We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and fun B&B in Cooperstown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White House Inn
Ranked #2 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and fun B&B in Cooperstown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in the Brown Room right off the "waiting room" (used to be a doctor's office). This turned out to be a good choice as we used the waiting room as our own personal reading and lounging room. The Inn is right in town so we walked to just about everything, including the Hall of Fame. We've stayed in a number of B&Bs and this one, though not visually as stunning as some, was super friendly and served the best breakfasts we've experienced. We lucked out by visiting 1) during the Pumpkin Festival (Sep 22/23) and 2) while Linda Ruth Tosetti, granddaughter of Babe Ruth, and her husband Andy were visiting making for lively and entertaining stories at breakfast. This is not the most expensive B&B in town, but I can't see the point in spending more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    19
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
55
117
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Arrived late on a Sunday night and were warmly welcomed by Ed. He gave us a lovely room. Great location, easy walk to downtown and the Baseball Hall of Fame. Originally we planned to stay one night, but we felt so comfortable we ended up staying three nights. Pattie served wonderful breakfasts and was so friendly. She was also helpful providing information on things to do in the area. I would love to return for another stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moraga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

No Costco muffins or stale ganola here. Each morning we were treated to a home-made, sit-down breakfast with fresh fruit and scratch-made baked goods. The accomodations are homey and charming and Ed and Mary, the proprietors, could not be nicer. All this and a short walk to the Baseball Hall of Fame. A winner!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tecumseh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I left 46 Chestnut Street 11 days ago and I am still saddened that i had to leave its warm, friendly service, decadent breakfasts, and beautifully decorated rooms. THE WHITEHOUSE INN was an amazing respite and became my home away from home, thanks to Pattie, Margie, Ed , and staff. Perhaps I shall return some day with a good book and a good pair of walking shoes to view more of Cooperstown's amazing architecture and to take a few more strolls to Otsego Lake. Mostly i would like to experience, once again, the feeling that I am important and free to just be. Thank you so much.


Diane McGuire, Tecumseh, Ontario , Canada

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My Mum & I recently stayed for an entire week while my son played in a baseball tournament at the Dreams Park. Our stay was lovely. The entire staff was exceptionally kind and welcoming, making us feel instantly at home. We were greeted by Margie, who gave my son a tour before we dropped him off at the barracks, & he loved the "autograph wall" of legendary baseball players'. Mary & Pattie were wonderful hosts, always smiling, gracious & helpful. We felt sad to leave them! The entire Inn was spotless and charming, including the backyard pool retreat. The breakfast was delicious and beautifully set out every morning- fit for a princess! The location was very central/convenient; a walk into town and a short drive to the Dreams Park and other sights that way. I highly recommend this inn to anyone for any reason. It was the best B&B experience I have ever had!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Brown room and Green room. Both were pretty, but the Green room was our favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just visited The White House Inn this past weekend. The Inn was perfect, once we arrived we parked the car and never used it again until we left. We stayed in the Green room with private bath on the first floor, very nice and comfortable. They served a great breakfast each morning and were helpful in getting us dinner reservations for a popular restaurant. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to visit or take the trolley. Didn't have a chance to use the pool,but it looked very nice. Maybe next time.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor Green room and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stopped in Cooperstown on our way from Boston to Niagara. There are plenty of options in Coopertown, we were really pleased we decided to stay at the White House Inn. All the amenities you need without too much fuss. Great location, extremely welcoming hosts and staff, always happy to help. We then had no qualms stopping there again on our way back to Boston, hoping they would be able to squeeze us in.

Room Tip: The only reason I've rated the sleep quality and the rooms "very good" is because qual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlairInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.4 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#11 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Inn

Property: The White House Inn
Address: 46 Chestnut Street, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The White House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing