We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay at the Cooper Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cooper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cooper Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Small Town Ontario
1 review
“Enjoyed our stay at the Cooper Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2008

My elderly parents and I stayed for two nights at the Cooper Inn while in town to visit the Baseball Hall of Fame. The Inn is very conveniently located, just two blocks from the Hall and close to shops and restaurants, so we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go.

The staff at the Inn were very friendly, the rooms were comfortable and clean, and continental breakfast was included.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay, and I would certainly recommend the Cooper Inn.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No coffeemaker in the room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SueDanDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    44
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
69
120
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC area
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

The Cooper Inn is a wonderful place, located in the heart of Cooperstown, conveniently located to everything a tourist would need. The proximity to the Oresaga, which guests can can fully avail themselves of, is a major advantage. However, the Inn does not receive the same attention as the Otesaga. The rooms are in need of updates, from the HVAC system to screens on the windows (which are missing). The furniture and decor are outmoded and outworn. The bedspread in the room we stayed in did not match the dust ruffle or the chair (which did match each other and were clealry intended to match the bedspread). The Tv is old and out of date. Fresh paint and carpet are also needed. In general, the Inn does not seem to receive the same type of scheduled upgrades as other hotels as expensive as this one. In fact, the entire building, public rooms and exterior are in need of paint and repair.

The good news is the staff. They were all incredibly friendly and solicitous of our needs. The evening manager, Lance, rendered exceptionaly fine service and made our stay even better.

One last point. The Cooper Inn does not offer complimentary newspapers other hotels in this price range do. Instead, they slide a xeroxed, condensed copy of a New York Times under the door. The complimentary breakfast is adequate, but ends at 9-- too early for leisure travelers. Couldn't the management afford to let customers linger until 10 or so?

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Maintenenace
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerusInterpidus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

Our stay at the Cooper Inn was more than we expected. The rooms were exceptionally clean and inviting, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The access to the ammenities at the Otesaga Hotel on Lake Otesego were available for us to enjoy. Dinner at the Hawkeye Inn was very special, with the outdoor setting on the lake. Without reservation, we would recommend this Inn to our friends and look forward to returning.

Emily, Lu, Ro and Jean

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness of accommodation and service
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rangersrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2008

The outside of the hotel is beautiful. However, unfortunately that charm does not carry over to their rooms. We stayed in a "family suite" that consisted of two rooms connected with one bathroom. One room had a single (not a double) bed and the other a queen size with another single bed. The room looked worn, not very clean and there were several problems when we checked into our room. The soap dish in the shower had been broken and was taped over with masking tape. However, after the first shower this tape fell off and exposed a razor sharp edge. Only after I insisted did the manager come up and repair it properly. The shower head also had to be replaced after I complained. The room had rip shades and the small bedroom had no shades. The TV remote in the small room did not work properly. The inn provides what I would call a "Hampton Inn" style breakfast. Toast, juice, coffee and boxed cerals and fruit. The dining area was charming and it was sad that this area was not being used properly. So we ate all our breakfasts at the wonderful Cooperstown Diner around the corner.
The pros of this place are the location. You can walk to main street and it is located right down the street from the Hall of Fame. People at the hotel were nice, but it is not worth the price.

  • Liked — location to baseball hall of fame
  • Disliked — poor quality of rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank loracVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2007

The Cooper Inn is an historic home property that is affliated with the much more upscale and nearby Otesaga Hotel. I stayed at The Cooper Inn for a fall family reunion getaway for several nights. The location is excellent - it's just off the main street and a very short walk to restaurants and the hall of fame. The lobby and public sitting rooms are quite genteel and nicely appointed. The staff was friendly and helpful. Parking is plentiful. The self-serve complmentary breakfasts are ok, but nothing to rave about - breads, cereals, juices, fruit, yogurt, boiled eggs, coffee/tea. Our disappointment was with our rooms, which are showing signs of wear and need some refreshing, repainting, and redecorating. I noticed that another reviewer commented on the quality of the hotel room furnishings, and we too were suprised by that - our rooms had cherrywood colonial furniture of marginal quality like you would expect at a lower priced two star hotel and were a bit worn. Also, the housekeeping and cleanliness of our rooms was not up to the standards one woud expect in this price range. The beds and bedlinens were of nice quality and were comfy. The doors that lead to private rooms have a tendency to slam-shut, and we found ourselves awakened each morning before 6:00 am by the sounds of doors opening and closing in the hallways. Not a good place for children - this place is geared for adults. I think this place is overpriced given the wear and quality of housekeeping we experienced in our individual rooms. As for nearby resturants we recommend "Nicoletta's" for dinner and the "Doubleday Cafe" for lunch. The "Hawkeye Grill" at the Otesaga is also a good choice for lunch on a nice day on the back patio, overlooking the lake. Avoid "The Pepper Mill" restaurant and the "Lunch Cafe" at the Fenimore museum.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank boohootravelertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2007

We were in Cooperstown last week and we stayed at the Cooper Inn.The property is an old home in the center of town, so it is very well situated.To be honest we were disappointed in the property for a number of reasons, the first being that the bathroom had not been properly cleaned after the last visitor so there were some issues with the cleanliness level. When I reported this to the man at the front desk he promptly came to clean the bath hinself.The second was that the property itself needs some work. The paint was peeling around the windows and the general impression is that they are due for a reno. The breakfast was very nice and the property is twinned with a larger hotel around the corner so you can take advantage of the facilities at the larger hotel.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank GuelphMarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2005

We stay here as often as possible. Our children feel like they are at their "other home", when we visit. The staff is delightful and accomodating. There are several options for accomodations; single space, fabulous suites, and a room with a balcony. We love being at the "sister" hotel to the Otesaga. It allows you access to their ammenities; pool and excercise room. It's as glamorous as the Otesaga with more personal attention.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#11 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#2 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooper Inn

Property: The Cooper Inn
Address: 15 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1005 (Formerly Cooper Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#2 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooper Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year-round, the charming, Federal-style Cooper Inn is ideal for both business and pleasure. A member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America, the Inn is a block away from the National Baseball Hall Of Fame. Voted the "Best Small Inn in the U.S." By Executive Traveler Magazine, its 15 guest rooms include telephone, free high-speed wireless Internet access, cable TV, central heat, AC, and private bath. Guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast, plus dining and recreational options at the nearby Otesaga Resort Hotel during their stay, as well as free access to the Clark Sports Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Cooper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing