We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a meal.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pioneer Patio Restaurant

The Pioneer Patio Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 60 Restaurants in Cooperstown
Cuisines: American, Bar, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than a meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

kind of place my husband and I were looking for on our road trip through new england. Love open air dining. We had the veggie burger and chicken quesadilla w/enchilada soup - it fit the bill - Yum! Pioneer patio compliments the charm of cooperstown as well as the adjacent ice cream shop ;-) The proprietor of this establishment was a great ambassador for his town even making it possible for me to meet a hall of famer on my birthday. What a blessed town. We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wcrabtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    55
    24
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Buried Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

A very nice person on Main St gave us a menu and suggested Pioneer Patio. She gave directions and it was still hard to find. It was just what we were looking for. German-American with a great beer selection, private, cozy patio, down to earth. What We Ordered: Monte Carlo and a 'Shroom and Swiss Burger. Delicious! Next time (oh yes there will be a next time) I plan on trying something from the German Favorites. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stregaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, generous owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Food was good, prices were more than fair. Owner gave us a 2 for 1 draft beer coupon along with a free small ice cream for all four of us after we ate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Shouldn't be hard to find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Pioneer is located down the street from the Baseball HOF and we ate here when we took a break from walking around the museum. They have indoor and outdoor seating (umbrellas for shade) but the latter is in an alleyway with no scenic view. Foot traffic is somewhat constant as there is the entrance to Doubleday Field at the other end of the alley. Standard ballpark food--sandwiches, burgers, fries--but there is a Hershey's ice cream shop next door!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank YkrsNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Yummy sandwiches!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Family owned and operated, they really care about their customers. Food, especially the fish sandwiches, are awesome! The Big Knock (knockwurst) sandwich is what the hubby always orders, though be warned...they may sell out as it is the fave of lots of folks! If you come while it's crowded, remember they are dealing with a small kitchen space alloted out in an 1800s building and a small staff with BIG HEART! You will be richly rewarded...and end your meal in their ice cream shoppe next door. Cappuccino Crunch is THE flavor!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tamnrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pioneer Patio Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Pioneer Patio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing