We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD PLACE FOR A COLD BEVERAGE”

Cooley's Stone House Tavern
Ranked #18 of 60 Restaurants in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
294 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“GOOD PLACE FOR A COLD BEVERAGE”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We went in for lunch and had the french onion soup and wings. Both were very good. Sat at the bar and the service from the bartender was great for as busy as he was. Typical bar atmosphere, nothing fancy, just plain and simple ~ the way we like it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MIKENGIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    64
    38
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT & AK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for drinking, not so much for the food”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent a Friday-Sunday weekend in Cooperstown and visited Cooley's 2 days in a row. We spent Friday happy hour there and while it wasn't crowded, lots of the bar stools were taken as well as a few booths which made for a nice atmosphere. Sam the bartender was a sweetheart and we really enjoyed the Irish pub atmosphere.

But it's really a beer place...we ordered a fish sandwich to share and it was just ok, kind of processed looking but we ate the whole thing! The fries were ok. We knew to expect pub grub so it was fine. Wouldn't really recommend for the food but would absolutely recommend for the atmosphere and friendliness.

We went back the next day and it was much more crowded because it was St. Paddy's day weekend (day before)...good energy there. Had lots of fun.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MariaP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennellville, New York
Level Contributor
239 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“A real bar”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Not too many real, regular drinkin' bars in Cooperstown. This is one of them. I've certainly been to divier places. This isn't really a dive. Just a fine bar in a non-bar town.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank verybigv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly Dive Bar”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Out of town and where do you go for a friendly bartender and a dive atmosphere? Here! Everyone loves a good dive bar and Cooley's delivers. Don't dress to impress and get ready to listen to old school music via the bartender playing CD's. Perfect place to play some darts and watch the game on TV.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishtrop98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
188 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lively bar in centre of town”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Friendly staff and a good range of beers, both local from the Ommegang Brewery, and from the US. We went three nights on the run whilst on a business trip. The best time was the last night when it was a bit busier, the atmosphere was better, but since it was all mid-week in November I guess you might not expect much more! There were some old-style booths to sit in, a brighter back room with some flatscreen tuned to sport, and food is available.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alphablack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooley's Stone House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Cooley's Stone House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing