We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fenimore Art Museum

Fenimore Art Museum
Ranked #2 of 34 things to do in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located inside a neo-Georgian mansion with terraced gardens overlooking Otsego Lake, this museum features fine collections of American art, James Fenimore Cooper memorabilia and historic photographs. (Closed January 1 - March 31) New exhibitions open April 1.
Albion, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Native American Indian exhibits were amazing. Lunch at the café was average, but eating out on the patio overlooking beautiful Otsego Lake made it very enjoyable. Get the combo tickets to save money on any two or all three of the main museums (Fenimore, Farmer's, and Baseball HOF).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    106
    17
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southern VT
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Gorgeous grounds with two native American homes on premises, along with interpretive staff to explain them. Great exhibit on the Wyeths: multiple generations of artists in one family. The museum has a nice mix of native American artwork, local history, and Hudson River School artists.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NBPINVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A place for American Art.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

A wonder collection of American and Native American art. It has beautiful views overlooking Otsego Lake.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeeTheWorldJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Interesting & Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Absolutely beautiful! I toured the museum which I found fascinating. The employees were informative and interesting. Then, I sat outside to study. It was so beautiful and relaxing. Thank you!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I tremendously enjoyed our visit to the Fenimore Art Museum this past week in Cooperstown, NY. We'd gone to Cooperstown as my husband wanted to see the Baseball Hall of Fame which he really loved, but I enjoyed the Fenimore a lot more myself. :)
The Museum was built on the site of James Fenimore Cooper's early 19th Century farm house on the shores of Lake Otsego. A stunning building with a gorgeous interior. James Fenimore Cooper was the author of The Last of the Mohicans which is a cool bit of trivia. We enjoyed seeing the Wyeth exhibit and also learning about U.S. artists. I got to see my first painting by Grandma Moses. How cool is that? And I also loved this neat gingerbread board that was on display that was made out of mahogany or walnut and used to imprint a design of a memorial to George Washington on to the cookie dough. Also on the grounds was a reproduction Mohawk Bark House, something I'd never even known existed. The young woman overseeing the Bark House was very pleasant and eager to share her knowledge.
It's always so much fun coming across something you never really knew about and the Fenimore Art Museum was jam packed of nice surprises. A real gem, in a gem of a town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fenimore Art Museum also viewed

 
Cooperstown, NY
 

Been to Fenimore Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing