We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent HOF choice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baseball Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay for anyone visiting, or in the case of dedicated fans making a pilgrimage to, the Baseball Hall of Fame. It's just a few minutes walk from the hall but in its own residential neighborhood. Even a roundabout walk to the hall takes only a few minutes. Host John will talk baseball to your heart's content while serving a breakfast that almost makes lunch dispensable. Guests like me who were also visiting the Glimmerglass Opera Festival stand a good chance of finding other guests who will talk opera as well as baseball -- a true multicultural experience.

Room Tip: The Mathewson room is a good choice for solo travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMW194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 117 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great place to stay! Location is fabulous along with the hosts. Would stay again if in the area. The pictures on the website are 100% accurate and the blueberry pancakes are delicious! John and Suzanne gave us wonderful dinner recommendations, made reservations for us and asked us on our return if we were pleased with dinner. They were both a delight to talk with (not only baseball).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a lovely baseball themed B and B. It's a very short walk to the Hall of Fame and the business district. We stayed in the Cobb room which was clean and spacious. As far as I could tell, the other rooms were equally comfortable. The hosts are real baseball fans and very friendly. They love to visit with their guests. One little thing guests might want to be aware of: they don't use the front door and, personally, I was a little uncomfortable having to walk through their private living room each time I came or went, but it didn't bother them. The breakfast was delicious and filling with real maple syrup for the blueberry pancakes. That's always a home run in my book.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akhdubon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed at the Baseball Bed and Breakfast for two nights recently. It's a lovely old house in Cooperstown within walking distance of the Baseball Hall of Fame. Each room in the house is named after one of the original members of the Hall. My friend and I stayed in the Ruth room which is the only room with twin beds. While we did have a private bathroom, it was down the hall which was a bit awkward. During the night you'd have to get up and get dressed to go to the bathroom. Also, there are no electrical outlets in the bathroom so you have to go back to your room to dry your hair. Minor inconveniences, but it would have been nice to know in advance. However, I think if you stay in one of the other rooms, you do have a bathroom in your room. Breakfast was wonderful! Suzanne and John are great hosts, very friendly and with lots of great suggestions. The day we arrived after a long drive, they poured us a glass of wine and made us feel right at home. I'd recommend the Baseball B & B...just make sure you get one of the rooms with a bathroom in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CardinalsFan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I highly recommend bb&b as the place to stay.the rooms are absolutely immaculate and cared for by two of the nicest people you"ll ever meet.each room,,named after the 5 original inductees, gives more detailed insight into each of these legends.even the decorations placed throughout this lovely house suggest how much the proprietors,john and suzanne care about their guests and this wonderful game of baseball.to top it off a great breakfast is prepared each morning. thanks,brian

Room Tip: book early especially for weekend stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My 7 year old son and I stayed here for one night last weekend. Our hosts, Suzanne and John, were so accomodating and gave us several tips, suggestions, etc. that made our visit to Cooperstown unforgettable!
The property is well-maintained and located a very short walk to the downtown and the Hall of Fame, maybe 10 minutes, if that.
We were served a great breakfast of eggs, fruit, bacon, cereal, and a delicious homemade blueberry crumbcake!
I highly recommend this beautiful bed and breakfast to anyone visiting Cooperstown!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pags27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

John and Suzanne are so very friendly! We spent two nights there this past weekend! In walking distance to the National Baseball Hall of Fame, as well as the Glimmerglass Queen tour boat! The B&B is a beautifully kept, immaculate Victorian house, and you can tell Suzanne enjoys gardening as the landscaping is gorgeous! The breakfast is tasty and amenities are plenty! We will definitely stay there again, and we strongly recommend that others do too, especially if you're a baseball enthusiast! Throughout the house, there is plenty of baseball memorabilia for you to view. Good food, great, friendly people, and a great location!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philliesfan92274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooperstown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
868 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.5 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#8 of 16 in Cooperstown
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#13 of 16 in Cooperstown
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baseball Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baseball Bed and Breakfast

Address: 54 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Cooperstown, Baseball Bed and Breakfast can be easily found at the 1883 Italianate "sunny yellow house with white trim" on Chestnut Street. The 2/3-acre property has a lush green lawn in the rear (suitable for a game of catch) and a deck rimming the rear of the house where breakfast is served (weather permitting) and guests can sit on rockers to spend some quiet time reading or simply enjoying the scenery before they leave for the Glimmerglass Festival or other attractions in Cooperstown. Inside, the house is decorated with baseball memorabilia (except the music room, where the Hostess, Suzanne Rudy, can be found playing her harp at times during the day and early evening). Each of the bedrooms has air conditioning and a private bath, and is appointed in honor of one of the original five inductees to the Hall of Fame: Cobb, Ruth, Mathewson, Johnson and Wagner. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing