We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic Bay
Reviewed February 11, 2014

There were 4 of us who stayed at Wild Orchid Beach Resort. We had the beach front rooms with a patio. The rooms were large, well maintained and has an AC. There was no wifi in the rooms. Wifi was in the lobby area. Our rooms were close to the bar so you can hear the band at night but not loud enough to affect my sleep.
The restaurant and bars had great service and food was great. One night the boys had a rib eye and was cooked to perfection. The boys loved their steak so much they tipped the Chef. The prices for the food and drinks were reasonable meaning not inflated.
There were a variety of guests from families, couples and single people at Wild orchid Resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VmTravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 340 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

A truly outstanding stay for 2 ½ weeks!

From the moment we checked in, we were treated so well. Every one of the staff had a smile on their face and went out of their way to learn your name.

The hotel room was spacious and clean (3rd floor facing beach). Internet was available via CAT5 cable in the room, and WIFI throughout the property. Room also has TV and a DVD player. Bathroom was large enough with room to spread out.
The A/C in the room kept things cool.

There are two 24 restaurant/bars on the property. The staff there was equally as accommodating as the desk staff. The food was good, with a large menu with many ethnic choices from local favorites to American, Korean and Thai. The Barefoot bar on the beach features a live band in the evenings and steaks and fish grilled to order. The Scallywags pool side bar & restaurant shares the same menu as Barefoot except for the grilled meat. All in all, a very nice spread with ample servings.
Breakfast choices included the American fare (eggs to order, bacon, sausage ect), to large fresh fruit plates. An additional recommendation is the fresh cocoanut water served right out of the cocoanut. A real treat in the morning!

The staff in Moby Dicks Bar was a lot of fun and was a great place to unwind if you wanted to stay close to the hotel.

The hotel had a shuttle service that would bring you into Olongapo and Burretto in the evenings. If you wanted a longer excursion and did not want to ride the trikes or Jeepneys, a pay taxi service was close at hand for your needs.

If you’re in Subic Bay for a couple of nights or an extended stay, I recommend this hotel. It is far above par for other resorts in the Baloy Beach/Barrio Burretto area of Subic.
Many thanks to the management and staff of the Wild Orchid Subic Bay for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

As we did not use the room of this resort, my review focuses on the food and service...
We went to his resort last January 5, together with my family (wife and kids) for a family bonding lunch. My wife had a high regard for this place since the last time she visited together with some friends, she told me that the food was very nice....
We arrived at around 1 pm..In normal instances, somebody should ask us if we wanted to eat or not....But nobody do this and we have to look for the waitress and told them that we wanted to have lunch..And note that only a handful of guest were present on the restaurant. We requested to be seated at the aircon room and order our food....It took almost an hour before food was served....Finally, food arrived and alas...after I tasted it, I lost my appetite. Even my wife was also dissappointed. The food taste terrible...We wanted to complain, but there was no personnel around. During the course of the meal, nobody even ask us if we need something...Since my family was quite hungry, so we just get a few bites and decided to just packed the foods...Again, we need to walk around to look for the resort personnel to take care of our our request...Even asking for our bill, we need to look for them...anyway, to summarize, I will never go back to this resort (for eating) and will never recommend to my friends...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank renepets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great value. This is truly a luxury resort. Quaint old world decor. Friendly, helpful staff. Every staff memeber gives a warm greeting with a smile. There us a beachside bar and restaurant with nightly barbecue and live music with a very talented band. I stay here often and would never stay anywhere else in Subic.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is the 2nd time we've stayed at this hotel/resort and we have always had a great experience. We splurge and pay a little extra for a beach front room and as far as we're concerned it's well worth the extra expense. Just feet away from Captain Rob's Bare Foot bar with 24 hour service and a terrific view of the bay from the patio in front of your room. A perfect place to have a brewed coffee and Tanduay and mango juice in the morning.I find the personnel friendly and helpful and the service excellent. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and clean.
I would absolutely recommend staying at this hotel

Room Tip: It didn't bother us, but if you get a beach front room, it may be noisy from the bar as the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

After paying at the lobby for the said cost, they called us and asking for additional 1000 pesos for extra bed, but before going to our room, we said and they knew that what we paid for is already with extra bed. Room rates are high, no exhaust in the bathroom, no freebies like toothpaste and brush. Good thing it has a pool and a billiards that gives some extra enjoyment. 24 hours bar and kitchen. Lady staff were not smiling and you can see in their faces except for the boy staff - they will greet you. Overall, not good to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avlisnerraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went there with no reservation. Receptionist were unclear when giving prices. As if they just want money. I told them that I will be booking for 3 adults and 1 11year old boy with one extra bed. the receptionist said I have to pay PHP3400 for the room for 2 pax, additional php2000 for 2 person, WHAT?! It is a rule that kids below 12 years old are free. Good thing my boyfriend read their rates, PHP1000/extra person another PHP1000/additional bed.

Everything else was fine except for the following.

-no exhaust in the bathroom
-no free toothbrush/toothpaste
-no free breakfast

Meal might be expensive (approx. PHP250)but their serving was big.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nathalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subic Bay Freeport Zone
2.6 mi away
Court Meridian Hotel
Court Meridian Hotel
#2 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
251 reviews
5.8 mi away
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
#4 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
509 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vista Marina Hotel and Resort
Vista Marina Hotel and Resort
#3 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Mangrove Resort Hotel
#2 of 18 in Olongapo
171 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Subic
Best Western Plus Hotel Subic
#5 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
135 reviews
2.7 mi away
Subic Bay Venezia Hotel
Subic Bay Venezia Hotel
#9 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic Bay

Address: Baloy Long Beach | Barrio Barretto, Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Price Range: $68 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic Bay Hotel Subic Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing