We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Long Island/Commack
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Commack
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My stay here was short but pleasant. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and modern. The free breakfast was better than average. They had some nice toppings for the oatmeal, which I enjoyed. The room also had a microwave. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Long Island/Commack
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 657 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed for several days in this hotel. Staff very friendly. Room was clean, bathroom clean. Heating system somewhat challenging, despite setting it at 65, it was still very warm in the room. Bed was very firm, too firm for me. I am not a fan of the DTV either.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msher5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We reserved a room for 3 nights for a family funeral. There were several rooms booked here by other family members as well. Very disappointed this stay. We enter the room and try to hang our clothing in the closet. The closet door does not open all the way as the nightstand is in the way. The closet rod is not horizontal like normal, it is 90 degrees to the long axis of the shelf. You can only see the first item and must flip through clothes to find anything. Plugs, seriously travelers have more electronics than they did 10 ears ago. And the kicker, they schedule plumbing work on a Friday 10-2 no water. You can't do this stuff at night?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryGCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The only problem is the heating system. When it kicks on and off it is very loud. Even when when you lower the system so the heat doesn't kick on as much it still was to much. It kept me up most of the night. This need to be addressed

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAB291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have never stayed at a Hampton Inn that was unpleasant. This Hampton Inn, although pleasant, ranks at the bottom of the Hampton Inn food chain. Not in the big things, as they had a nice pool, a microwave, an in-room fridge, a free business center, immaculately clean rooms and an excellent complimentary hot breakfast. But in little things. Like no fancy selection of flavored teas (just regular and decaf tea). At about 6pm they put out one tray of delicious chocolate chip cookies. Within a few minutes, they're gone, and they ain't coming back. I have never really been impressed with hotels in Long Island, NY for some reason. This disappointing one didn't disappoint my low expectations.

Room Tip: Truthfully, they all seemed equivalent.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBPCEAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is your typical Hampton Inn. It's convenient to hotel, not too far from restaurants and free breakfast. The breakfast has hot and cold items to choose from. I didn't have time to stay and dine, so I always grab a breakfast to-go bag from the front desk. The only complaint I have are the uncomfortable beds, which surprises me, as Hampton Inn beds are usually very good. I was traveling here on business for a few days and if I had to book again, I would. Pleasant staff and good availability.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyTraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Yes, there was hot ham at the free breakfast, along with an assortment of other items, both hot and cold. This was your better then average breakfast, scrambled eggs, sausage and some sort of small omelette concoction. hot and cold cereals, juices as well, though served in a very small area, be prepared to rub elbows with other guests crowding the serving area, the breakfast alone would have cost 10 bucks at the diner across the way. Whats with all the activia yogurt though lol.
If you have been to a hampton inn before you notice they are all the same, layout wise for the most part. This property is not as big , (built as some other chain before?) but is in very good shape -id actually say nicer and better shape then the marriott, though of course smaller and not in the same county as long islands supposed nicest hotel. I stayed over on multiple occasions as this seems to be the place of choice for my job to put you up at when in Suffolk.
The location is right off the expressway, and the people (staff and even guests) were typical long island crowd; working stiffs who are clearly here on business purposes. The front desk guy at check in looked like he hadnt gotten a good nights sleep in a week, yet was very helpful. The lady the next night was sweet as well, granting me a late checkout AND alerting the maid service saying it would be a disaster if they pounded on my door regardless lol. Free water, coffee, tea in the lobby 24/7. The business center consisted of 2 computers, pretty good internet speed but just hope they both are not used, people were in there for ever, and staff didnt enforce the 20 min time limit posted. I did not check out the gym but looked sufficient. The pool was small, with no hot tub, not exactly a place to swim laps, but was good enough and the water temp was just right. They even had a guy come in and check the water temp and chemicals occasionally and it showed, everything about this place seemed to be in tip top shape. He even et me stay in a little bit after hours.
The elevators were fast and the rooms, though small, had comfy beds and the easiest blinds/curtains system I ever experienced (really, i had some nightmare experiences in some hotels) here, just keep pulling the string for as up or down you want.
The area is typical white picket fence long island, theres something you will find to do, from pizza places to bowling alleys. The immediate area has a very nice diner and rather large movie theatre (Very large, like, warehouse big - is this the largest one in LI? about 20 screens if i remember correctly)
Its a user-friendly place that is in good shape. My job payed for the room so im not sure what the rate was but it seems if you like to swim, need to be near the expressway and want a good free breakfast its a good deal.
Only complaint was a suspect encounter in the parking lot, i met up a friend there and as the car pulled up I got in and while chatting some guy, i can only assume a worker at the hotel, though i dont know for sure as he was not wearing any hampton inn attire, banged on the car window and asked my friend who was in the drivers seat if he was a hotel guest. I tried to explain but i was shot back with "did I address you?", when he said no, he was told directly in a almost threatening tone "either you check in or leave, if you are not a guest you can not stay here, understood?" I suppose this is good news if you are worried about car security in the parking lot, but come on, this is great american suburbia. Apparently there is some transient 'funny activity' that goes on at the park n ride the next exit, but was that really necessary?

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedotorpedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Commack
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Islandia
6.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
826 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport
10.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Islip MacArthur Airport
8.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Long Island/Commack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Long Island/Commack

Address: 680 Commack Rd, Commack, NY 11725-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Commack
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Commack
Price Range: $164 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Long Island/Commack 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and newly renovated Hampton Inn in Commack Hot breakfast, wireless internet and airport shuttle.We love haveing you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Long Island/Commack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Long Island/Commack Hotel Commack
Hampton Inn Commack
Commack Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing