We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice upgrades” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Front Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake Front Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
CT
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very nice upgrades”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Always a great location but now upgraded to a very comfortable and modern motel. Nice, friendly staff and motorcycle friendly, even with the gravel parking lot. Not only is it a beautiful spot, but it is very convenient to the restauraunts and attractions in Cooperstown. great value.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the ice machine on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krish095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    103
    39
    31
    17
See reviews for
83
122
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pennellville, New York
Level Contributor
234 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The location is great. No need to move your car. We stayed in two double queens, upstairs. The rooms look refurbished. Not real big. The bathroom was quite large. Can't find any real fault with this place except no coffee maker in the room, but there was a small fridge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank verybigv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you want to be in the downtown with everything at walking distance but a quiet place to relax and enjoy the view then this place has it all. My husband and I go to Cooperstown every 3 yrs and last year Cooperstown was not on our trip list but decided to stop in on our way home. We had seen this motel on previous visits and decided to try to get a room. They accommodated us with a lovely room on the second floor. We were able to walk to HOF, walk around town and dine in a lovely restaurant (can't remember the name). After doing this we came back to the Motel and sat on the porch outside our room and watched the boats coming in the dock, birds flying over the lake and beautiful scenery. It was a great relaxing time. The next morning we accidently locked our keys in the car. We were advised to call the Cooperstown Police who was happy to assist us in getting into our car. What a great town!!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor facing the water; it's lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just got back from a visit to the HOF. Chose this hotel based on location so my boys and I could walk to the hall and main street. Staff was friendly and very helpful in giving us ideas of places to visit and things to see and do especially with half of the town closed for the season. James is great and had the pleasure of speaking with Joe the son-in-law of the owner. Very good people and extremely helpful. Location is AWESOME! 2 short blocks to the Hall of Fame, neat park right next door and an incredible view of the lake. Restaurant was closed so can't comment on that but there were a couple great place all within walking distance. Rooms were basic rooms, very clean and bathrooms were spotless. Was told it had been recently remodeled and it showed. All in all this is a great hotel if you are looking for a basic clean place to stay while visiting Cooperstown. The Bellagio it is not, but for $106 that I paid for a room it was perfect and my boys and I were extremely pleased with everything about our stay. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JD V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The motel is your standard motel with limited amenities -- no indoor hallways, old style tv, no refrigerator or microwave, thin towels -- but it was clean, safe and comfortable. The reason I gave it a very good rather than an average was its location. It is a very short walk from the Hall of Fame, all store on Main Street, the shuttle buses and many restaurants. Once we parked our car in the parking lot we did not have to drive until we left town. The room also came with breakfast, that was fine, and free tickets for the boat ride on the lake that we enjoyed very much. We had no problem with service -- everyone was friendly and efficient.

The last time we were in Cooperstown we stayed in a Bed and Breakfast but we generally prefer hotels or even motels to BnBs since they tend to be more private. There are limited options in Cooperstown for hotels -- most seem to be small motel like places unless you stay a few miles out of town and then you need to deal with parking and shuttle buses.

In general, if you are ok with a motel, this is a very good option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flo220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Pluses
Short walk to attractions & restaurants, beautiful location on the lake, recently remodeled, quality/quiet European style room heating/cooling unit, and comfortable bed, pillows, and linens.

Minuses
No refrigerator or microwave. Old tube TV. The pedestal sink has little horizontal space to put toiletries, etc. The bathroom light and fan are annoyingly on one switch so you have to listen to the fan noise and disturb others sleeping, if you want to see.

E-mail confirmation, sign-in document, and signs in the room tell you how to behave, not to destroy anything, and remove nothing from the room. The maids will be checking and fines will be assessed. I felt like I was checking in to a flea-bag hotel with seedy looking tenants about.

Bottom-line
A lot to pay for basically a nice room, but with some annoying minuses.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank golf047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed one night in Sept 2012 at the LakeFront. Very happy with it. I spent a lot of time researching hotels / motels in Cooperstown. We wanted a quality place within walking distance of the BBHOF. Long story short, this was perfect. A five-minute walk (or less) from the Hall and Main Street. To top it off, it is situated right on Lake Otsego, and a one-hour boat cruise was included, which was most enjoyable. There are adirondack chairs facing the lake which we enjoyed sitting in and marvelling at the lake.

We stayed here because most of the places in town were inns / B&Bs, which is not to our liking, or the expensive Otsego Inn Hotel. In hindsight, this was the perfect choice. Although not inexpensive, the Lakefront has all been recently refurbished and there is nothing whatsoever shabby about it. Bed was comfortable. A few nits to pick: no coffee maker in room, nor kleenex, and a smallish non-flat screen TV. Having said this, we were very happy with it overall and would stay there again.

Room Tip: There are several buildings and the views from the rooms vary quite a bit. Worth calling to reserve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RexT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#11 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cooperstown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lake View Motel
Lake View Motel
#6 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Front Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Front Hotel

Property: Lake Front Hotel
Address: 10 Fair St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completly re-built from the ground up the Lake Front Hotel is in the heart of Cooperstown on the south end of beautiful Otsego Lake. 1 1/2 block from Main Street and the Baseball Hall of Fame. On-Site restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner is season from Memorial Day to Columbus Day. Kayak rentals and boat tour on site. This Lake Front is sure to please both couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lake Front Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Front Hotel Cooperstown
Lake Front Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing