We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rudest Staff and Horrible Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bayside Inn & Marina
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The parents of my child's baseball team wanted to stay together as we watched our children play at Cooperstown Dream Park. The staff was rude upon arrival and would not even answer any of our questions. I could live with the shortness, however, I could not live with the bugs in the rooms, no changing of towels and hair on my sheets. When I asked for new sheets, I was told "No." I had to drive to town and buy new sheets.

Also, it is NOT CLOSE AT ALL TO THE DREAMSPARK and not good for parents who are there for this experience. The hotel is 15 minutes away from Cooperstown on a very windy road. It is 25 minutes away from the baseball facilities. DO NOT STAY HERE>

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baysideinn1, Manager at Bayside Inn & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

This team made it to the top of my list of the worst guests of the season. They were rude, obnoxious and mean to my employees and myself and treated the property as if it was their own backyard with no regard for anyone around them. It certainly seemed like they were having a good time.

All of our policies and procedures (especially the housekeeping policies) are very clear on our website, listed on the confirmation email and explained at check-in. Perhaps there were bugs in their cottage because the cottage was a complete disaster while they were here? If you leave food and drinks out they will come, just like your own house. I was not informed of a hair on their sheet and would have changed the sheets if they had explained the problem. We are located 7 miles north of Cooperstown (a 10 minute drive) and 11 miles from the Dreams Park (a 20 minute drive), this information is also clearly stated on the home page of our website. Our website is extremely detailed and thought out so that all guests are well prepared before they arrive. As you can see from the previous reviews, the front desk staff does all they can to help our guests and answer all of their questions. We want all guests to enjoy their stay and the area and will do what we can to accommodate everyone but some people can't be pleased.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 405 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

I've stayed at the Bayside for a half-dozen weekends over the past 8 summers. It's always friendly and spotless, great AC and heating, ceiling fans too, terrific bathrooms w/fine water pressure and plenty of clean, new towels, satellite TV; iron, little fridge, ice machines. You can't do better without doubling the price and staying the too-quaint-and-crowded town itself. (It's 9 miles from center of town; i mile from opera house).

Room Tip: They're all good - both in the "motel-style" area and the little cabins closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank operafella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Family of three (2 adults, 14 yr old) stayed in motel portion. Our room on the 2nd floor was great for our 2-night stay. We had a private balcony with a view of Otsego Lake about 100 yards away through the trees. Room included a small refrigerator but no microwave. Room was clean and everything functional. It is not a brand new motel, but in good condition for its age. Air conditioning worked fine. Route 80 is near the hotel we heard no road noise (no windows on the Route 80 side). Ground floor rooms have much less of a lake view and less privacy. Cottages look interesting and are closer to lake than hotel is to lake - some cottages clearly have better views than others. Swimming area is small and between two docks - ok for little kids, not for teens or adults. Glimmerglas State Park is an easy drive and 3 Mile Point also has a swimming area. Hotel is about 7 miles from Cooperstown. It was easy to drive on a weekday - weekends may be more of a problem. No restaurants until Blue Mingo about 5 miles away, grocery store in Cooperstown about 7 miles away. I wouldn't want to jog or bike along Route 80 in this area - road too narrow. Bayside staff were helpful. We took out the kayaks they had available for guests, and canoes also available, and Bayside has lifevests to loan out. Bayside met our needs for a mid-week getaway to a lake.

Room Tip: Second level of motel, not ground floor. If reserving a cottage, check to see if cottage has a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TobiasStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We did a family Cooperstown trip and this was a great choice for a place to stay. Super clean, refrigerator in the room, nice little balcony for the early morning riser. It would have been perfect if breakfast had been included! Very family oriented, clean and comfortable. Hope they are paying their staff lots of money because they sure are worth it!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sommerfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Bayside In n and Marina is a comfortable, clean and friendly place close to the Glimmerglass Opera
Festival. We stayed in a motel room which was more than adequate and had a little balcony which would
have been perfect for breakfast if it had an umbrella, since it was very sunny. Having a fridge and a coffeepot
was convenient and the staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: The lower numbered rooms have shade on the balcony in the morning. Room 6 is sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Bayside Inn and Marina is a comfortable and friendly place for a family stay. Games, workout room, pinball type games, protected swimming area and boat marina make for ease of stay with children.
We stayed there for performances for Glimmerglass Opera Festival, which was great, since it is about 1 mile from the opera site. As two friends staying for the weekend, I would say it met our needs, but the lack of breakfast meant driving into Cooperstown (7 miles). It is really best suited for families, but comfortable for all.
Very well cared for and welcoming with hanging flowers and painted rockers in front.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper level have balconies and a nicer view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barney6toes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

After my boyfriend convinced me to help him check one off on his ‘bucket list’ (visit the Baseball Hall of Fame) I was on the lookout for a nice place that we could both enjoy. We stayed 2 nights at the Bayside Inn and were most impressed by the friendly staff and their willingness to make you feel at home. We easily checked in and made our way to our motel room where we were delighted by the view of the beautiful lake. The room was clean and had many amenities from home (hairdryer, microwave, iron/board etc.). The combination of motel/inn/cottages makes for a very community feel to the property. The wi-fi was easily accessible and the beverage bar in the lounge was great when we needed another cup of coffee in the morning! It is a short drive to downtown Cooperstown but it is nice to feel like you are ‘away at the cottage’ even though you are minutes from civilization! I would highly recommend the location to others.

Room Tip: Upper room motel rooms have a cute balcony and probably a better view of the lake but it was nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooperstown hotels
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
6.7 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#2 of 17 in Cooperstown
903 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#9 of 17 in Cooperstown
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 17 in Cooperstown
287 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#4 of 17 in Cooperstown
668 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lake View Motel
Lake View Motel
#8 of 17 in Cooperstown
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn & Marina

Address: 7090 State Highway 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cooperstown
#4 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range: $119 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bayside Inn & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayside Inn & Marina, on Otsego Lake in Cooperstown, NY, offers pleasant, comfortable accommodations in a peaceful, wooded lakeside setting with picnic areas and gazebos at the small swimming beach. Canoes and kayaks are available free of charge to our guests. Located only 7 miles from Cooperstown, and 11 miles from the Cooperstown Dreams Park, Bayside Inn & Marina is a destination in itself. Our friendly and professional staff will do everything they can to make your "Cooperstown Lake Vacation" a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Bayside Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Inn & Marina Hotel Cooperstown
Bayside Inn And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing