We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made for a great vacation!”
Review of Lake Front Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Front Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Cooperstown
Reviewed August 27, 2013

First-timers in Cooperstown and Lake Front was the perfect selection...it helped us establish the lay of the land and gave us great proximity to the Baseball HOF (just two blocks!). The hotel is a lake-front establishment where there is a boat launch and piers for parking small water craft. It has its own restaurant with window views of the lake and there is a pleasure boat that takes you halfway up the lake (a little too pricey for a relatively short trip). Our stay entitled us to a limited free breakfast and discount on lunch and dinner. The restaurant had live entertainment Friday night. Our room was quite small but clean and no iron...we were told that we would have to go to the check-in room to iron! Considering the location, lake view and free/discounted food pricing, it wasn't a bad choice.

Room Tip: Request rooms that face the lake (2nd floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YkrsNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 311 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the Lake Front Hotel two nights in July (2013) to attend a friend's wedding. We were very happy with the hotel. The location is great - you are within walking distance to the Baseball Hall of Fame and the downtown shopping/restaurant area of Cooperstown. You are also located right on the lake so the view is lovely. When we checked in, we received one ticket for the boat tour which departs right from the hotel (Glimmerglass Queen) so we only had to buy one ticket (making it 50% for us). There's a lovely restaurant at the hotel where we had locally brewed beer, nice appetizers, and breakfast. A basic breakfast was included with our room but if you wanted to order one of the special breakfasts, you could get a discount off that price. The rooms are newly renovated and very clean. The beds were extremely comfortable. Parking was free. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We definitely recommend the Lake Front Hotel and would stay there again if we are ever in Cooperstown again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLJdolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefronthotel, Manager at Lake Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We feel very blessed to be able to host guests for the many weddings that Cooperstown has. To be able to become part of such a special day and occasion is wonderful. We hope to see you again in the future and that you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Room was smaller than regular rooms and this was a deluxe. Balcony faced wrong way view of the Lake. Room 23 was better and much much cheaper. Only i role of toilet paper, no iron, no in room coffee. Price was more than the Otesaga Hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe room way overpriced, balcony facing wrong way. Room very small, only one role of toilet paper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lwrenece C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefronthotel, Manager at Lake Front Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

I’m very shocked to hear that you did not enjoy the most requested, booked and enjoyed room in the Hotel. This room is literally on the foot of the lake, foundation in the water, with a big bay window looking north up the Marina and Otsego Lake with a private covered balcony on the bay. The water front deluxe unit that you stayed in was in fact larger than the standard room #23. The price difference does reflect the size of the room and the location that no other Hotel, Motel or even the Otesaga can beat. The Otesaga is a beautiful resort Hotel with a price starting well above the price that our Water Front Units start at. They are $ 259.00 plus tax in season, I’m not sure where the confusion is that you spent over $400.00. Since our renovation, prices have gone up about $10.00 a room, yet offer much more that prior renovation. As a repeat guest I am again shocked that you do not love our new place as much as our other guests.
To address the problem that you stated with our name, we did not choose to change our name from Motel to Hotel. When we rebuilt, due to the zoning laws of the Village, we could no longer exist as a Motel in a residential area. When you really look at what constitutes a Motel or Hotel they are one in the same at least in Cooperstown’s definition of law.
To address the lack of iron, we have found for the safety of our guests, we in fact do not have irons or ironing board in our rooms. We do however have a full size ironing board and iron that guest can use at any time, all you have to do is ask.
To address the issue with the coffee maker, free coffee and breakfast is included in every guests stay in season. Off season coffee is still available to all guests in the main office. As we have found the in room coffee makers do not provide a good cup of coffee and the restaurant on site provides a much better alternative…. Steps from guests rooms.
I’m again sorry that you did not feel thrilled with your stay with us. I’m also sorry that our location in the Village of Cooperstown, blocks from the Hall of Fame on the foot of Otsego Lake only received one star and that is just a problem that I do not see how to address or remedy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here two nights. Room was small, but very clean, and everything was updated. On check in we were given breakfast discounts for the two days, and one free ride on the boat tour, where we utilized both. Breakfast and boat tour were both great!
Hotel is within walking distance to museum and downtown.
The gentleman that works second shift at the desk, is a delight! He made us feel welcome, and was easy to talk to.
Cleaning service was good, would only give them 4 stars since they re-made the bed with remote under the covers, making it hard to find.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hi My son and I always enjoy induction weekend and staying at The Lake Front. We had a wonderful breakfast each day. It is very relaxing sitting up by the lake and doing nothing but talking with each other. No cell phone or wi fi reception. At least we didn't get it. No problem. I loved it. It's the way vacations were meant to be!!!!! Thank You

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just got home last night from our stay at the Lake Front. It was one of the most beautiful places we have ever seen. The view, WOW!! the location, can't beat it. One of the mornings we woke up and looked out the window there was a mysterious fog hanging over the water. The service was good. We had to move to a different room during our 3 day stay as we wanted a room on the top floor for a few nights if possible, but ANY ROOM has a great view of the lake. Will defiantly stay there again when we come back in a few years.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is the ideal hotel for going to the HOF events. I went with my 2 kids and it was easy to get to everything with a quick walk, park on the hotel grounds and also be right on the beautiful lake with the water right outside our window. Staff and the breakfast were great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Xenophillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 17 in Cooperstown
903 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#4 of 17 in Cooperstown
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 17 in Cooperstown
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#3 of 17 in Cooperstown
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Front Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Front Hotel

Address: 10 Fair St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Cooperstown
Price Range: $98 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Front Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completly re-built from the ground up the Lake Front Hotel is in the heart of Cooperstown on the south end of beautiful Otsego Lake. 1 1/2 block from Main Street and the Baseball Hall of Fame. On-Site restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner is season from Memorial Day to Columbus Day. Kayak rentals and boat tour on site. This Lake Front is sure to please both couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lake Front Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Front Hotel Cooperstown
Lake Front Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing