio overlooking the majestic Lake Otsego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had traveled to Cooperstown to visit the Fenimore Museum in the summer, and we chose to eat at the Hawkeye Grill at the Otesaga Resort. That experience was so delightful that we returned to Cooperstown with friends to show off the museum and the town, and especially the Otesaga Resort. Second time was even better, so a friend and I determined to return and stay for a few days. And we were so happy we did.

What's so great? The location, beautiful natural setting with the quaint little town of Cooperstown within walking distance. The staff, friendly and helpful, ready to make the stay enjoyable without ever being intrusive. The room, traditional and large and comfortable with a nice big en suite, plenty of towels and hot water--rooms we can find only in the lovely grand dame hotels found in places that know how to preserve the old and classy while doing regular upkeep to keep in touch with the needs of guests. The food, great breakfast buffet, terrific meals from sandwiches to multiple courses--you choose the level of formality. Lots of lovely nooks, places to settle in and enjoy a drink, a conversation with an old friend, or a genial exchange with a new one--the Lobby Bar is so comfy, and the fire pit bar is the absolute bomb, the terrace overlooking the lake is delightful!

We will be back.

Room Tip: Don't miss the Fenimore, not only is the permanent collection worth the trip, but the views from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlinandme2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Merlinandme2013,
Nothing is more rewarding than reading such a positive review, thank you for taking the time to provide your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at The Otesaga, we’re so happy that you enjoyed everything about our resort. We will make sure to share your comments with the rest of the team, they will be so proud of reading your remarks as they work diligently to provide exceptional service to each guest staying with us. Thank you for your endorsement and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Otesaga a number of times over the last 20 years. We recently stayed for a night on our way back from a fall trip to Vermont. As always the location on the lake is breathtaking. Having afternoon tea in a rocking chair overlooking the 18th hole on the golf course and the lake is one of life's great pleasures.The rooms are decorated in a traditional manner but it suits the overall historical ambience of the hotel. We had both the breakfast and lunch buffets in the Main Dining Room and thought they were excellent. We also had dinner in the Hawkeye Grill which was very good. All in all, a great short stay and we hope to return again in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Dhi50,
Thank you for the glowing review of your recent stay at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, what a true pleasure it is to read that you had such a positive stay on your return visit. The views from the veranda are truly unique to The Otesaga and our guests love it! Thank you for your loyalty and we can’t wait to welcome you back, hopefully in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

we stayed here for a wedding over the weekend. received great service and the hotel is absolutely gorgeous. considering how expensive even the chain hotels are in the area, this place is pretty reasonable.
Only cons were the dated room decor. ( 1980's floral with seafoam carpet). The rooms could stand to be thoroughly cleaned ( especially the carpet), and the room service wasn't that great.

The rest of the food we received here was delicious and the atmosphere is great. Absolutely love the fire pit, just wish it would have been lit past 11pm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mndtylr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear ARJohnson,
We’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Otesaga during your recent visit, thank you for your constructive comments, we’ll make sure to share your feedback with the respective departments. We would love the opportunity to entertain our guests at the Fire Bar past 11 pm, but we also need to be considerate of our other guests. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
0.2 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
258 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#13 of 16 in Cooperstown
248 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Otesaga Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Otesaga Resort Hotel

Property: The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Address: 60 Lake St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Otesaga Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Otesaga Resort Hotel is the historic grand resort of Cooperstown, NY, overlooking majestic Lake Otsego and providing exceptional accommodations, excellence service, and an elegant atmosphere since 1909. The resort is located just a short walk from Cooperstown's main attractions, including the Baseball Hall Of Fame, The Fenimore Art Museum and The Farmers' Museum, and provides exclusive packages for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TravelClick so you can book your The Otesaga Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown
Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing