We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to do”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Subic Holiday Villas
Quezon City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not much to do”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed in Subic Holiday Villas during the first week of August 2011. Our commments are:

1. Positive - Place is fairly secluded and quiet, yet is fairly close (l to 3 kilometers away) to the shopping, eating and entertainment centers inside the Subic free port zone.

- Ample parking space.

- Friendly and helpful staff.

- Big swimming pool.

- Kitchen facilities (small refrigerator, microwave, oven toaster, water heater, eating utensils) were adequate. Air conditioner worked well.

2, Negative - Receptionists lack basic knowledge about travel attractions and directions.
Moreover, the only map of Subic Free Port Zone that they could provide one was a very sketchy, one-page mimeographed one. Detailed, colored maps (standard in all major tourist destinations here and abroad) were not available. In the words of one receptionist: "they were running out of stock".

- We paid around US $100 a daily for our time share vacation. For that amount, though, the studio room was small and pretty basic/spartan. Although I was previously assured of a bed good for two persons, what was provided was a cramped queen bed. The two lounge chairs and tables provided were old and unattractive. The clothes cabinet was small and had only one lower and one upper shelf. The two table lamps beside our bed were not very illuminating. TV reception was grainy and jerky. To top it all, we could use our telephone only for room-to-room calls. One had to go to the reception desk at the lobby to make outside calls (l5 pesos, or 35 US cents, for local calls).

- Wi-fi service was limited to the main lobby area and in the lobby of the annex building where we stayed. More chairs and tables should have been provided in both sites. In the annnex building lobby, only one chair and table was provided. (The table is so low that one has to hunch over to see his laptop monitor.) Across the lobby was a single bench, but no table. (I pitied the two old Caucasians who were bent over their laptops that were literally sitting on their laps.) Another problem: MOSQUITOES. A mosquito killing machine or electric fan should be provided in the lobby areas.

- Other than swimmming in the pool, not much to do in the resort. Maybe a game room with table tennis and pool tables could be set up. Also, why not consider basketball and tennis courts?

- Difficult to move around the free port unless you bring your own transport.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank asterQuezonCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    22
    22
    16
    12
See reviews for
47
8
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed in this hotel on 12 June 2011 with my family of 4 in a 2-bedroom suite. The place is in a far away corner of the town. They provide a set menu breakfast and dinner. The rooms are ok, clean. Being in a far away corner of the town, however, one does not have access to amenities outside of the hotel. They provided a coffee kettle in the room but the problem was that there was no tea or coffee sachet/sugar/milk. They never provided these small things that make vacation a pleasure, saying that these were not in my contract. This callousness reminded me of the story of pound of flesh without a drop of blood in Shakespeare's The Merchant of Venice. The hotel never mentioned that guests have to bring their own tea/coffee. My room tariff was fully paid in advance but the worst part of the story was that as I was checking out on 13 June morning, I was asked to pay an additional 5% of the total charge without showing any reason, saying that this was their practice. Will not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdebnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Subic Bay Freeport Zone hotels

Antipolo City, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

My company hold its conference in this hotel, they had a huge conference area. I really appreciate the fact that the rooms are specious. rates is reasonable and staff are friendly.

hotel is just 5 mins from the convention center.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laleebee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Stayed twice in a span of 6 months and I think they could improve. Nothing much to complain about but rather I would give them some pointers on areas on improve on:
1) Knowledgeable front office staff. Needs improvement.

2) Better Cable TV transmission. One feels like having pirated analog cable signal. Grainy reception

3) Better restaurant. Seems like restaurant is seasonal. Complimentary dinner ALWAYS consist of the fish dish.

4) Wifi coverage. Make it cover the whole hotel not just the lobby.

Overall, rooms are quite nice and roomy or at least for the one bedroom suite we booked on both occasion. Pool are perfect for families with young kids. Also, nice quiet location but near everything.

Will stay here unless I can book at the Subic Yacht Club (but this is another story).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grouchalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulacan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Subic holiday VillaS

Pros:
good location, near cbd, but hidden enough for some peace n quiet

rooms are large, we got the one bedroom suite...it was huge with 2 bathrooms

big ginormous pools, kids love it as the kiddie pool is sooo big

great facade, fairly new

Cons:
Bathroom grime

if not for the size i would say overpriced

if they got a rating of first class,they should have at least gotten better bathroom fixtures, the bathroom towel bar fell off when i got the towels...within the first 5 mins in the room

the front desk clerks should be more knowledgeable...first they dont know much about where to go, where to eat..roads...second the quoted the wrong price of the room. Good thing the second more tenured one doublechecked...only when i corrected that the amount was way over their published rates!

food is blahhhhnnnndddd and overpriced...you would rather eat out.

Overall, rather unproblematic stay...im kinda grossed out by the bathroom grime but if u r ok with it then its good enough again its a bit too pricey.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barlowgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subic
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

1. Asked their own front guard if this is the entrance to the address and he gave us the wrong directio en
2. Coordination with sales office in Manila and hotel is screwed up.
2. No one welcomes guests
3. Complementary dinner is fish (no other option because it depends on the chef's discretion). When you asked the waiter what kind of fish, they do not know.
4. Corkage on food you will bring is based on the value of the food. Order a food for 1000, you will pay the hotel 1000 too
5. TV is grainy, you cannot even watch local channels like GMA as it was not clear. There is no ABS CBN
6. Toilet is dirty, shower is clogged but there is hot water
7. Doors kept on banging so you cant sleep well
8. You can hear people talking from the other room
No wonder why they have lots of vacancies

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hadrianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sta. Rosa, Laguna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

Almost all the really good hotels in Subic were all fully-booked and stumbled upon this cozy little place. It was difficult to find the official website of the place. I already booked via Travel Agent (Remspec Inc.) -- who never followed-up diligently on our booking, but called our home following us up when we are already settled in our room! When booking, please visit official website at www.subicholidayvillas.com not the .net one.

Anyway, since Remspec did a bad job, we didn't get the one-bedroom suite on the 2nd floor of Villa Cecilia. We instead got on just right beside the lobby. My first concern was if it were going to be noisy with all the action at the pool and lobby. It wasn't that noisy and glad to have the WIFI accessible in our room! Others crowd the lobby for WIFI signal. :)

Service was generally good except this one isolated incident: a kid (imagine a 6 yo!) pulled off the spout from the juice dispenser inside the dining hall spilling the slimy mango juice. Our family driver slipped because of it. I complained to the F&B manager (the hotel manager was on leave) because of their lack of immediate response to the incident and super slow cleaning of the area. They did not offer free lodging for our driver (Driver's quarters are P650 a night).

Now the complimentary food: you get complimentary breakfast and dinner. Both are buffet and serve typical Filipino and Chinese food. If buying a buffet for extra person, it's P500. I say, it's not worthe the P500. I'd rather eat at the Lighthouse Sands al Fresco Resto and avail of the P650 grill on the spot buffet. But complimentary is complimentary. :) Just don't buy extra.

Location is very near Royal Subic Mall, Starbucks, Pure Gold Duty Free, and Nike Factory outlet store, and the exit to SCTEX. :) Location was convenient although a bit far from the beach.

All these said together with other experiences, I would still recommend this to families because it's really good value for money. You get what you pay for. :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachertwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Subic Bay Freeport Zone hotels
2.2 mi away
Subic Park Hotel
Subic Park Hotel
#14 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.9 mi away
Court Meridian Hotel
Court Meridian Hotel
#3 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.6 mi away
Subic Bay Venezia Hotel
Subic Bay Venezia Hotel
#9 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
#5 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Subic
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Subic
#4 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.0 mi away
Seorabeol Grand Leisure Hotel
Seorabeol Grand Leisure Hotel
#15 of 26 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Subic Holiday Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Subic Holiday Villas

Property: Subic Holiday Villas
Address: George Dewey Convention Center Complex | Kalayaan Heights, Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Luzon 2209, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Subic Holiday Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Subic Holiday Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Subic Holiday Villas Hotel Subic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing