We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service great food”

Candlelight Diner Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 109 Restaurants in Commack
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Holland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great service great food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A staple in Commack. Great friendly service with very good food! The prices on dinners are much less than the neighboring Diners and taste better too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jml1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    17
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If you are looking for the classic Greek Diner experience in metro NY this is it.”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Went with a group of 8 (2 families) for diner. As we have been coming here for years, it was exactly what we expected. Menu is a very varied with a wide variety of choices. Trade off is the food is acceptable to good depending on what you get. Nothing is really outstanding. Dinner provide lots of food and can easily be shared which is good value. Wait staff is very experienced and provides good service. My only suggestion would be to consider providing free refills on drinks as many other family restaurants in the area do. The diner is always a reliable choice depending on what you are looking for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KI57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The staff here is always pleasant, upbeat, and happy to serve you. Serves good diner food for a decent price. The owner is nearly always there monitoring his staff and servers to try to make everything run smoothly. Awesome late night menu, you can come in at almost any time and get what you like, which is one of the best things about the Candlelight. Definitely a favorite!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deer park, ny
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“NOT WHAT IT USED TO BE.”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Slowly has gone downhill, needs new decor (wobbly chairs) , better food prep( over cooked eggs)

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank auburnDeerPark_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“But it's a diner”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

If I were rating only diners I'd give this 5 stars. The menu is extensive and the specials are excellent. My wife and I go out of our way to eat at the Candlelight. It's not Panama Hattie, but it is excellent for a diner.

Helpful?
1 Thank KeepPeddling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candlelight Diner Restaurant also viewed

Commack, Long Island
Commack, Long Island
 

Been to Candlelight Diner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing