We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-friendly, great hosts, perfect location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baseball Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Ditto...ditto...ditto...the previous reviews are on target. This is a great place in Cooperstown. John and Suzanne are wonderful hosts, who are fun to talk with and will do whatever they can to make your stay wonderful. Their enthusiasm for baseball and the area makes your stay so much more enjoyable.

The location is a very short walk to the Hall of Fame and lovely main street area. We also enjoyed a walk to the nearby lake.

Our family of four stayed in the Johnson room with two rollaway beds, and our parents stayed in the Cobb room next to us. Each had a large bathroom and was exquisitely decorated in the theme of one of the first five original inductees to the Hall of Fame. While I hesitate to stay in B&Bs with children sometimes, it was clear that John and Suzanne were welcoming to families with children.

I looked into several B&Bs in the area during our stay. While it is atypical that they do not accept credit cards so you have to mail in a check to reserve your room, they were incredibly responsive, so this is not a problem. I would highly recommend this for your stay!

Room Tip: Check out their website to preview the rooms. All rooms are wonderful!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PA_Travelerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Baseball Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 115 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

My son and I recently stayed at the Baseball Bed and Breakfast and enjoyed it immensely. The owners, Suzanne and John, were gracious hosts and the accommodations and food were terrific. We loved the baseball theme and memorabilia. And the proximity to the center of town was a big plus, as we were able to walk everywhere.

John R

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had a very nice 2 night stay in the Johnson room at the Baseball Bed and Breakfast. The room was very clean and comfortable and the attached bathroom was spacious. John and Suzanne were terrific hosts. The breakfasts were delicious - my kids loved the pancakes and french toast! Staying here was a great experience for our family of 4 as we visited Cooperstown.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyMi555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

When my family decided to take an excursion to the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, I was looking for a place to stay that would be close and friendly to young kids. The Baseball Bed and Breakfast were those things and many more.

Suzanne and John welcomed the six of us (my husband, my two sons -- eight and five --, and my parents) when we pulled in and showed us up to our rooms. The rooms (Johnson and Cobb) were spacious, bright, clean, and absolutely charming. Each room had an attached bathroom which was also large. The Johnson room had plenty of space for the two rollaways my boys slept on and still left plenty of room to get around.

We thoroughly enjoyed the big backyard. My dad, husband, and boys had several baseball games in our short stay and John and Suzanne had all the gear -- bats, bases, balls. Plus great rockers on the porch for the spectators and a hammock for the man on-deck.

We had a delicious and huge breakfast of blueberry pancakes, sausage, fruit, cereal, coffee, and juice and chatted with our hosts for a bit in the morning. John suggested a scenic route for us as we went on our way to Niagara Falls, which we followed and loved.

The Baseball Bed and Breakfast was a perfect compliment to our first Cooperstown experience.

Room Tip: Johnson room fit two rollaways and still plenty of room to get around.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Baseball is a personal experience, and staying at a Bed and Breakfast should be personal. Suzanne and John are just plain good people... good baseball loving people. It made the whole trip feel right. We shared wine and spoke late into the evening with other guests about every topic you can imagine. It was as personal and enjoyable as a being at a baseball game with friends. A great place to stay. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My wife and I recently spent an evening at an enchanting bed and breakfast in Cooperstown, New York. John and Suzanne Rudy were the perfect hosts, assisting us with local directions, suggesting fine restaurants, and sharing a most delightful evening over a bottle of fine wine. We were thrilled with the accommodations (Ty Cobb room) and breakfast was delicious. There is no finer place to stay in Cooperstown when visiting the Baseball Hall of Fine. We highly recommend Baseball Bed and Breakfast and will definitely stay there on our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the Ty Cobb room overlooking Chestnut Street..
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Roger and I finally made our long delayed trip to the BHOF. We had a great experience staying at the Baseball Bed and Breakfast hosted by John Rudy. Nice house, excellent room, quiet area, and easy walk to downtown and the BHOF. John was a great host and we enjoyed bantering with him about the Red Sox/Yankees rivalry among other baseball stories. If you are taking a trip to Cooperstown we would highly recommend staying at the Baseball Bed and breakfast.

Mary G.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryg164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooperstown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
858 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#12 of 16 in Cooperstown
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baseball Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baseball Bed and Breakfast

Address: 54 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Cooperstown, Baseball Bed and Breakfast can be easily found at the 1883 Italianate "sunny yellow house with white trim" on Chestnut Street. The 2/3-acre property has a lush green lawn in the rear (suitable for a game of catch) and a deck rimming the rear of the house where breakfast is served (weather permitting) and guests can sit on rockers to spend some quiet time reading or simply enjoying the scenery before they leave for the Glimmerglass Festival or other attractions in Cooperstown. Inside, the house is decorated with baseball memorabilia (except the music room, where the Hostess, Suzanne Rudy, can be found playing her harp at times during the day and early evening). Each of the bedrooms has air conditioning and a private bath, and is appointed in honor of one of the original five inductees to the Hall of Fame: Cobb, Ruth, Mathewson, Johnson and Wagner. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing