We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very scenic, great place to camp!”

Glimmerglass State Park
Ranked #7 of 34 things to do in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very scenic, great place to camp!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days and nights while in the Cooperstown area. Due to it being shortly after the induction ceremonies at the Baseball Hall of Fame, and just before the big beer festival at Brewery Ommengang (Belgium Comes to Cooperstown), hotel prices were rather high. So we opted to camp at this State Park instead. It cost us $87.00 for 4 nights! What a bargain. Our campground was on the north end of Otsego Lake, which is right next to Cooperstown. Our campsite was in the primitive area, and was nicely secluded from the other campsites in the area.There was a built-in fire pit for our campfires, and a sturdy picnic table as well. Very nice bathrooms and shower facilities were just a couple minutes drive away(or a ten minute walk if you wanted to). We were very happy with our choice--it was very short drive thru some tremendous scenery for everyplace in Cooperstown area we wished to go. Recommend early reservation for big weekends (online) --we reserved in Feb for Aug trip, but I'm sure less busy weeklends would require less lead time. Website shows available campsites at any given time and map of park. Very user friendly. If you prefer, there are also areas for trailers/RVs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    40
    12
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tranquil refuge and a fun time all in one.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Glimmerglass State Park is one of my favorite state parks. In its own way, it has everything. There's hiking available year round, both in the woods and the grass fields that are adjacent to the lake. There's swimming in the summer, and camping and fishing as well. If you want a quiet day away from it all, a great time to show up is in the fall during the day. You can sit by the lake, and the foliage is fantastic at that time of the year.

For awhile Glimmerglass featured snowtubing in the winter, which for a time was cut back due to budgetary concerns. Still, the lake is available for snowmobiling if the ice is thick enough, and skating as well. The Sleeping Lion trail in the woods is moderately strenuous, but the trails in the grass are level and mild, great for cross-country skiing. The park features holiday events around Halloween and several times other times of the year as well.

All activities from what I've seen are at your own risk, except for swimming in the summer (lifeguard available then). The park charges an admission fee during the time between Memorial Day and Labor Day and on Winter Fun days, so if you're looking to avoid that go during some other time.

For more info visit the NYS Park website.

Absolutely the best attraction in the Cooperstown area, in my opinion. I highly recommend it for anyone who is the least bit outdoor orientated.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jess-k-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of my favorite NY State Parks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice place to camp. Shelters and tent camping, with fire pits. Peaceful and uncrowded when we were there. There's a really nice hiking trail that goes up to the top of a hill and back around to a mansion that's being restored. Makes for a nice afternoon walk, a good workout, but not too strenuous.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to hike.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent the afternoon hiking with views of the lake and the fall foliage. It was great and worth doing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank abuelita51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
211 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great location - beach area is small, but good. Plenty of parking and trails to walk on. Very family oriented. We visited in the fall, so there was no swimming or charge to walk around.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glimmerglass State Park also viewed

 

Been to Glimmerglass State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing