We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for a clean room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Lodge
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Frankly, for our stay in Cooperstown, I was looking for the cheapest place. At about 90 bucks a night on the weekend, Red Carpet was about half the price of Holiday Inn and other places around.
It's easy to find, about 3 miles south of Cooperstown, and you get to park right outside your door. The room was very clean. And even though someone was in the room next door, we didn't hear them. The room came with a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. A light breakfast is offered in the office with little muffins and apples. And the heater in the room cranked the warmth right up!
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grumpy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCooperstown, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words.

Our staff members will be pleased to see your comments and to know that their hard work has yet again paid off in a terrific guest experience.

Now if we could just get the word out to everyone about how great the Cooperstown area is our mission would be completed.

Please come back to see us soon.

Happy Holidays to you and your family!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 97 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

From reading some reviews, I was really afraid to stay here after I booked. But, it was really our only option for a last minute getaway.

The location is great. While it is a short drive to get into Cooperstown, you can't get much closer to Brewery Ommegang or Fly Creek Cider Mill. It's also close to two grocery stores/plazas which is convenient if you need something or want to get some takeout. Also near a McDonalds and a Pizza Hut.

The room itself was basic. But, it was very clean. It had a nice TV, and a microwave and mini-fridge. The fridge was great, since we had purchased some things that needed to be kept cool. The beds were okay...very clean sheets and they didn't have those gross, starchy coverlets that alot of hotels use that seem dirty. Also the wireless was pretty good.

There were a few downsides though. The shower was lukewarm at best. It was cold in Cooperstown and after being outside all day, I really wanted a hot shower. I was even colder after the shower. But, the heater in the room worked great and I cranked it for a few minutes and warmed up. Also, calling the continental breakfast "limited" would be a generous description. What we were offered was terrible, terrible coffee and blueberry mini muffins. An array of larger muffins or donuts would be nice, and maybe some juices for kids.

All in all, it was an okay stay. Definitely a great deal for the area. Good for a one-nighter or a family on a budget.

Room Tip: Probably get an end unit away from the road to be quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank algvred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Inn appeared to be recently renovated. Clean and comfortable. Continental breakfast had little to offer beyond coffee and muffins. Not too far from Baseball Hall of Fame.

I had some questions about the bill, and the night clerk (perhaps the owner) was quite rude. I had booked the reservation online, and he place a call to their helpline, but I found his demeanor to be very off-putting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loulou c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Shower temperature was lukewarm, pressure was substandard. The toilet was mobile, it rocked from side to side and moved about the floor. I stayed one night, did not know about the shower and toilet until morning just before checkout. When brought up to the clerk at checkout time, the clerk was obstinate and rude. He blamed me for not giving him notice to fix the problem so we could use the shower and toilet. The problem there would be time. By the time he fixed the issue, we would have been long gone. From the looks of him, I would say a few days gone. We tried to explain the situation and attempted to politely inform him of the problems, but he remained obstinate and continued to blame us for not informing him so he could fix the issue for us. I have paid less to stay in better hotels in better cities. Whenever I had an issue with anything in any other hotel or motel, the clerk was polite and offered something in compensation. Never was I blamed for their ineptitude. He obviously would rather chew taffy than do anything worthwhile. I'll never stay at a red carpet again. Oh and the pillows were so thin we had to use the blanket from the other bed to prop them up.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nakedhampster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was one of the least expensive hotels around Cooperstown. The rooms were basic, but still good. There is a 42 inch tv in all the rooms which was great for watching the olympics as we did each of our 3 nights there. There is no free breakfast like most of the big chains. You can park right in front of your room. The hotel was a nice place and a good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennsylvania27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedCarpetCooperstown, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

We do serve a limited continental breakfast every morning from 7-10 AM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The room was adequate with dated furnishings but enough amenities to make our three day stay tolerable. I liked the big screen TV and my wife disliked the cramped bathroom sink area. The fridge allowed us to keep milk and eat cereal for breakfast at the small table provided. Parking right at your room is a plus. The location close to the Dreams park was great. Also it's just a short drive to where you can catch the trolley into town. The continental breakfast is just coffee and mini-muffins. One morning they were out of coffee and I had to drive to the nearby McDonald's for my caffeine fix. Because its located on a highway with narrow shoulders a walk/jog can be a bit dangerous.When compared to what you'd spend at some of the other area motels it's not a bad deal. One more thing, bring pillows.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedCarpetCooperstown, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

I am very sorry we ran out of coffee that morning. That was inexcusable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the Red Carpet Inn & Suites just outside of Cooperstown, NY for several days and enjoyed our stay. The room (36) was clean and well-fitted with a mini-fridge and microwave. While this is a basic motel, it serves the purpose well for the price. Cooperstown is a busy tourist destination, so lodging is at a premium. This property offers a standard room without amenities beyond a coffee maker, toiletries, tissues and flat screen TV in the room. Bring your own hair dryer. This place is great if you are looking for a clean room in a quiet setting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nurps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedCarpetCooperstown, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
3.5 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
9.8 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Lodge

Address: 4909 State Highway 28, Cooperstown, NY 13326-5224
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Price Range: $75 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn And Suites Leatherstocking Lodge
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Hotel Cooperstown
Red Carpet Inn Cooperstown
Cooperstown Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing