We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Lake Front Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Front Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Monroe, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Although the hotel was clean, the room we were given was the smallest room we've ever seen. One "queen" bed; small desk with the TV sitting on it, and a chair in the room that if you opened a desk drawer, you'd hit the chair. There was a tiny rack for clothes and when you woke up, your head hit into the clothes that were hanging. The bathroom was incredibly small and if you were tall and sat on the commode, you knees hit the wall. Also, our view out the front window was a staircase that all the guests on the upper level ran up and down. If you're claustrophobic, go elsewhere. Not worth the money, although other rooms at this motel were larger and had an extra window with a view of the lake.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iszykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    105
    44
    32
    18
See reviews for
90
128
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Colborne, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed at this hotel sept 18-20th, we had the best room two queen beds, 150$ a night. We thought it was a good price for the four of us .we were on the 2nd floor upstairs overlooking the lake. the bathroom was a fair size. sure the place needs to be updating, but we loved it. it was very clean and the service at front desk was great. the resturant was great also, breakfast through supper. we will stay there again next year when we go back. cooperstown is a beautiful place to go. we watched our son and his team play baseball at the Doulbleday field, which is great every year we go. i will recommend this place to anyone. Thank you very much for the great stay here.....looking forward to next year......

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beatroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

I went to cooperstown for a week in august to watch my cousin play baseball on the Dreams Park field. The first day when we got there the room smelt like smoke and that night when we were going to bed there was bed bugs in the bed. We were up all night and all night we were playing bug patrol killing the bugs we were literally watching the bugs crawl up on the pillows. After the first night we left. CAUTION STAY AWAY YOU WILL HAVE BUGS IN THE BED NOT MUCH OF A DIFFERENCE IF YOU SLEPT OUTSIDE !!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
4 Thank nyislanderz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cooperstown hotels

Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Price wasn't bad, room was very very small,the bathroom was the smallest I've ever seen. Shower was either full blast or off.. no control.... Resturant was nice.. One waitress ( older women ) should retire.. She was the horrors.. The only thing keeping this place in business is the location.. Right on the lake, and a very short walk to Hall of Fame and a quaint down town...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinebv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We booked this motel on thursday July 30th via the telephone for a sunday august 2 arrival. At the time the motel took our credit card over the phone, they NEVER identified that they had a 72 hour cancellation policy. NEVER. My son was diagnosed with strep on Friday evening the 31st; we called to cancel and they refused citing the 72 hour cancellation policy, which they NEVER stated. They refused to credit our $ back and kept all $180. In my mind they are thieves, and deserve to be outted. I hope no one considers supporting such a lame act of a motel.

Stayed August 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank mrgash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Only positive is good location. I am not prone to be picky about accomodations. However, I am so frustrated with the conditions encountered at this motel, that I want to warn others so that they can avoid this motel. The requirement to send in a deposit via check in advance is odd, but I can get past that. Our room was over $200/night. Though this is pretty steep, I can get past that too. Supply and demand drives up the prices in the area. Here are the big downs to staying at this motel:
1. The rooms are very small.
2. The rooms ARE NOT CLEAN- remember I am not that picky either. My feet were very dirty after walking barefoot on the carpet. Found out in the shower- the tub turned dirty.
3. The plumbing is a big downside. My little girl was nearly scalded by the fluctuation in temperature- I was scalded. Turn the cold on full and the hot on a little. The toilet had to be plunged twice- and not for good reason.
4. The maid wanted us to give her our bedding 1.5 hours before check out. My daughter was still sleeping.
5. Most uncomfortable beds ever encountered in hotel/motel.
6. Paper thin walls- you will hear everything anyone is doing.
7. We had over 30 family members staying in the motel at the same time. I saw their rooms and listened to their experiences. My experience was the same as theirs.
BUYER BE WARY!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lasetor55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Cost $430 for one night stay in one of the upper level rooms. The room was small but clean (just enough for 2 double beds,dresser and tv). The "suite' part of it was very small and really just a place to put your suitcases, pretty much unusable. There were 4 of us in the room and we tripped on eachother all weekend. The $430 included breakfast and dinner so I guess it evened out however I would rather have had flexibilty to go elsewhere to dine. The rooms are dated but grounds and location are nice. The restaurant was pretty good and the wait staff very capable and very nice. 2 teenagers and 2 parents , its tight. However a couple away for a weekend it's fine. Once again, rooms small, dated but clean. restaurant , location and grounds nice. A huge plus is the park behind motel, its beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbeverschmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
608 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Front Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Front Hotel

Property: Lake Front Hotel
Address: 10 Fair St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Front Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completly re-built from the ground up the Lake Front Hotel is in the heart of Cooperstown on the south end of beautiful Otsego Lake. 1 1/2 block from Main Street and the Baseball Hall of Fame. On-Site restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner is season from Memorial Day to Columbus Day. Kayak rentals and boat tour on site. This Lake Front is sure to please both couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lake Front Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Front Hotel Cooperstown
Lake Front Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing