We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and kid-friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moonbay Marina Leisure Resort
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food and kid-friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at Moonbay Marina for 2 nights on May 31, 2013. We are a group of 6 (2 familes with 3 members each). We each have a little girl in tow.

PROS:
- Food is not cheap but you get what you paid for. Essentially, it is not spectacularly awesome but it definitely was unexpectedly delicious. We paid around 5k per night per room and it included breakfast for 2. The tapsilog was delicious. The garlic rice was very garlic-y and the tapa tastes like bistek. Since we had to order extra for our little girl, it was an additonal 170 pesos, which, as I have mentioned, not exactly cheap for a tapsilog but at least it was delicious.

- The rooms are huge. Queen-sized beds, kitchenette and living room. Our room can be accurately described as a "1-bedroom unit" since the bedroom was separate from the living room. There was also the patio where we can smoke (we are smokers). The sheets and pillows smell ok. The room does not smell moldy which is a number one requirement for me. There are plenty of drawers and a battery-operated safe as well.

- The swimming pools are heated and there is a separate jacuzzi with warmer water which was really relaxing. For those with babies, they have a separate pool whose water level is ankle-high. This I thought was very thoughtful.

- The lifeguards are really watching and are really doing their job. Sometimes I think some of the moms kind of abuse this and just leave their toddlers by themselves under the watchful eyes of the responsible lifeguards.

- Since we are staying in one of the villas, we had the convenience of ordering food and drinks by the pool and just charge it to our rooms. Good thing our kids are too small to realize this yet :-)

- It is located near a number of night spots by the beach but we weren't really able to check it out since we have kids in tow.

CONS:
- We don't want to sound like a snob but 5 thousand pesos per night is not exactly cheap in the Philippines. We were hoping for some privacy and serenity for the 2 nights that we stayed there but we were surprised to realize that the swimming pools are actually open to the public for 250 pesos per head. We don't particularly appreciate this.

- While we were all in the pool, we have beers and I believe around 3 sets of entrees (pulutan) in our table. There were 3 hotel employees not very far from our table, mind you. So here's what happened - 3 stray cats jumped on our table and picked on our food. They just dismissed it as "Ayy.." and I told her, technically, the poolside is still their property, they have to replace our food or at least, anything. And she says, "Sorry po ma'am hindi po talaga ganun". Moral lesson : Never order food if you all want to dip in the pool all at the same time.

- We are in the habit of bringing big bags of chips in our hotel rooms. We usually are not able to finish, say, 1 bag of Cheetos in one sitting and we just fold the wrapper in half and place it somewhere. Cheetos is very reliable with its crunchiness. The armies of ants in the rooms are crazy. We lost 2 almost-full bags of chips. The ants were the reddish and smaller kinds. I'm not sure if I would suggest ziploc or just maybe put them in the fridge.

- All of us have tiny purple bruises on our legs before leaving for Manila because the bed frame has sharp pointy edges to it.


Are we going back? We are not yet sure. If ever we do, it'd be for the food and the heated pools.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s0phiebear_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    37
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
53
11
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's our first time in Moonbay Marina last weekend April 6-7, 2013 and our family stayed at the La Luna Villa. We just enjoyed the full convenience of our unit. The bedroom with two double-sized beds was perfect for our family(with two kids). The balcony added interest to the room with its view of the playground and just a glimpse of the beach (because there's another unit blocking the front). I was amazed by how the bathroom is spacious and neatly designed--with the glass shower enclosure and a separate tub, bowl with sprinkler and a neat sink. Although the water supply needs a little more pressure and the sink drains so slow. The warm lighting gives it a plus. It's so roomy you can dance while in the bath! The air conditioning was sufficient all over the unit. A well set mini kitchen enabled us to store and cook additional food (we brought our own pan). We just observed that ants immediately came out of nowhere. When we left a box of doughnuts on the ref shelf, ants got in it after a few minutes. Maybe a little pest control would help there. The living area was just perfect for our family chats over snacks and meals. And the couch is so comfy for lazy naps. Outside, the heated pool was enjoyed by the kids until almost midnight and jacuzzi was relaxing enough. Although it's not aesthetically ideal. It's kinda old fashioned design for a modern villa. The dolphin statue even proved to be a hazard for small children bumping their heads on way to the wading pool (I hope they would get rid of it). The tent roofed cottage provided sufficient shade. For our room-in breakfast, it was very filling and they served great beef tapa! Generally, I'd give a thumbs up for this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovehotelsandbuffet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pampanga, philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay at Subic for my birthday. I always come back to Subic for some peace & quiet but with a nightlife....

Requirements: with a pool, near the waterfront, away from the loud music of nearby bars, big room, with a veranda...

I've been around Subic Hotels, so I decided on my next.

The check-in was quick, but they sure charge for extra person but it was minimal (Php 330) considering it goes with an extra matress, pillow, blanket & towel.

It has a receiving area with its own AC, a spacious bath, bedroom and a veranda...

We ate at their Cafe Azul where the 2 free breakfast will be served. We had a late lunch and the prices were very affordable.

The pool was not directly under the sun, so swimmers won't get baked.

You wouldn't feel like you're in a hotel, because they are villas, with a playground in the center for kids... It has that homey feeling...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruby_eli_cha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon city 1106
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My family stayed here for a weekend last Dec. 30 , 2012 ad it is only now that I had a chance to make a review. We stayed at one of the villas on 2nd floor and I would say this is a better location than being on the ground floor. The first time we booked here we were on the ground so you can hear and see much of the activities outside. Also on our 1st stay, there wasn't a pool yet so this time my kids had a grand time at the pool. Overall, the rooms were clean and what is good about this place is that you can cook your food. The food though at the restaurant has limited choices including their breakfast buffet. Still I will not hesitate to come back here this summer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The place looks expensive.. yes but don't be intimidated because the price of their villas will surprise you. And if compared to its neighboring hotels (The Lighthouse Marina and Vista Marina) their price is better. The location is perfect just in front of The Lighthouse, a few minutes to the beach, it has its own huge swimming pool, it is located at Subic business center so just a few minutes to the mall, night activities and restaurants. Since it's a villa, you have your own living room, kitchen and a dining area.

We stayed here for 2 nights for our honeymoon last December and we loved it! We had our wedding reception here too, Our 1 night is free with our wedding package but we extended for another night. For breakfast you don't have much to choose from, just either American or Filipino breakfast meal but tastes great and just enough serving. Their restaurant is so affordable too and the food is yummy! Service is great and the staff are so helpful and accommodation. Would love to stay here again. If you want an idea how the resort looks like you can check my blog post of this place, just click the video, Moonbay marina is the venue for our pre-nup, our wedding and reception. http://www.vivisrandomramblings.com/2013/01/im-back-with-hubby-in-tow.html

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vmvpinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My Family (with 3 kids) stayed here last week, i find that the Villa looks so nice and new, and priced affordable at P4950/night,  but the scent of the clorox/Zonrox/Bleach or whatever cleaning agent they used for the beddings too strong for you to be able to stay in the room with the windows/doors closed, but when i open them, mosquitoes will come flying inside the villa.  It is just not safe for young kids and most especially pregnant women to be inhaling those things. The room
Service was good though, food came fast, servings were huge, some food were bland like the pansit palabok. 

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myso2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Went on out of the blue trip for my family to Subic last Saturday (February 2), unfortunately all beach resorts are fully booked so we decided to look for a place to stay for the night. As usual, we check Tripadvisor for guidance and decided to try this place.

The place - located very near the seafront (no beach area), in front of Lighthouse
The rooms - clean, with a small sala, with ref, TV with cable, aircon, toiletries, bath tub, hot and cold shower, hot pot for coffee, clean linens, king size bed
Facilities - with small-medium size swimming pools (kiddy to adult and with jacuzzi), canteen, small play area
Others - Free breakfast for two, street parking and parking space near the pool, near the beach (no bathing is allowed), near lots of restaurant and bars along the beach.
Staff - good service

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miner_DMS91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subic Bay Freeport Zone
0.5 mi away
Court Meridian Hotel
Court Meridian Hotel
#3 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Subic Park Hotel
Subic Park Hotel
#14 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
4.2 mi away
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
#5 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Subic
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Subic
#4 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Subic Bay Venezia Hotel
Subic Bay Venezia Hotel
#9 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Mangrove Resort Hotel
#2 of 18 in Olongapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonbay Marina Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonbay Marina Leisure Resort

Property: Moonbay Marina Leisure Resort
Address: Block 5 Lot 1 Moonbay Marina Avenue | Freeport Zone, Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moonbay Marina Leisure Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Moonbay Marina Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing