We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

The Otesaga is a beautiful, first-class property. Staff is on top of their game . Devoted to making your stay a success. We had a great visit.
Facilities are first rate. Setting is beautiful. We traveled through the Finger Lakes area and this was our top stay.
Restaurants were very good as well as reasonable value.
Golf course looks great-be sure and bring your clubs. Looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    115
    42
    13
    19
See reviews for
167
226
10
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

From the outside, the Otesaga Resort will take your breath away. In our room, we had to gasp. The water in the tub would not go down adequately during a shower and you wound up ankle deep in soapy water. There was a fridge in the room that froze everything... no setting seemed to change the temperature, and the stand they put it on was right out of the trash (or maybe it really was an antique that hadn't been cleaned in 100 years). The lighting was dim, and that's an understatement. Four forty watt bulbs for the room, except for the overhead which was so harsh you couldn't keep it on. Two small light fixtures in a large bathroom... leaving the tub/shower virtually in the dark. They "stuck" a TV on the bedroom dresser as an afterthought taking up more than half of the dresser top and the wall mirror behind it... truly tacky. And you surely didn't need a nightlight, because the space around the door to the room let enough hallway light in the room at night to see well... as well as sound! They put a magnifying mirror in the bathroom about 4 feet from the sink and right over the toilet... now, who could use that? And finally, the carpet was dirty. We were afraid to walk in the room without shoes on. And for all this luxury, we paid a premium price!
However, the dining was excellent, and most of the staff were polite and helpful. If you just eat there and look at the outside, it's terrific. But don't stay there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jimnlindav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Hotel is beautiful but VERY overpriced. One of only two hotels in town (both owned by same company). Rest are 50s motels and B&Bs. Lovely golf course. Adequate and expensive food. Updated rooms. Wonderful verandah overlooking exquisite grounds. Dining room is quite elegant too -- old world and beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoonball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

The lake was spectacular for our September stay - what a lovely view. Had a very relaxing time sitting on the back patio in the warmth of a fall sunbeam. The hotel staff was friendly though some seemed clueless. The room was typical of an older hotel - small but neatly maintained and clean. Other reviewers complain about the mattress but I had no complaint. The best meal was breakfast - dinner was just okay and pizza off the "lite fare" menu in the afternoon was almost inedible.

No sign of ghosts!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarbyBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2010

The Otesaga is one of those hotels that you will remember long after your stay. We traveled to Cooperstown to see the Baseball Hall of Fame and returned home telling our friends and family about our Hotel. The staff was friendly, the rooms comfortable, clean and not your typical hotel decor. We felt like guests at a friend's house. The Hotel provided you with a choice of entertainment, a flute and piano concert, a musical group
for dancing, or just sitting on the veranda in a rocking chair enjoying the beautiful view of the lake and mountains. Although the hotel is named Otesaga we called it elegance and charm.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertgnirke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Hotel is statuesque outside, fantastic location, to-die-for view. Acceptable service. Rooms are VERY, VERY tired. Entire interior is "historic" and it shows. Also note, hotel is rumored to have spiritual visitors which scared our teenagers. Rooms were overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dparkinves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Reservations staff on the phone was haughty; we were charged $800/night plus 16% service charges and taxes for two rooms sharing a bath on Modified American Plan. Dinner service was slow, but everything except the main course was excellent. Main course tasted institutional. Location is gorgeous, nice ambiance.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
0.2 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
258 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.1 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
248 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Otesaga Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Otesaga Resort Hotel

Property: The Otesaga Resort Hotel
Address: 60 Lake St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1042
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#3 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Otesaga Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Otesaga Resort Hotel is the historic grand resort of Cooperstown, NY, overlooking majestic Lake Otsego and providing exceptional accommodations, excellence service, and an elegant atmosphere since 1909. The resort is located just a short walk from Cooperstown's main attractions, including the Baseball Hall Of Fame, The Fenimore Art Museum and The Farmers' Museum, and provides exclusive packages for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TravelClick so you can book your The Otesaga Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown
Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing