We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Classic is Fall Ready”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This upstate NY gem is perfect for more than just baseball lovers. The hotel is still gracious and seems to be aging well and worth a visit. My husband and I returned for an anniversary visit and enjoyed sitting on the second floor porch overlooking the water. A great place to take a bottle of wine and enjoy the view in romantic privacy! When you visit, book lunch or dinner on the terrace and enjoy the huge breakfast buffet. Take a walk around the residential streets and skip the tourist stores, but stop for a cookie at the bakery on the main corner in town. Also, there is an excellent and well run conference facility which doesn't encroach on the rest of the hotel or seem too "Corporate".

Room Tip: Book a lake view. It is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Nancy R,
Thank you for your review and for staying with us during your anniversary visit to The Otesaga Resort Hotel, we’re so happy to read that you were able to enjoy a romantic getaway to Cooperstown, known as America’s Most Perfect Village! We look forward to your return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 654 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Resort is located in the heart of Cooperstown. Easily within walking distance to the Hall of Fame and the town of Cooperstown. Hotel staff cannot do enough for you. Rooms are a bit dated but nicely sized. The resorts policy is that you musty take the modified American meal plan. Breakfast is a nice buffet and dinner can be taken in the dining room or lounge. We ate at both and our preference was the lounge. Food was slightly better than average but better than anything we ate at in Cooperstown.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRANK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my fifteenth consecutive year for spending a summer weekend here. The hotel is truly one of the Grande Dames of resort hotels. The rooms are large and comfortable. The bathrooms spacious and stocked with plenty of fluffy towels. There can't be a better place than to sit on the veranda overlooking the lake and having drinks brought to you. The staff is courteous and pleasant. Be sure to stop by the Hawkeye bar and speak to Jim the afternoon bartender, one of the friendliest in the business. The Modified American Plan includes the breakfast buffet and dinner. The breakfast is one of the most varied with made to order omelets, eggs and waffles. The dinner in the main dinning room is American traditional comprising of four courses. For added touch of decorum men are expected to wear jackets for dinner.
Of course the big attraction in Cooperstown is the Baseball Hall of Fame, but there is also the Fennimore Art Museum and Farmers Museum plus the best summer opera experience at Glimmerglass Opera.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Will definitely be back to this resort. We went for a long weekend to the Baseball Hall of Fame and enjoyed the hotel every bit as much as the Hall of Fame. The room was huge and clean as was the bathroom which was surprising to me as the resort is over 100 years old. We had to order room service on our first night there as we went down to the Hawk Eye Grill and were turned away, stating that we could not have a table until 9pm even though there appeared to be plenty of empty tables. The next night we dined at the Hawk Eye Grill and enjoyed the view as much as the food. The breakfast buffet was awesome. The whole place has a fabulous feel of a bygone era in a beautiful setting where service was exceptional from Luke our parking valet to the front desk to the turn down service. I highly recommend this place and can not imagine that there is a better place to stay in Cooperstown.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glamourkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at Otesaga on August 28 and 29. When we pulled up to the resort for the first time my entire family all said at the same time "wow". The resort was beautiful inside and out. The setting along the lake is spectacular. We had dinner for two evenings at the Hawk-Eye Grill - dining outdoors and looking at the lake. The fire pit provided hours of evening entertainment as we got to mingle with other guests. The facility was extremely clean. The staff was first rate and handled all of our needs with a smile. It was walking distance to the Baseball Hall of Fame and all of the shops, cafes and restaurants on Main Street. The Farmers Museum, just down the street, was a great find. We had a standard room (queen bed and a single bed) and it was perfect for the three of us. We took the breakfast package and we highly recommend it - the buffet was awesome. Tremendous resort, great value - we will be back

Room Tip: ask for a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Alan G,
Thank you for the kind comments regarding your recent visit to The Otesaga, we're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we will be sure to share your feedback with the rest of the team as they will enjoy reading your positive review. We've been receiving great feedback from guests on our new Fire Table that overlooks Lake Otsego and we’re glad to hear that you liked it as well. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Fifty years ago this year, my husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. It was absolutely fantastic. As our funds were very limited, the only reason we enjoyed the Otesaga's hospitality was for the fact that my husband was employed at the Treadway Inns at the Publick House in Sturbridge, Ma. where we lived at the time and the employees could stay overnight at any Treadway Inn for $1.00/night. We had such a nice time, everyone was very gracious and we even were treated to a glass of wine with dinner. The memories of that trip, as you can see, remain with us and though we cannot afford to stay there still, we love Ortesaga. (I'm asked to include a date for this note to be submitted so I'm going to make up one).

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank alineracicot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Not so glorious these days, though. The Otesaga is a very tired old lady, despite efforts at "grandeur," such as the harpist who plays at teatime and through dinner. There's a lovely expansive porch with rocking chairs, overlooking the lake. The food is all American and plentiful, albeit lacking imagination - right out of the 1950's. Our room was quite small and dowdy, but the bath was large and refurbished. We enjoyed the pool and the landscaped grounds. The staff, aside from a couple of friendly bellmen, were neither particularly friendly nor welcoming - especially the cold woman at the reception desk. A waiter, when asked for a well-shaken, dry martini, brought a glass 1/4 filled with vermouth and a beaker of gin. Unsophisticated all around.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank namllu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Namllu,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we’re so sorry to hear about your recent experience while staying with us, especially as it relates to our service as we strive to provide the highest quality of customer service to our guests. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate departments to make sure our team is aware of your comments and takes corrective action. Please email us at otesagahotel@otesaga.com so we can go over your concerns in detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#8 of 16 in Cooperstown
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
3.4 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites of Cooperstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Otesaga Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Otesaga Resort Hotel

Address: 60 Lake St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#3 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range: $276 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Otesaga Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Otesaga Resort Hotel is the historic grand resort of Cooperstown, NY, overlooking majestic Lake Otsego and providing exceptional accommodations, excellence service, and an elegant atmosphere since 1909. The resort is located just a short walk from Cooperstown's main attractions, including the Baseball Hall Of Fame, The Fenimore Art Museum and The Farmers' Museum, and provides exclusive packages for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Otesaga Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown
Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing