We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How grand hotels used to be...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Skaneateles, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“How grand hotels used to be...”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had the fortunate opportunity to stay at Otesaga on a business conference several years ago and we had the entire resort to ourselves as it was late winter/early spring before the resort opened to the public. We had a fantastic time and I returned with my family later that year for a weekend getaway. This is a grand, old-style hotel that is immaculate and pays attention to details. The rooms are beautiful as is the lobby and porches...walk to the Hall of Fame and downtown...it has all the special touches a nice hotel should provide...I now really hate "chain" hotels!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakeeffectfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    115
    42
    13
    19
See reviews for
167
226
10
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Spent the Thanksgiving holiday here with family. We had a lovely time. I can't remember staying at a hotel with such wonderful service. Beautiful historical hotel. Enjoyed our meals there. The hotel plans a very nice Thanksgiving Weekend package.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DDDBS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We visited for one night in November. There seemed to be very few guests in the hotel. We were lucky enough to stay in a two room suite: the furniture and beds were very comfortable and the rooms overlooked the 18th green of the golf course and the lake. The suite was impressively clean. We were on the Modified American Plan so we had dinner and breakfast in the Main Dining Room (jackets are required for men at dinner). The food at dinner was very good but not fantastic for the price ($55 fixed price). The breakfast buffet was very impressive both in quality and quantity, plus you can get omelets, pancakes, waffles, french toast cooked to order as part of the buffet. The hotel employees were uniformly and unfailingly friendly and helpful during our stay. The hotel is over 100 years old so it is not like staying at a brand new shiny resort (everything is not physically perfect), rather it is more like stepping back in time with modern amenities.
We visited both the Baseball Hall of Fame and the Fenimore Art Museum on this trip. The Farmers Museum closes for winter. Is there really a lot to do in Cooperstown? Probably not, but if you're there it's likely you drove in so you can tour around that way. On a previous visit I played the golf course: it is a really nice old classic course. It's short if you are a good player, but I don't have that problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimR55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This classic hotel is lovely,. Beautiful room, charming views of the Lake, delicious food. Charming in every way. Great friendly courteous service. Nice place to hold an event or just get away from it all. Cooperstown is the epitome of small town living. Again, it's charming

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suze1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I had always planned to bring my son to Cooperstown to visit the Baseball Hall of Fame and when Hurricane Sandy roared through our town and knocked out our power for upwards of a week, we went on a road trip. Unfortunately the weather was a bit gray and damp, so the views were somewhat diminished, but the Hotel sits right on a beautiful lake. It was a Tuesday night and the hotel felt quite empty. Our room and bathroom were spacious with lovely views of the Lake and the beds were comfortable. The highlight of our stay was breakfast the next morning. My son is a hungry teenager and he availed himself of the made to order omelets, waffles, french toast and pancakes. There was fresh squeezed orange juice and they happily gave me the iced tea I wanted. It was a walk to town and to the Hall of Fame and they let us park the car for the day in the lot so we didn't have to find parking in town. (Note - the two hour parking restriction in town isn't long enough for a Hall of Fame visit and lunch.) Would absolutely come back again - in the off season.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Beautiful hotel. Everyone should experience the grandeur of a 100 year building. Food and service were also excellent. You are in walking distance to the Hall of Fame.If you really want to experience Cooperstown stay at the Otesaga.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOB2029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was at the Otesaga Hotel for a conference and was absolutly amazed at the level of service we recieved! The room I stayed in was suppose to sleep 3 of us and contained two queen size beds as well as a pull out couch. (Unfortunately one of our colleges couldn't make it) Turn down service wasn't aware that one of us was absent and even with the couch pulled out it was more than spacious. Seeing as we were there for a conference, dining was included and it certainly wasn't the usually conference food! Choices after choices for lunch with on of the most spectacular dessert buffets I have ever seen. Cocktil hour in the evening was another great treat, and words can not begin to discribe dinner. The service was outstanding, and the Otesaga should be proud of the proessionalism of their staff after a tray was accidentaly knocked off by a passing conference goer. Simply said I would go again in a heart beat. Just loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilygirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
0.2 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
258 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
248 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Otesaga Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Otesaga Resort Hotel

Property: The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Address: 60 Lake St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Otesaga Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Otesaga Resort Hotel is the historic grand resort of Cooperstown, NY, overlooking majestic Lake Otsego and providing exceptional accommodations, excellence service, and an elegant atmosphere since 1909. The resort is located just a short walk from Cooperstown's main attractions, including the Baseball Hall Of Fame, The Fenimore Art Museum and The Farmers' Museum, and provides exclusive packages for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TravelClick so you can book your The Otesaga Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown
Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing