We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best pastrami outside NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pastrami N Friends

Pastrami N Friends
Ranked #4 of 109 Restaurants in Commack
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the best pastrami outside NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

can you say YUM! i could. My husband and I usually split a salad and a sandwich, which is generously packed with lean juicy pastrami. (unless he needs his derma fix.)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank irbsjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    16
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“A must if you in Commack, Kosher Deli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I was told about this resturant /Deli and when the time was right I took a ride . The folks are friendly the food , Fresh and plentiful . They do have seating in the back of the Deli , and your classic kosher deli counter up front . I would highly recommend stopping in for lunch as I did , I Had the Ruben ***** I will be back .Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fldsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“A must if you in Commack, Kosher Deli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I was told about this resturant /Deli and when the time was right I took a ride . The folks are friendly the food , Fresh and plentiful . They do have seating in the back of the Deli , and your classic kosher deli counter up front . I would highly recommend stopping in for lunch as I did , I Had the Ruben ***** I will be back .Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fldsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonder If We Were There On a Better Day?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I honestly thought it would be rated higher on TA. A friend just moved to this area this past Summer, and we wanted some decent Pastrami. No offense to Ben's, but as good as they are, I think they've become a bit complacent in the last few years - the wait staff really has. We tried this place instead, and what a difference! More homey feel, the server was a human being and paying attention. One of the owners even came over to say Hello when they found out it was our first time there. The food was fantastic. They actually know what "Lean" means - and you know not everyone does. We tried a number of items, but mainly an extra lean Pastrami and a Corned Beef. I don't get back to the Island as often as I'd like, but my friend lives there - we both thought everything was great. Is it ultra-modern? No. Is the food great and the room clean? We thought so, and we're both picky. I'd say it's priced at the quality of what we were served. My friend has been back since, brought other guests, and they loved it, too. As to the other reviews, I'll take them at their word, but if this place is less than it was, it must have been amazing years ago, and we liked it now.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer6SJ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“If you can have Bens...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This unfortunately did not live up to memeory of this resataurant I went to 15 yrs ago. Not much to say but not the typical "kosher" restaurant you can find in NY.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jml1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastrami N Friends also viewed

Commack, Long Island
Commack, Long Island
 

Been to Pastrami N Friends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing