We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so bad”

White Rock Waterpark and Beach Resort
NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not so bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Entrance fee is too much and the cottage as well is too pricey for 2,000 pesos for 2 adults and too kids. The cottage you will have (we didin't check in or didin't stay overnight) depends on how many people and you can't choose if you're trying to be cheap because they are the one who actually choose it for you..so the cheapest is 2,000 for 2 adults and 2 kids..the 10 year old was charged full for entrance (650 pesos) and the 5 year old was charged 350 pesos.I would advise to bring your own food because it is very expensive if you buy inside.True, no free wifi, pools and kayak are great.but need longer hours because the pools operates till 6pm only and kayak till 5:30 pm...Lifeguards are nice but not as alert as the people at KRELL's where they really focus on the people swimming and you can't see them holding cellphones..but they are really helpful..Bathroom sinks need to be updated too. Most of the facilities are old and beaten up but it is really a nice place for the kids and for picture taking..We had a good time too..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bhabes61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    22
    27
    8
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Leaves a lot to be desired”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I was asked to conduct a teambuilding for a company and they chose this resort as their venue. Hearing about how this resort was very popular in Subic, I was pretty excited to spend the night and take a look at the facilities, rooms, and the beach.

It was very disappointing. First, I was told by HR that we were bumped from our original venue and delegated to the beachfront because of some schedule mixups. In the beachfront that was not so big, we had to share the area with another set of resort visitors who were also doing some games and other teambuildings, not to mention it was excruciatingly hot (not that I blade them for the climate but couldn't they have provided some trapal or what, given their exorbitant prices)? There was no free wifi, it came at an additional cost. So we had to rely on our celphones. The HR person I was talking to complained that given the large amount they charged, wifi should have been free.

The rooms were not that great as well. It was large, there was a jacuzzi at the back (we stayed in a suite) and that was it. Ambiance was lacking somehow, and I found myself comparing it to Thunderbird in Rizal, and that was waaaay better.

Food was ok. But I agree with the other comments, CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS BAD. We had to follow up several times for a single request, from opening the aircon in the conference room, setting up of the sound system. We were 150 in the group and they were informed of this as well, but they only set up 50 chairs.

Whiterock, you have a very good reputation. Sadly, visitors are in for a shock once they see your place. Please upgrade. The facilities are great, the pool, the carabao and kalesa fixtures on the ground, beach, kayaks. But improve on your customer service and upgrade your rooms. Otherwise, other Subic resorts, notably Camaya will take over.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank babyshy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
83 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Has been better before”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel and resort has been a famous destination in Subic, and at present it does not live at par with my expectations/standards. It has been better way before. One advantage of this resort is its beachfront and the activities that it offers to guest. it also has good landscaping which is a plus for this place. However, the quality seems to be degrading since my first visit. The rooms are so...so... The service is just average, sometimes even slow. The food is pricey for its quality. I'm looking forward to improvements to this hotel, I still believe it has the potential of once again being the "place to be"" in Subic.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Almlkns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I love white sand.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice resort u can enjoy with your family or friends. U can swim either in pool or beach... The place is clean and quiet.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank theresamarges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Overrated, overpriced resort with terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Since we were in Subic for holy week, we decided to go to this resort since it was one of the "better" resorts in the area. Since they charge 650/head just for the entrance, we expected at least good service and clean common areas.

But we were so disappointed with everything, from the slow service in the reception up to the terrible/overpriced food (they served us undercooked chicken bbq which cost 120php) and we waited for an hour just for this. A lot of dishes listed in the menu were not available. They must be prepared because it was peak season and they've been operating for years!

The shower rooms were so dirty and dark (used napkins were left on the soap holders). A lot of doors in the stalls can't be locked. We just wanted to get out of there the moment we stepped in.

The only good thing about the place was the beach.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ibyangerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Rock Waterpark and Beach Resort also viewed

Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Central Luzon Region
Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Central Luzon Region
 
Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Central Luzon Region
Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Central Luzon Region
 

Been to White Rock Waterpark and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing