We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandeur in a Spectacular Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Grandeur in a Spectacular Setting”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

A recent stay at the Otesaga reaffirmed our opinion that this is one of America's time-treasured
vacation resorts. Spending an afternoon in a rocking chair on the hotel veranda is an experience not to be missed. This is a classy resort where men are required to wear jackets for evening in the dining room. We were there on the modified American plan which included breakfast each morning and dinner each evening. Breakfast consisted of a large buffet which offered everything one could possibly want for breakfast. If an item wasn't readily available on the buffet (such as poached eggs), one word to the server brought the freshly prepared desired dish to the table. The dinner menu offered a variety of main dishes from steak, to fish, to duck, to vegetarian selections. Dinner did seem a bit precooked, and mashed potatoes appeared to have been sitting for awhile on the plate. Prices are high, and one pays for the spectacular setting right on Lake Otesaga. Guests need to be very specific about room location. Many rooms do not have a view of the lake. Try not to be placed on the second floor overlooking the veranda roof. There are fun opportunities for water activities on the lake, and golfing is highly desirable. If you've got the time and the money, this is a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    111
    40
    11
    17
See reviews for
159
215
10
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sharon Springs, NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

So we attended our first Otesaga Forgotten Wine Tasting with Sommelier Chad Douglass. The series is offered the last Friday of the month at 5:30PM for $25 pp for a four course small plate wine pairing. First, Chad is awesome. He is extremely knowledgeable and a wonderful instructor. The evening was light and fun, the company was great and the food was amazing. Sommelier Douglass was an absolute wizard when it came to pairing the courses and Chef Greg as usual did a remarkable job. I can't recall the last time we had such a great evening. Needless to say, we will be regulars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikcentralny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent a week at the Otesaga! What a delight! The hotel is charming, the staff is wonderful and early coffee on the veranda lakeside is a memory to be cherished! Comfortable beds..clean..great breakfast buffet..walking distance to everything in Cooperstown. A must if you are traveling to Cooperstown!

.

Room Tip: The Doubleday Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming to the Otesaga for about 4 years now. Each time better and better. The staff are very attentive to every need. The rooms are very clean and each own is different from the next. The food is delicious and we recommend the Hawkeye Grill for great food and a wonderful view of the lake. You cannot go wrong by staying at this grand hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yelolab18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Hall, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

One of the region's historic hotels, this is on par with the best. The rooms are pleasant and updated, the service outstanding, the food selection one of the best. The view of the lake is breathtaking. We particularly enjoyed dining on the veranda overlooking the lake. Didn't seem very family friendly, but there seemed to be a lot of families with children staying. And of course, it's very near the Baseball Hall of Fame and Glimmerglass.

Room Tip: Make certain to request a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjamesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

spent 3 nights at the hotel and found it charming but modern too. rooms are beautifully maintained with maid service twice daily. Fitness center is good size and never busy. there is complimentary afternoon tea served to piano accompaniment daily. the pool is a nice size and heated. I would not recommend this resort for families with children as it is quite formal-- jackets in the dining room. Also there is a MAP meal plan which is not optional. therefore the prices are high.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citisieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Traveled with my husband, parents and two teenage daughters. Resort is low-key. Not a lot of activities. Perfect for relaxing and summer reading. Pool was very nice and quiet. Grounds are beautiful. Seniors loved the large porch with rockers overlooking the lake. Would not be great for young kids. Breakfast was great - lots of options. Dinners were good, not great. I guess for the $$ I expected higher, gourmet quality. Be warned that dining plan does not include drinks or gratuity. I would only stay for a few nights to experience this beautiful old hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen14220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
6.5 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Otesaga Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Otesaga Resort Hotel

Property: The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Address: 60 Lake St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#3 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Otesaga Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Otesaga Resort Hotel is the historic grand resort of Cooperstown, NY, overlooking majestic Lake Otsego and providing exceptional accommodations, excellence service, and an elegant atmosphere since 1909. The resort is located just a short walk from Cooperstown's main attractions, including the Baseball Hall Of Fame, The Fenimore Art Museum and The Farmers' Museum, and provides exclusive packages for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your The Otesaga Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown
Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing