We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun with a big group.”

Restaurant X & Bully Boy Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant X & Bully Boy Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Congers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
West Nyack, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great fun with a big group.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is the place you take friends and just spend a lazy afternoon eating and drinking. The food is great, the service was awesome. We loved the staff and the quiet appeal of the restaurant. We went for the Sunday brunch. Don't eat before you arrive, don't wear a belt, take your time. The food is great. Dessert was my favorite part. Valet parking is there for free. Coat check available.
Our menu:
French bread/ pumpkin bread /blueberry muffins
Caesar salad
Fresh fruit
Eggs Benedict
Bagels with lox
Mushroom ravioli
Crusted salmon with broc. Rabe
Bow ties in a cream sauce with pancetta
Fresh mozzarella and grilled veggies
Braised Chicken and orzo with veggies
Duck and bok Choy
Honey ham and mustard sauce
Sirloin and roasted fingerling potatoes
Shrimp scampi and cheese grits
Coconut shrimp and mustard sauce
Roast Pork and applesauce
Rack of lamb and green beans
Scallops

Desserts: tiramisu, creme brûlée , pecan pie, caramel flan, apple berry pie, fresh berries wi cream, chocolate lava cake, cheesecake, chocolate Mousse,



Tips: make a reservation well in advance. If you want to be in a certain room, tell them ahead of time. I went with six adults and my two kids. My children are both under five so they where not there for the food. Bring coloring or something for the kiddies because brunch will take 3-4 hours. The restaurant will accommodate when they can for allergies or food preferences (this is a really nice gesture). Pace yourself with the alcohol because it keeps coming just like the food. Dessert is best if your okay with sharing with your party. We all literally took a bite and passed the dish to the left. You get like ten different desserts for the table. Awesome experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SallySecNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    57
    29
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Xceptional, A Nice Find”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

This visit to West Point we decided to explore to the South for new places, found this in Conger, NY. The attraction that brought us there was Small Plates at the Bar - Xceptional. Cheese platter, Shrimp with Chutney Mango, and more.
The bar was pleasant and Dan was attentive and Friendly. A definite return on the next trip with others

Helpful?
Thank Chetzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, New York
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot for lunch”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Restaurant X has been a mainstay in Congers for many years. We usually go for dinner, but lunch is really a perfect time to go. The restaurant is busy but not crowded. The service is perfection and the lunch choices are really amazing. We passed on the prix fixe three course choices because we had limited time on our business lunch (the choices were excellent and hard to pass up). Instead we shared an appetizer of handmade wild mushroom ravioli in a dark wild mushroom sauce that was superior. The sauce was loaded with many kinds of mushrooms and the deep brown sauce was full of flavor. My companion had the Salad Nicoise with seared rare tuna as a main course. Fabulous! I chose the medallions of lamb with a delicious white bean sauce. The beans were slightly al dente and went beautifully with the lamb. The rich sauce was very tasty! The lunch menu has a nice wine list for "by the glass" choices. Of course, bottles of wine are available if you are not working. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dancer735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congers, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely fine - best Sunday brunch anywhere”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Food is exquisite - compliments to Peter Kelly the celebrity chef. The Sunday Brunch is perfect for that celebratory special occasion - over 20 courses are served and your table is filled with wonderful desserts to sample - and all of the champagne, mimosa or kir royale you can drink. Its a one of a kind. Steak lover's should come and share the cowboy ribeye for dinner!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank VinnyLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardonia, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Time to update the brunch”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The 1/4 bagel w cream cheese and chopped lox is not worth serving. Waiters are not well trained and do not know or care what the menu items are. Cous cous was dry beyond belief. Too many missteps for my taste.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BFACJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant X & Bully Boy Bar also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant X & Bully Boy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing