We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to stay in Cooperstown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White House Inn
Ranked #2 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2007

Spent three days at the Inn in Aug 07. Location is great as it's a
block from Main St. and Two blocks to the Baseball Hall of Fame.
There are numerous restaurants on main street which can be
walked to. Ed the innkeeper and his staff are very attentive and
make you feel like one of the family. Breakfasts are as advertised. On the one day we had an early game to attend Ed
prepared a early meal for us, a nice touch. I would highly recommend a stay at the inn. Also recommend a visit to the
Fenimore art museum, a short 5 minute drive
,

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank wmloman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 254 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2007

Great location and you can walk to everything in town. This place is a must. The rooms are very comfortable and Gina can answer any question you might have about the area. She is very knowledgeable and an asset to the staff. All the staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel at home. Innkeepers were very friendly and great cooks! The breakfasts were terrific. We even got a couple of history lessons from Edward the owner. Very interesting area. Everything is clean and the antique furnishings and table settings were much appreciated. We enjoyed our stay and certainly would recommend this B&B to anyone who visits Cooperstown. You won't be disappointed. In addition to the Hall of Fame the Farmers' Market on Saturday morning is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Allysoncatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

First the negatives: The photo of the Inn is a bit deceptive, because you do not see that it is right on a rather busy and noisey street.

The room was a little shabby for the price, i.e. the air conditioner unit was filthy and the window shade was broken.
The photos of the pool are also a little deceptive- because the plastic border around the pool edge was in bad shape. It was set in a small but attractive garden area. They need more lounge chairs- we only had one reclining chair.
After reading such rave reviews about the breakfasts, we expected something special. This was not the case. Dry scones, very undercooked frittata, sausage patties that looked unappetizing. I think that if they do not wish to offer a choice, there should be the option of cereals, toast and yogurt. The melon and the broile dtomatoes were good.
The Positives: The Innkeepers and staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant.
The location to town is marvelous because you can walk everywhere from the Inn. Parking in town is a nightmare.
The best restaurant in town is one block away- at Alex and Ika. If you love truly great food with a gourmet/nouvelle flair- be sure to go! Overall, I do not know that we would return to this Inn, except for the location- or if the prices drop!.

Stayed: August 2007
4  Thank melisande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2007

--Full Disclosure: We stayed there in October of 2006 and this is a review I originally posted on another site, with some addition. I've gotten better at this whole review thing since then.

We stayed for 3 nights, and I can enthusiastically recommend this to anyone else wishing to travel to Cooperstown. The atmosphere is charming, the rooms clean and well furnished (we had the smallest of all of them, and there was plenty of room for the two of us. In addition, there is a carriage house with two bedrooms and 2 pullout sofas. All rooms have private baths and hot water was never an issue.

Breakfast is served in the main seating/dining area, which is available all day (the seating area, not breakfast) and has a wonderfully comfy couch and fireplace. There are also some smaller seating areas around the premises as well.

Be sure to check out the wall by the stairs for the autographs of people who have stayed there.

Unique Qualities: Breakfast, breakfast, breakfast! The Eggs Benedict were outstanding, the lemon pancakes spectacular and the scrambled eggs divine. Marge makes all the baked goods herself (and some very impressive wedding cakes too!)

Location, location, location - Walking distance to all the main attractions and restaurants. Baseball Hall of Fame took about 5 minutes walking. During peak season, there is a free shuttle buss that takes you to some of the more remote attractions such as the Farmers Museum.

If you are driving around, check out Hyde Hall as well, a fascinating restoration project about 15 minute out of town. (town is not that big, there is one traffic light)

The Inn has a small pool, it was closed for the season when we were there.

The owners - Ed, Marge and Kelly treated us like family while we were there!


I cannot recommend this place enough, we plan on coming back for a long weekend in the next year or two, would come sooner but its a long drive.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Loonbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

I have stayed twice in the past year at The White House Inn and each time was delighted. In May, my husband and I and three other family members stayed there when in Cooperstown for a graduation. Everyone loved the White House; the hosts were welcoming and very helpful, as were the staff; the accommodations were lovely, comfortable, and very clean; and the food was delicious. The Eggs Benedict they served one morning were the best we had ever had. You will not go hungry while staying at the White House Inn, and if you are a baseball fan, be sure to check out their Wall of Fame and talk baseball with host Ed Landers.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AquaPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2007

Location is fabulous, can easily walk to town center, Ed and Margie are warm friendly owners and might I say excellent breakfasts to be had at the White House Inn, noise free sleeping and all in all exceptional stays both times in December 2006 and January 2007, look no further if you can get a room!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Union City, NJ
11
Reviewed March 22, 2006

My boyfriend and I visited Cooperstown on a very, very cold Valentine's weekend. It was hard to get motivated to leave the inn and its cozy fireplace! Our room was so enticing, too, with a sitting room (and cable TV for the basketball fan among us), large bathroom and extremely comfortable bed. I am a HUGE breakfast fan and was not disappointed in our choices. The food is excellent, copious and nicely presented. It was a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cooperstown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
897 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.2 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#8 of 16 in Cooperstown
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#11 of 16 in Cooperstown
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Inn

Address: 46 Chestnut Street, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range: $122 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The White House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing