We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend a few hours in Cooperstown”

Fenimore Art Museum
Ranked #2 of 34 things to do in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located inside a neo-Georgian mansion with terraced gardens overlooking Otsego Lake, this museum features fine collections of American art, James Fenimore Cooper memorabilia and historic photographs. (Closed January 1 - March 31) New exhibitions open April 1.
Cherry Valley, New York, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a few hours in Cooperstown”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Fenimore Art Museum is a little jewel. The exhibitions are small enough and one can actually go through the museum in a few hours. Often while traveling with family, a few hours is enough. There are many kinds of exhibitions and almost everyone will find something to amaze them. Couple it with the Farmer's Museum and you have a full day of fun, and will be surrounded by history and beauty. Worth every penny.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    107
    17
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Collection in Lakeside Museum”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Carved a few hours out of a visit to the Hall of Fame to see the Thomas Cole and found much more. A wonderful permanent collection plus two temporary exhibits that were similarly marvelous and chosen with care. Admission desk woman was a little too solicitous, while an executive manager strolling through was stern and officious. But the collection was first rate.

Unfortunately we were unable to try the cafe or walk the copious grounds -- next time.

NB -- Childrens and student groups focus on the Native American collection on the ground floor.

PS -- We used $2 online coupon off each adult admission ($10 vs $12) and children under 12 are free.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Art can be Fun”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A beautiful location and the museum was Fantastic the exhibits were great. It was our last day in Cooperstown it was a nice way to sum up our vacation even our teenage children found it enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjbjr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bonus to our trip”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Museum was very nice, the grounds were out of this world.. the lake ..WOW.
We had a great visit in the museum, one of the ladies working there gave us a great tour ... I'm not a art museum guy most of the time but this place was fun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TTP_0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A wonderful bonus to our trip to Cooperstown”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We came to Cooperstown to go the Baseball Hall of Fame, and were delighted to discover this museum. Wonderful collection of Native American items as well as folk art by Grandma Moses, J.O.J. Frost and others. Beautiful grounds on Lake Otsego, with Native American exhibits on the grounds as well as inside the museum.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank christine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fenimore Art Museum also viewed

 
Cooperstown, NY
 

Been to Fenimore Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing