We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Run Hit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baseball Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home Run Hit”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Proprietors John and Suzanne Rudy are two of the friendliest hosts you’ll ever meet, and their charming, in-town Baseball B&B is a home-run hit from its cheery exterior to its welcoming interior. Inside, you’ll find John’s enviable collection of historic baseball photos, posters, news clippings, books and other memorabilia; it’s guaranteed to set your imagination swinging for the fences regardless of your age or interest. Inside, you’ll also find Suzanne’s dining room where every morning she loads the bases with her scrumptious big-league breakfasts (pancakes, waffles, frittatas, sausages, fresh-fruit compotes and more), accompanied by the calming hand of quiet classical music. In good weather, you can eat on the flower-boxed back porch. Upstairs, you’ll find the country-style sleeping rooms, named for the first five inductees in the Baseball Hall of Fame (you’ll have to look them up so you won’t miss the import of their achievements). We stayed in the Cobb Room where Ty’s irascible spirit is alive and well in the photos on the walls and the books on the tables and dressers. In the hall outside is a pictorial homage to black legend Satchel Paige and the so-called “Negro” leagues. What’s nicest about staying in this B&B is you feel like you’re part of the Rudy family; you experience it from the moment you enter until the moment you leave. John is a retired attorney and Suzanne a retired teacher. He still plays baseball and she plays harp. Both share engaging smiles, easy dispositions, and an eager willingness to listen to and talk about whatever’s on your mind. For sure, you can trust their judgments on where to eat: e.g., don’t miss the big league, deal-and-a-half lunch at the Otesaga Hotel, seated on the edge of 10-mile long Otsego Lake, which “Last of the Mohicans” novelist James Fenimore Cooper (his family founded Cooperstown) called “Glimmerglass” in his “Leatherstocking Tales.” There may be lots of nice places to stay in this bucolic east-coast corner of the “field of dreams,” but we’ll go to bat anytime for the Baseball B&B as one of the best.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batesdon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
42
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is a MUST STAY location! We loved it! The location of this B&B is perfect for those who want to visit the hall of fame. The hosts, John and Suzanne are incredible when it comes to local information and cooking! The sound of Suzanne playing the harp fills the house in the early evening and provides a calming sense. Breakfast in the morning is wonderful and very filling! The house is very clean, super well decorated with BaseBall memorabilia, and has a great deck and garden. We would very highly recommend this to others - and plan to return!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyworksvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We enjoyed one of the most pleasant stays we have ever had in a B&B! The house is charming, as are the hosts, Suzanne and John Rudy. John is a knowledgeable and enthusiastic baseball fan, and Suzanne is a musician who can engage those guests who are in Cooperstown not for baseball but for the Glimmerglass Opera. The location is prime, just a few short blocks to downtown Cooperstown and the Hall of Fame.

Each day, there was a different breakfast menu and each day it was as delicious as it was generous, whether served in the dining room or on the deck overlooking the lovely back yard. (Suzanne is an avid gardener.) Our room was large and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was well supplied and big, fluffy towels were changed daily. There is no AC, but window and ceiling fans are adequate for Cooperstown's cooler climate.

We visit Cooperstown each year and are delighted to have discovered the Baseball Bed and Breakfast. We already made our reservations for next year!

Room Tip: The Johnson Room's large, private bath is adjacent. Other rooms have lovely baths en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I were thoroughly charmed during our stay. Suzanne and John were very welcoming hosts. We enjoyed hearing the stories behind the baseball memorabilia throughout their tastefully furninished home, which is situated a short walk from downtown. It was a pleasure to eat Suzanne's generous breakfasts on the deck overlooking her flower gardens and a nice way to start the day.
It was very hot the week we were in Cooperstown, and I was a little apprehensive because our room was not air conditioned. However, the ceiling fan, wall fan and the cross breezes from the windows made the temperature comfortable. Our room was comfortable and clean, and decorated with baseball memorabilia of course! We definitely felt that staying with Suzanne and John enhanced our visit to Cooperstown.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2011

When we left, my daughter talked for an hour about how much fun she had and how great a place it was to stay. "it was like staying at your grandparents place" she said. "Daddy, when can we go back?" Now if a 17 year old daughter says that about a annual baseball trip with her father, you know something special must be going on at this place. Do yourself a favor and put this B&B on your list of candidates.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red32_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2011

This B&B is a lovely home filled with baseball memorabilia. We rented two rooms and each was spacious and clean. Each morning we were served a delicious breakfast that would keep us full until dinner. The location is within very short walking distance to the Hall of Fame and the charming village of Cooperstown and a short drive to the Cooperstown Dreams Park. As an added bonus, the owners are wonderful hosts, as well as avid baseball fans.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret06112011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolivar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This is a great place to stay. We enjoyed the food, the facility, and the fellowship.
Suzanne and John are kind, gracious, and hospitable. There is more traffic noise than we are accustomed to, but the location is so convenient that it's worth it. If we visit Cooperstown again, we will certainly choose to stay at the Baseball Bed and Breakfast.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alicetope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooperstown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
258 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.5 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#13 of 16 in Cooperstown
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baseball Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baseball Bed and Breakfast

Property: Baseball Bed and Breakfast
Address: 54 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Cooperstown, Baseball Bed and Breakfast can be easily found at the 1883 Italianate "sunny yellow house with white trim" on Chestnut Street. The 2/3-acre property has a lush green lawn in the rear (suitable for a game of catch) and a deck rimming the rear of the house where breakfast is served (weather permitting) and guests can sit on rockers to spend some quiet time reading or simply enjoying the scenery before they leave for the Glimmerglass Festival or other attractions in Cooperstown. Inside, the house is decorated with baseball memorabilia (except the music room, where the Hostess, Suzanne Rudy, can be found playing her harp at times during the day and early evening). Each of the bedrooms has air conditioning and a private bath, and is appointed in honor of one of the original five inductees to the Hall of Fame: Cobb, Ruth, Mathewson, Johnson and Wagner. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing