We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay away !!!”
Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Colonie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Central Avenue
Transit: CDTA Bus Stop on Wolf Road and Central.
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
ny
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“stay away !!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

went here with a group from work to wish a fellow employee farewell. Poor food Poor service and way over priced. Glass of white wine was 10 dollars!! Veal marsala was chewy, just poor We spent 36 each without drinks, could have gone to a 4 star facility! Waitress failed to bring water even after multiple requests

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flowerladyNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    78
    29
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food for large parties”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We eat here when the extended family will be dining together (more than 7 people). You can't beat the portion size and you are not drowned out by tvs, other patroons, or music. The tables are set up so everyone can talk and be heard and you're not sitting on top of one another.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is not Italian”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Quality vs. Quantity situation. You get a lot but do you really want to eat that much crud?

Service was slow and decor is not presentable for family atmosphere. How do you explain to an 8 year old why someones private parts are on display?

On a recent trip seems football was more important to staff then taking care of people.

Coupons or not, really not worth the trip, very disappointe.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tried it again and this time we really enjoyed it.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had eaten here once before and were sorely disappointed with the service and quality of the food. Dad and I decided to give Buca another try during our return to the area. This time we had lunch rather than dinner and were pleasantly surprised with a very tasty and sufficient order of Eggplant Parmesan with Spaghetti. We added a salad and soup to our meal as well and I have to tell you, the Tomato Basil soup was about the best I'd ever eaten. After our most recent visit, we would change our former, "do not recommend," to "recommend." PS. Don't forget to order the cheesecake for dessert, but be prepared to be served a portion that is at least 4x what you would normally get in any other restaurant!

Visited December 2012
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MariosDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCHOHARIE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service,m fun food experience”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Even though I have been living in the area for over 20 years I had not visited this classic family style restaurant. We visited while at a conference. We were seated quickly and when our waitress was told we had a meeting to get back to she mad sure we stayed on schedule. We had apple and gorgonzola salad and a vegetarian pizza. The small salad and pie were more that two hardy and one average eater could finish. This was a very satisfying and tasty meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing