We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go here to eat or drink”

The Pit under the Tunnicliff Inn
Ranked #19 of 60 Restaurants in Cooperstown
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Woodstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't go here to eat or drink”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We were seated quickly enough, but that was the highlight. We ordered 2 dry martinis up with olives, they were very watered down. The menu selection was not interesting, so I ordered nothing, and my husband wished he had as well. He ordered what he thought was a kielbasa sandwich with sautéed cabbage, and potato salad. It was not a sandwich, the potato salad was close to frozen, and the cabbage was brown, mushy, and without flavor. This was a big waste of money and time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dsebera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    106
    52
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“releif from the crowds”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Off the beaten path and deceiving (down the stairs) this was close to BHOF, but hidden gem from the crowds. Local beers on tap, baseball on TV, great sandwiches and gaspacho!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpswell, Maine
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sometimes The Locals Are Wrong”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were in Cooperstown for a baseball tournament that my grandson was in. As we walked around Cooperstown, a nice little town, we were looking at various menus trying to decide where we should eat. At the above location a family of four locals, who identified themselves as such, indicated to us that this establishment was the best. It was okay. Not anything to write home about. It's a small attractive eatery in the basement of the inn. The service was very good, but the food was just average.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadMaxie40667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
505 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Quirky little place”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Follow the steps beneath the Tunnicliff Inn to this quirky little pub/restaurant. At first it seems a bit strange as you are clearly in a basement area of a really old building which means uneven floors and two levels with low ceilings. Parts of the walls are paneled in what appears to be 1960's pine walls, and others are white washed brick. A few TVS are hanging with various sporting activities displayed. There is not really a cozy or welcoming atmosphere, it's just best described as quirky. The service was friendly as the manager and a waitstaff move among the patrons making sure everything is okay. Our waiter was friendly and efficient. For dinner we ordered a smoke sausage with cabbage (fantastic!) and chili with pasta, basically chili mac (yummy!). In the end, our stomachs were happy. The place could just use an adjustment with the decorating to add an appealing, welcoming atmosphere. It would be easy to add some early Americana touches to boost this place to a very good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Babu2773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Service.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a very enjoyable restaurant to eat at for lunch. The service was fantastic and the food was great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScottKuhlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pit under the Tunnicliff Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Pit under the Tunnicliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing