We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, on the lake, reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bayside Inn & Marina
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family (2 adults, 3 kids under age 7) took a room in the main building for three nights over the 4th of July holiday. The room was not large, but it had two comfortable queen beds, nice quality furniture, a small fridge, and a reasonable size bathroom with separate sink and vanity area. The room was nicely decorated, and a bit more upscale than I expected based on the price and location. Other people said it wasn't clean, but I am a clean freak (the type that brings her own cleaning spray to every hotel) and there wasn't ANYTHING I had to clean. I also had read some negative reviews about the beds, which I found surprisingly comfortable. I have back issues, so I have top of the line mattresses, down comforters, feather pillows etc. at home, and I'm picky about that too. These were not the fancy mattresses or linens, but definitely nice quality and clean and comfortable. I brought my own feather pillows because I never like hotel pillows, but theirs were OK if you like the standard kind. All the rooms in the main building are on the second floor, and our room was perfectly quiet although the lobby and other common areas were right below (which we found really convenient). The office is staffed by young girls from around the area, who snipe at each other and complain about the tourists invading "their town". When we asked for recommendations on restaurants and things to do, they seemed to be guessing. One actually told me she doesn't anywhere tourists would go, and that their staff really doesn't know much about the area because they just go back and forth from work at the inn to their homes up in "the country". One was a little more helpful and pleasant but also seemed to lack much personal experience eating at the local restaurants or visiting the "tourist" sights in Cooperstown and around. On the other hand, they weren't nasty to us or anything like that, and they got the job done. Checking in and out was efficient, the room was kept clean during our stay, and we found everything we needed by asking other guests and other locals at the places we visited. The Bayside Inn is the perfect place to relax for a few days to a week, on the lake, beautiful grounds, free coffee and tea, game room for the kids, canoes and kayaks at your disposal, old fashioned lounge with board games, nice workout room, all in all more than I expected for the price. It's a 5 minute drive to the town of Springfield, which has a lovely July 4th parade and BBQ - only about 10 minutes drive to Cooperstown and all it has to offer. Drive North 15 to 30 minutes and see the farms and beautiful countryside. The only things missing were a pool for the kids and an on site café or restaurant. The kids saw the pool at the inn next door, and wanted to swim, which caused a few issues for us because our place didn't have one. There is nowhere to get food unless you drive at least 5 minutes, but that kind of got us up and out in the morning, so it wasn't all bad. If you don't need a pool or an on site dining option, stay here for sure and just ignore the occasional sniping at the front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Manager at Bayside Inn & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for recognizing the hard work that has been put into the property. This guest chose a room in our Inn and we worked hard over the winter updating each room with a new look including painting, bedspreads and drapes. I also want to thank the guest for complimenting the housekeepers, their job isn't an easy one and they deserve recognition for their hard work.

I was surprised to see that the guest found the front desk staff to be "sniping", "complain about the tourists invading their town" and "lack much personal experience eating at the local restaurants or visiting the tourist sights in Cooperstown and around". Although the front desk staff has not eaten at every restaurant in the area they are knowledgeable. From guests and local residents reviews, about many of the restaurants in the area and are able to give quality advice to our guests about where to eat and visit. In the winter months, Cooperstown is a sleepy little town where locals can come and go without worrying about finding a parking spot on Main Street and waiting in line at their favorite restaurant or store. Like any tourist area, once high season starts there is a little adjustment for the locals because of the influx of people in the area. The locals do look forward to sharing their beautiful town and lake with people that are excited to see their favorite baseball players plaque in the Hall of Fame, enjoy an opera or show at Glimmerglass Festival, visit the Farmers Museum and Fenimore Art Museum, relax on a boat tour of Otsego Lake, visit the local breweries, or any of the many things to do in the area. Our small, quaint town has a wide variety of attractions in the area, there is something for everyone of all ages and interests!

This guest is correct, we do not have a pool on our property but we do have a small, sandy swimming beach at the lake which keeps children occupied for hours. In between building a sand castle they can cool off with a swim in the lake. Bayside doesn't have a cafe or restaurant but this isn't uncommon for the majority of accommodations in the area, there are only a few establishments that have restaurants. We do have vending machines on the property with snacks and drinks. Bayside is a short drive to restaurants, as the guest pointed out.

The management and staff work hard to provide our guests with a memorable experience and are always looking for ways to exceed their expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 405 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was delighted to arrive here and be greeted with friendly service and quaint and charming surroundings. This is not your typical hotel so be sure to bring snacks and drinks but I was pleasantly surprised. Great balcony, great location, game room, lake side, quiet, not far from town. I only wished we had more time to stay. My family loved Cooperstown and enjoyed our stay at this inn!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trip1eastcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

A very pleasant location on the lake 7 miles north of Cooperstown. Given the price we paid, also a real value. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff were vey helpful in accomodating a traveler who needed handicap facilities. We did not go inside the cabins but they looked like a pleasant way for a family to visit the area. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmginnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We wanted to visit Cooperstown for the weekend but didn't want to stay in town. This location was perfect! Set on a beautiful lake (Otsega), it was only a 10 minute lovely drive into Cooperstown. The prices were much more reasonable than locations within Cooperstown. The ladies at the desk were friendly and helpful...and even had two wonderful dogs! We stayed in handicapped accessible rooms (only available rooms at the time). They were large, clean and fairly comfortable. The tub was a little interesting getting out of just because of the height difference made for the handicapped. We stayed on the lower level so the pro was being away from the noise of the main road. The only con was the ceiling/floors must be very thin since we could easily hear noise from above. Not a deal breaker though. The little beach down the drive was beautiful and the walk back uphill was good exercise :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendyg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here and the rate was terrific. The room was clean and had a lovely terrace that overlooked the lake. Large rooms and a nice staff. The only downside was that the beds were rock hard and I have sciatica and the firmness aggravated it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelleranddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Manager at Bayside Inn & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

The housekeepers and staff work hard and take pride in the property, I appreciate the recognition for their hard work. We also keep our rates competitive for the area at the same time providing a good value to our guests.

I'm sorry that you found our beds to firm for your comfort. We rarely get complaints about our beds and most guests complement us on how well they slept and how comfortable our beds are. All travelers should keep in mind that most places they stay will not have the same beds that they have at home, everyone has different needs and taste.

We will do our best to make all guests stay comfortable and memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a great time using Bayside as a base for our exploration of Cooperstown. Jen and the rest of the staff are awesome; helpful without being overbearing. The setting is idyllic, the rooms clean.
Pros: Clean, quiet, workout room, mini-arcade w/pool table.
Cons: No biggies: lower level had a little noise from up top; one of the two beds was not the most comfortable.

Room Tip: Room 20 was great, on lower level, at end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZZHs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were going to Cooperstown and didn't want to spend a fortune on accomodations. The Bayside Inn & Marina is 10 minutes by car to Cooperstown, right on Lake Otsega. The trolley into town is 5 minutes from the inn. Our room was large and comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff is terrific - helpful in every way from directions to where to eat. Would highly recommend the inn to anyone going to Cooperstown.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citygirl930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Manager at Bayside Inn & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Bayside. We know that you have many accommodation choices when traveling to Cooperstown and appreciate you choosing our property on beautiful Otsego Lake. Our staff takes pride in their work and your recognition of their hard work is much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
6.7 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#2 of 17 in Cooperstown
903 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#9 of 17 in Cooperstown
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#4 of 17 in Cooperstown
287 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Lake House
The Lake House
#3 of 4 in Richfield Springs
170 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#3 of 17 in Cooperstown
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn & Marina

Address: 7090 State Highway 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cooperstown
#4 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range: $110 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bayside Inn & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayside Inn & Marina, on Otsego Lake in Cooperstown, NY, offers pleasant, comfortable accommodations in a peaceful, wooded lakeside setting with picnic areas and gazebos at the small swimming beach. Canoes and kayaks are available free of charge to our guests. Located only 7 miles from Cooperstown, and 11 miles from the Cooperstown Dreams Park, Bayside Inn & Marina is a destination in itself. Our friendly and professional staff will do everything they can to make your "Cooperstown Lake Vacation" a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bayside Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Inn And Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing