We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EIn Prosit!”
Review of Hallo Berlin

Hallo Berlin
Ranked #6 of 10 Restaurants in Conklin
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“EIn Prosit!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Oktoberfest specials filled the air, sausages were very tasty, mildly seasoned, nice. White meatballs, a delight. Schnitzel,well, it wasn't the best I've had, but pretty damn good in the middle of nowhere. Saw the sign on the road and religiously followed the arrows to the location. All the accouterments were fine. You will be pleased.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    4
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can't get enough of this place.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I really cannot get enough of this place!! The fact that it is so close to me... might be a problem. I love the hefeweizen (not a HUGE beer drinker) and I would gladly sit at the bar and drink a boot of it any day. Food is always delicious. I love the saurkraut and the veggie (I think it called that) platter which has every German side dish on it! Potato pancakes are great too!! AMAZING!! Love the manager, he's always so nice and friendly. Ugh... i really want a beer now.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Missing the mark in so many ways- this should be a wonderful little out of the way restaurant.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were traveling thru the area and we saw the sign , so we swerved to the right to not miss this gem, should have kept going, as it is a diamond in the rough.
Upon entering the establishment, loud music filled the air, upbeat rock, so the server hurriedly turned it down. Which we appreciated the lower volume, but later when the owner changed to a german sound track to set the atmosphere, we found it annoying. We were the only ones in the place and the service was so slow. We were not really hungry at 2:30 in the afternoon , but just could not pass up the chance to check out a German restaurant. So we ordered, a giant gourmet pretzel with grainy mustard and the Old world weiner with red and white saurkraut on a crusty roll with mustard and German chocolate cake. When the server put the food on the table, the owner shows up and starts chatting, all the while my husband is eating his pretzel and my hot dog is getting cold. The pretzel turns out to be a pretzel found in many vending machines. The old world weiner is nothing like the true old world weiner, like the ones made by true Germans in Minnesota. So , we are disappointed with the food and waiting for what seems like 20 minutes for the cake, when the server shows up to ask if there was anything else we wanted. At this point , we said "No, just the check." knowing the cake is going to be 7.50 a piece and we would probably be disappointed.
What amazed my husband the most about this place, was the owner, telling us what to see in the area and then actually directing us to another restaurant in Binghamton (Remlik). I could overlook the food not being what we expected, I thought the place had a lot of charm, and probably draws huge crowds for the German beer, What amazed me was that the only bathroom( shared by men and women) has no curtain on the window and is very revealing since the window view is the dining patio.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 333Abby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A welcome change. Great experience”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I travel extensively and always try new privately run restaurants. Hallo Berlin was quaint and provided a welcome change for food choices. Have dined several times in Germany and believe Hallo Berlin provides a consistently good food choice in comparison. Ordered a wurst platter which came with a white bean and vegetable soup. The wurst was excellent and I enjoyed the sauerkraut. Although the red cabbage was good, I recognize deviations in the prep and seasoning by different chefs. The service was consistent and I enjoyed dining at the bar. Really appreciated the wide variety of beer choices. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville Flats, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great German Food, Great Owner”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We ate at the Hallo Berlin last night. As usual, the food was great. Owner is very personable, came out a few times to ask how the food was, then shook our hand as we left. Authentic German food, worth the drive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hallo Berlin also viewed

 

Been to Hallo Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing