We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian Food”

LA Scala Restaurant & Pizzeria
Ranked #5 of 144 Restaurants in Commack
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a great find in Commack, NY. I go to the area because my mother lives there. We went out to dinner with her -- 5 of us altogether, and we all enjoyed our meals. This was on a Monday night, and they had entertainment on a Monday! Nice surprise. My meal was plentiful and delicious, and I heard nothing but praises from everyone at the table. This will be our new go-to restaurant in Commack.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Portia82104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

You wouldn't expect much from a place in a common looking strip mall, but great Italian food/pizza with very good service to match. We had a larger party with a bunch of kids and they were very accommodating.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

We have been going to this restaurant for over 40 years. They just changed ownership. The restaurant honored our reservation. Parking is available. Menu did not change and has great choices. Specials looked good. BUT. The quality of the food is not what it was. Prices on certain items went up. The service was good as before. The food did not have that special taste it used to have. Prices are not cheap but not overly high either. Portions are good size. Their pizza is still the best around.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank tennisbum11746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2019 via mobile

Bad night, something has changed. Stuck baby in the corner! Cold room, poor service, had a reservation. Soured after 20 years. Something is different with service

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Wander499872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

The service was horrible. Not enough wait staff. The line was out the door to get a table, but yet the food was ok. Our waiter never came back to check on us to ask if everything was ok, or did we need anything. I had to ask 3 people to bring me some more water. Nobody walked around refilling your glass. The waiter didn't come over asking if we wanted coffee or tea. Not a good experience. We order broiled flounder. It came with broccoli which was hard and crunchy. Better Italian food would be at Branchanelli's in Hauppauge. Much better service, much better food.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tracey1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA Scala Restaurant & Pizzeria also viewed

Commack, Long Island
Commack, Long Island
 
Commack, Long Island
Commack, Long Island
 

Been to LA Scala Restaurant & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing