We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, stylish, wonderful location on Otesago Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
232 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Relaxing, stylish, wonderful location on Otesago Lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

We took the family, including our teenage children, to visit Cooperstown and we stayed for two nights at the Otesaga Hotel. It is situated on one end of Otesaga Lake and has a delightful lawn and a wonderful porch overlooking the lake. On a nice summer evening you can sit on a rocker on the porch and enjoy a drink while the kids play games on the lawn. Accommodations are nicely appointed and well maintained. The staff was professional and courteous. Our children particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the omelet station. The surrounding neighborhood is very nice to walk through, especially in the early morning and the evenings. I would recommend the Otesaga for couples and families alike.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leom5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    105
    40
    11
    17
See reviews for
155
205
10
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guilderland, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Nothing beats the front porch of the Otesaga with it's rocking chairs, overlooking the lake. I've stayed here many times and the porch is by far my favorite feature. The hotel is impressive from the lobby right to the rooms. The hotel is definitely filled with old world charm. The food is good and the main dining room is lovely, although I prefer to eat on the porch if weather permits. This is a pricey hotel, but if you can splurge....be sure to spend time on the porch with a good book, glass of wine or just enjoying the view!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveloverz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Brookfield, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Wonderful rooms, excellent service. Top restaurants . Breakfast was wonderful

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbenedict6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay at the Otesaga hotel and we really enjoyed our stay. We splurged on a deluxe room with a lake view and thought it was lovely. The hotel and rooms are filled with antique style furniture and have an "old fashioned " feeling to them, The majority of guests were 50+ or families with children.However, we found that everything was clean and had no problem with the a/c or anything else. We went with a dinner & breakfast plan and found the food to be unpretentious and delicious. However, if you are looking for very chic style menus with small portions you probably will be disappointed.
The view of the lake is very pretty-in fact they had a wedding on the property while we were there. We also found the staff to be extremely helpful and pleasant. The pool is simple but adequate for a swim and there were canoe rentals available. My favorite part of the hotel was its huge shaded porch with an abundance of very comfortable rocking chairs for relaxing, reading and starring at the beautiful view. We found the golf course to be very good.
We had only two negative comments regarding this stay.First, The hotel is within walking distance of the Baseball Hall of Fame. However, there really is not too much to do in the area. However, since we stayed only two nights at the hotel this was not a problem for us. Second, since we were there at the end of August the nightly room rate with 2 meals was very high for this part of NY.
Overall we would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: request a high floor with a lake view if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summervac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boling, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was a nice place but it was not a luxury resort at all. Our room was very outdated. The ac didn't work in both sides of the suite. The dinner in the resturant was over priced and a huge disappointment. However, you can not beat the view. The place needs a huge clean-up and makeover. The staff wasn't very helpful. They have a really good thing.... The management should really buck-up and improve the place. Breakfast was great. It was worth the price. The staff was nice, just not knowledgeable at all. It should not be rated a luxury resort at all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cljttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

As a meeting planner, I first found The Otesaga when we planned a group meeting here a few years back. Many of our guests were skeptical since they think of Cooperstown as the home of the Baseball Hall of Fame. It doesn't matter who you are, whether a baseball fan or not, this old gem of a hotel is a can't miss. I've since returned several times, both with groups and on my own, because I simply love the old-world atmosphere, excellent food and top-notch service. Whether sitting on the large terrace porch overlooking Otsego Lake in a rocking chair or wandering around the green lawns of the beautiful property, this is a relaxing, refreshing destination. You can book a lovely boat excursion on Lake Otsego on the Glimmerglass Queen (on your own or with for a group) and you can even arrange to rent out the Baseball Hall of Fame for a truly memorable group dinner! And don't forget about the legendary Leatherstocking Golf Course! If you check out the rates on-line, don't be fooled - this is a FAP (Full American Plan) hotel, which means your meals are included in the rate! This is one of my all time favorites!

Room Tip: This historic hotel has rooms of all shapes and sizes; no two rooms or suites are alike. Ask for a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzysgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

This is our second visit to the Otesaga and we found it to be just as special as our first visit.
The staff is welcoming. The rooms are exactly as they should be for the nature of this hotel.
Making things too modern would take away from the history. The beds, linens and amenities are all excellent. Our favorite part, by far is sitting in the rockers, on the grand porch sipping wine and enjoying the beautiful views. Dinner and Breakfast are included in your nightly rate. The cuisine at dinner was very good, made even more special by our wonderful waiter Glen. Breakfast is a substantial buffet, that will keep you full through lunch. We were also ably to enjoy round of golf on the amazingly beautiful course. Overall, we love it here and will return!

Room Tip: Request a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moose26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#11 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cooperstown Inn & Suites
6.5 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#2 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Otesaga Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Otesaga Resort Hotel

Property: The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Address: 60 Lake St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Otesaga Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Otesaga Resort Hotel is the historic grand resort of Cooperstown, NY, overlooking majestic Lake Otsego and providing exceptional accommodations, excellence service, and an elegant atmosphere since 1909. The resort is located just a short walk from Cooperstown's main attractions, including the Baseball Hall Of Fame, The Fenimore Art Museum and The Farmers' Museum, and provides exclusive packages for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Otesaga Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown
Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing