We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, remodeled rooms!”
Review of Lake Front Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Front Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Cooperstown
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Was very shocked to arrive and this hotel property had been recently renovated. Very nice. Included a ticket to the boat tour- took that, glad we did. Got a full history of the area and views of the lake we wouldn't have gotten.
Breakfast vouchers are provided- tip and extra sides not included. Food was okay- good enough but not amazing.
Rooms were very new and clean. Walking distance to shopping, Baseball Hall of Fame and great restaurants in town.
View is great!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 311 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stood here for a weekend in early November. My parents had stood here even before the renovation,and apparently they've made very nice improvements.

On first glance, the location is absolutely beautiful. It's right on the lake and near the glimmer glass queen (boat that takes trip on the lake, if you're unfamiliar.) upon entering the rooms you can tell it is newly renovated. It's not a 5-star renovation, but its comfortable and cozy. The beds are very comfy, but the bathroom was a little annoying with lack of shelf space to put my things. The walls are also very thin, so be warned! There's also very little sitting room, but you're not really in the room the whole day so I guess it's not that big of a deal.

The hotel is in great proximity to the hall of fame, so we kept our car parked there and just walked into town which is a huge plus. The man at the front desk was also very nice and informative about where to eat, etc. I'd love to go here again in the Spring and Summer!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pizzlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Great location about a two minute walk to HOF. Room was clean and large.

No issues at all. Not the Ritz, but price was good and for a night or two in town it fits the bill quitw well.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank bobk1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This Motel has the best location for a weekend at the Hall !!! And right on Lake Ostego , too
It has a very nice resturant on the grounds, and is only 1 1/2 block from Baseball H O F >
Completely renovated , it is like a new Motel. Rooms are very clean and spacious...the only thing we did not like was that it did not have a Fridge in the room ...........Gorgeous views of the lake from anywhere on the grounds !!! Truly a treasure in Cooperstown, NY. The only thing is that it is overpriced......they need new TVs and refrigerators in the rooms !!!!

Room Tip: Get one on the lake !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCM2628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Booked a room in May for October. Was specific about the room that I wanted up at their Visions location across from the HOF when I called because I had stayed there several times before. I booked a two bed room for two nights. When I checked in and went to Vision I noticed that they gave me a different room with one bed. Walked back down to the front desk and explained the situation. I was told that there was a wedding coming in the following day and the room I wanted was booked. The person working the desk moved people around so I could have the room. The next morning I get a knock on my door from the person that checked me in telling me that I had to get out of the room and move to the one bed room. I went to the front desk and spoke to the manager and was told that there was nothing else they could do for me even though it was their error. I checked out right there and received my money back for the second night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed here before, about 12 years ago, Since then, place has been updated, at least the outside has because the rooms are still circa 1970. Would rate this hotel high only due to the location and the restaurant that is attached to it. Other than that, room was below average and staff a little less friendly than I expected.

Room Tip: Try not to stay on first floor. We could hear every step the people above us took
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BraintreeMADjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

For over $200 a night all you get is a bed, small tv, tiny washroom, a one item breakfast, no central air and a very musty smell. We have had better rooms at Motel 6 with more amenities! We stayed for two nights and walked to the HOF which was nice as parking is limited in town. We have stayed in NYC and paid hundreds of dollars for rooms, so price is not a concern for us, but I would expect a lot more at this rate, even if there was a pool or exercise area, but nothing but a room, no real sitting area, but a wicker side table and two patio chairs. The overpriced restaurant next door has great staff, but bad food, there was a hair on our table, and the bread is soaked in butter when served with coffee and unrefrigerated half and half, no milk. The real reason I have written this review though is that the washroom in our room was dirty when we arrived and remained that way over two days. A urine stain on the toilet base was never cleaned and there was hair in the room when we arrived which I cleaned. The sheets are not cleaned daily. Main floor rooms are noisy due to the gravel parking lot infront and behind the hotel which are also used for the boat ramp for the lake.

Room Tip: Cooperstown seems to be a hard place to find a nice place, so if you want to stay in town do not hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oakvillescrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#2 of 17 in Cooperstown
903 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 17 in Cooperstown
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 17 in Cooperstown
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#4 of 17 in Cooperstown
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Front Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Front Hotel

Address: 10 Fair St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Cooperstown
Price Range: $98 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Front Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completly re-built from the ground up the Lake Front Hotel is in the heart of Cooperstown on the south end of beautiful Otsego Lake. 1 1/2 block from Main Street and the Baseball Hall of Fame. On-Site restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner is season from Memorial Day to Columbus Day. Kayak rentals and boat tour on site. This Lake Front is sure to please both couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lake Front Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Front Hotel Cooperstown
Lake Front Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing