We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White House Inn
Ranked #2 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I'm back from my annual trip to Cooperstown, New York and once again I stayed at the White House Inn. The staff continues to be on top of everything and very friendly. Your enter as a stranger, leave as a friend. This is a very comfortable inn, walking distance to everything in downtown area. Upon your stay maybe you will be treated to the lemon pancakes for breakfast. Outstanding breakfast all the time. Check out the baseball Hall of Fame located in the hall way of the Inn. Ed and Patty continue exceed in every area from the welcome to the good bye. I will be going back in October and will once again stay at the Inn. As far as I am concerned there is no other place to stay in town.

Rick K

Room Tip: I enjoy the red room located on the second floor above the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snoop1Nazareth_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed L, Manager at The White House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Our guests make our job fun and easy.....Thank You for choosing The White House Inn
Always our fondest regards,
Ed and Pattie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 254 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our stay at the White House Inn was the perfect way to kick off our engagement! Ruth was incredibly accommodating, working with my scheming fiancé to plan for chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of wine in our room to celebrate after the proposal. Our room was extraordinarily comfortable - the gas stove kept us warm, but the comforter allowed us to turn down the heat at night and still stay snug. The breakfasts were delicious and filling, and also accommodating to my vegetarian diet. It was lovely sharing stories and conversation with the owners as well as the locals, who know that the White House Inn is the perfect place to stay during inclement weather. I am looking forward to returning next year, to celebrate our anniversary! Thank you to the White House Inn for making our stay so magical.

Room Tip: We stayed in the green room, which had a lovely gas stove - perfect for warming up after adventures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed L, Manager at The White House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Our thanks to the two of you for allowing us to be a part of that exciting surprise !
It was great fun and we can not wait for your return ! Thank you for your kind words also !
The very best to you ! Pattie , Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were taking a break from the Christmas hustle/bustle and decided to have a romantic get away to Cooperstown, NY. The perfect Inn with the perfect location is the White House Inn. We loved every minute from the warm friendly welcome to the superior breaskfast in the morning. We enjoyed parking the car and being able to walk everwhere in the village. Our stay was highlighted by dinner at the Otesaga Hawkeye Room. We look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: Stayed in the "Green Room" which has a gas stove, is bright and cheery and over looks Ches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Upbeat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed L, Manager at The White House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The White House Inn ! We strive every day to
make our guests feel special ! It feels really good to know when we are successful !
Blessings in the New Year ! The best is yet to come !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Our stay at The White House Inn was relaxing and wonderful. The Inn exceeded every expectation I had, from start to finish. It was truly a treat to be at a home away from home. Our breakfast was absolutely delicious. We came during off-season, so it was quiet. However, despite that we were the only guests there, we were looked after with as much care and affection as if the Inn were full. It was just what we needed before tackling the rest of the holiday season. Thank you so much! We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed L, Manager at The White House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

So grateful the White House Inn met your expectations and could be your respite
from the hustle and bustle . Wishing you a New Year full of blessings and another visit
to The White House Inn ! Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We finally made our way to Cooperstown to tour the National Baseball Hall of Fame. The White House Inn exceeded our expectations; a wonderfully enjoyable and charming B & B hosted by a warm & friendly owner and staff within easy walking distance of main street with all
of its interesting shops, restaurants, The Hall of Fame Muesum, and many of the sites.


  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed L, Manager at The White House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our inn. So glad you enjoyed your stay .
We certainly enjoyed meeting you . Hopefully you will pass our way again.
Always the best to you, Pattie, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Ed and his staff made us feel like family. Our room was very comfortable and homey. Breakfast was great. We loved the location we walked almost everywhere. We really enjoyed Ed's stories. We highley recommend staying at this delghtful B&B. Linda & Bill

Room Tip: We toured all the rooms and every room was delightful I would stay in any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed L, Manager at The White House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Getting feed back from our guests is ....priceless ! We thank you for taking the time to
evaluate our Inn. We are also please that your stay was everything you hoped it would be. Again thank you , we look forward to your return. The best to you, Pattie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Beautiful, gracious, and located in the center of town. We did not need to get in our car throughout our stay. Our carriage house room was extremely comfortable and private. Breakfasts were delicious, and Ed and his staff were friendly, warm, and lovely to deal with. One minor mechanical problem that we noticed on our arrival was repaired before we even had a chance to mention it. I would gladly return or recommend this lodging.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maven226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed L, Manager at The White House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

It means so much to know your experience at The White House Inn was a good one ! Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do hope you will return.
Best Regards, Pattie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
868 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#8 of 16 in Cooperstown
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#13 of 16 in Cooperstown
255 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Inn

Address: 46 Chestnut Street, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range: $128 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The White House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing