We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was totally fine”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baseball Town Motel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It was totally fine”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

So the owner or manager was a little flighty. When we arrived he looked at us with a stoned look and said "I should have got your room ready....." it was a little funny actually. He was nice enough. The place is inexpensive and if you are coming for the HOF (we weren't) it is very close. Free parking behind the hotel is great. Place has clearly recently been remodeled (it looks like it was on an episode of Flip this Hotel!) but only selectively. For example, the bathrooms had newer sinks and hardware but the shower was clearly reused. New wood floors in the halls but the draperies and bed linens were clearly well used. The doors and windows were old (no electronic keys here!). And the ice machine was dry as a bone (tip - the double day cafe down the street sells ice!). But overall we were there one night and I'd go back. It was a good value and right in the heart of down town. Walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which was totally fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla_in_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rumford, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The location of this small hotel was 167 feet away from the Baseball Hall of Fame. The location was great and everything was in walking distance. The owners are very friendly and were helpful. The hotel's web site has pictures of all of the rooms and you can book and pay online.

Room Tip: There are only five rooms and you can see each one on their website which is easy to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here for a week while doing research at the Hall of Fame Library. The location was great within walking distance from the Hall of Fame and restaurants along Main Street. Its located above a souvenir shop downstairs. The owners stayed late waiting for me to arrived, and even drove me to the bus stop when I checked out without even me asking. The rooms aren't anything special but it was clean and was recently renovated. The price was about the same as surrounding hotels in the area if not lower and again the service was great. Would definitely recommend anyone to stay here

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfield, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Just can't beat the location; HOF, Doubleday Café, memorabilia shops all a step away. Able to park in back and leave the car alone for remainder of visit. Suite satisfactory for our needs for the three day weekend. Would return if the off season rates remain stable. We were not aware of vouchers available for local restaurants. Next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights while in Cooperstown. Within walking distance to all restaurants and shops in Cooperstown. Room was clean and well kept. Bathroom was a little tight with no fan. Owner is very nice and chatty. We had trouble finding a hotel in town when reserving so had to settle here or risk driving everywhere. Very quiet and free parking 2 doors down from the BBHoF.

Room Tip: Room 8 has 2 beds in bedroom and pullout in main room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson River Valley, New York
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Could not ask for a better location--next door to the General Store and 2 doors down from the Baseball Hall of Fame. Great restaurants and coffee shops and frozen yogurt and ice cream shops all within steps of the motel. Free parking in the back, which is a great perk during peak season. The room itself is tiny and the bathroom even tinier, but we were not there to hang out in our room. The housekeeping staff were very nice and accommodating and made sure my family never ran out of clean towels during our stay. Shampoo and bath gel mounted in the shower, which was very convenient especially since there is limited space. Room very clean. Would have been nice to have a small refrigerator and a hook on the back of the bathroom door, but again this is no frills. Owners gave us vouchers for breakfast to a good local restaurant. Would stay here again if the good rates are still offered. Note need to use steps to access rooms from either Main St entrance of the back entrance, no elevators that I saw. Not an issue for us, but might be for folks who have trouble using stairs. Excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmbc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a clean, no-frills hotel/motel, but what it lacks in frills, is made up for in friendliness by the owners who manage the motel from their souvenir store downstairs. They attended to our needs very quickly, gave us information about fun things to do in town, and even gave us coupons for discounts at a nearby restaurant. The location is excellent -- smack dab in the middle of Cooperstown, where we were able to walk to everything, including the Baseball Hall of Fame next door. We had a wonderful time there, and recommend the motel to anyone who is looking for a nice, clean place to stay without paying an arm and a leg for it.

DT

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooperstown hotels
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.4 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#13 of 16 in Cooperstown
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
607 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baseball Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baseball Town Motel

Property: Baseball Town Motel
Address: 61 Main St, Cooperstown, NY
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Baseball Town Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing