We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Place to Stay”
Review of The Cooper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cooper Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Excellent Place to Stay”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My daughter, wife and I stayed here for the Friday and Saturday of Vets Day weekend 2013. We took a two room "suite" and were very satisfied with the accommodations. The rooms were clean and bright although the furniture was pedestrian which did not detract from the experience. We parked the car Friday and didn't need it again until we left. Everything is within easy walking distance. The staff was friendly and helpful and contributed to our having a great little mini vaca!!!! I would definitely recommend the Cooper Inn to anyone. One does need to remember that this is a tourist town, (we come from Newport, RI) so prices will be higher than elsewhere, but we didn't find them exorbitant by any means.

Room Tip: We were in 259/260 which had a twin in one room and a queen & a twin in the other. A bathroom is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefGunsRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear ChiefGunsRetired,
Thank you for staying at The Cooper Inn during your recent visit as well as for your kind endorsement, we’re so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team takes pride in exceeding our guests’ expectations and we’re happy that you had a similar experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    47
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
74
124
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elma,New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed at the Cooper Inn the first week of November for two nights.Could not ask for a more friendly staff. Our room was immaculate. This old building is within walking distance to just about everything in Cooperstown.We had a grand stay at the Cooper Inn...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueroof2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Redroof2006,
We’re so excited to read that your stay at The Cooper Inn was ‘grand’, thank you for your kind remarks, it's great to know that our recent renovations are being well received by our guests. We’ll make sure that your comments are shared with the rest of the team who have a personal interest in each guest’s experience. We look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

At $165 this was more than I would usually pay for a single night, but the experience was lovely, lovely, lovely. Wonderful old building (without "old building" problems), walking distance to everything in downtown, yet with ample parking for guests. The staff and the breakfast were also terrific!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Beth E,
What a pleasure to read that you found your stay at The Cooper Inn lovely! It is indeed a historic inn with its unique charm and guests love its location in the heart of downtown Cooperstown. We’ll make sure to share your comments with the rest of the team who aims to provide the highest quality service to each guest. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to your return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Nyack, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Earlier this week I took two friends from the Netherlands on a trip thru upstate New York with the first stop The Cooper Inn. From the moment we arrived the staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. They provided suggestions on attractions and dining and took the time to respond to questions my guests had about the area. Our rooms were excellent, the breakfast very nice and the public rooms warm and clean. Overall a very good experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Gerard M,
We’re so glad that you and your friends from Holland enjoyed your stay at Cooper Inn during your recent visit to Cooperstown, thank you for taking the time to write a such a positive review, it’s so nice to know that our recent renovations as well as the attentive guest service provided by our staff are leaving a great impression on our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Because of cancelled flights, I did not arrive until 3 AM. This weary traveler was greeted by a beautiful lobby and sitting area, and a very gracious gentleman who checked me in promptly and directed me to my room. I found a large guest room with a walk in closet and views to the lush grounds. My stay was comfortable, my room was quiet, and relaxing. Breakfast was great, and I would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful hotel to friends. The added bonus was that it is the little sister of the very grand Otesaga Resort, so I used discount coupons to dine there on a few occasions. All in all, it was a great experience.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 156, which is only the second room away from the lobby, and was very convenient. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Carol U,
There is nothing more rewarding than reading a positive review on Tripadvisor, thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us, we’re delighted to know that you enjoyed everything about the Inn. We will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the team who take pride in providing the highest quality of guest service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, hopefully without any flight cancellations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I found this hotel excellent in every way, though pricey. Convenient to all museums and restaurants, this hotel was worththe cost for a very pleasant stay. The staff is helpful, breakfast is adequate, and the rooms are lovely. Most important, the rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbrig15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Cbrig15,
We’re so happy you enjoyed your stay at the renovated Cooper Inn as well as its convenient location to the Village’s main attractions. Our staff takes pride in exceeding our guests’ expectations and we’ll make sure to share your comments with them. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This place is wonderful from the moment you arrive until you leave. The architecture, the décor, the staff , the beds, the bathrooms, the TV, the complementary breakfast which had really good coffee, all are beyond your dreams. I would go back time and time again. We try to get there at least once a year. They are affiliated with the Otesaga Resort and when you stay at the Cooper Inn you can avail yourself of many of the amenities of the Resort such as the restaurants and the swimming pool I cannot say enough good about the Cooper Inn.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but if you have trouble with stairs, I would suggest the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperInnMgmt, Manager at The Cooper Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Epyc,
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Cooper Inn, thank you for taking the time to post such a great review, it looks like our recent renovations and our breakfast enhancements have made a positive impact on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
0.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#13 of 16 in Cooperstown
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
611 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooper Inn

Property: The Cooper Inn
Address: 15 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1005 (Formerly Cooper Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooper Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year-round, the charming, Federal-style Cooper Inn is ideal for both business and pleasure. A member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America, the Inn is a block away from the National Baseball Hall Of Fame. Voted the "Best Small Inn in the U.S." By Executive Traveler Magazine, its 15 guest rooms include telephone, free high-speed wireless Internet access, cable TV, central heat, AC, and private bath. Guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast, plus dining and recreational options at the nearby Otesaga Resort Hotel during their stay, as well as free access to the Clark Sports Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Cooper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing