We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambience, a 'service'oriented staff..............”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grande Island Resort
Luzon, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ambience, a 'service'oriented staff..............”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My 1st time to go to Grande Island Resort...easty 2 get to (coming from Pangasinan). As soon as we arrived, the staff came up and grabbed our luggage, gave us chairs to sit on as we waited for the ferry to depart. ..WiFi connection immediately ON. It doesn't stop @the entrance, as we landed we were given a WELCOME juice....then proceeded to our rooms.
We were with the Rotaract group of youth leadership, from all over Luzon. The Rotarians are well trained in the sponsorship, settng up the agendas, and of course bringing in some 'artists' from GMA.
Aaahhhh.....the swimming pool is super large, with a lifeguard. The staff are @your service, riding on their ATV or bicycles HELPING the guests with directions to all the different areas as this resort has: banana boats, billiards, bunkers, rooms with coffee, refs, HOT shower, hair dryer....verandas where one can soak up CLEAN air and hear birds chirping.....DON'T MISS THIS~~~~~~~~~~~~ aloha, VenJie

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    28
    10
    16
See reviews for
26
10
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

After boarding the ferry from Subic, you set out for 45 minute ferry ride to Grande Island. The ferry there is nice, clean and fast.

Once on Grande Island you are free to partake in unlimited water towable rides! From Banana boats to blow up donuts, you are towed around the water sports area. The guys operating these rides are helpful and make sure you are having fun.

For extra charge you can rent ATV's and go around the island. We rented 2 and a guide took us around the island. This was about an hour and really cool. We went through areas with a lot of trees and even out on private beaches.

The resort looked like it needed a little sprucing up but we were only there for the day. Perfect place for water fun, island exploration on ATV's and lunch.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LizaKline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valenzuela, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

when the ferry touchdown the grande island resort.i remember all the bad comments in this place.and i proved right...no more no less..what should i do?? well just enjoy the sun.air and the trees..and after we left the place..i told to my friends that i will never go back at this GRANDE ISLAND RESORT again...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamfujiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Subic Bay Freeport Zone hotels

Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 555 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We went to Grande island in a group, and stayed overnight. After reading some negative blog reviews on the net, I was apprehensive. However the place was excellent, much to my pleasant surprise

It cost us 4,400 pesos for the chalet (overnight stay + breakfast + ferry from waterfront road) and I will say it was worth it.

1) Booking -
You can book either through their Manila office or Subic office on water front road (Tel : 7065501 to 04 / +639 178738777 or (02) 7065694 to 97). On weekends - especially in summer and during sunny skies it is better to book in advance as they are often fully booked.

Their office is on water front road - NOT on Grande island itself

We were lucky to go there on a free day so we booked directly in the SBMA office in the morning.

2) Getting there - a ferry boat (free) leaves for grande island from the SBMA water front road office at 10 am. Sometimes they have another one in the afternoon. You can also take a bangka from Baretto (1000 pesos).

3) Cottages -
There are chalets that you can rent for the day (for day trippers) or overnight. I would suggest staying here overnight, as the place becomes very peaceful once the day trippers leave. The chalets (see the photo I have posted) are comfortable, with soft beds, hot / cold water shower, a sit out (which is the best part, as you can relax there sipping tea, coffee or beer).

When we were here, it started to rain, which was fantastic, as it became cool and crisp. We did away with the beers and enjoyed nice cups of coffee and tea, sitting in the sit out beside our room. There are a lot of trees in the vicinity (thank God no mosquitoes!) and so we had the comfort of a rain forest orchestra.

4) What to do

Most people prefer to relax and play along the small beach (white sand, clean), which is what some of our group people did. But the rest of us preferred to explore the island - which is in my opinion the better activity here. The walking trails are well made, and clear. There is a good canopy of trees so even during the sunshine it does not feel hot. Midway it started raining, which made the trail even better as it was cool. It is not slippery - just remember to wear closed walking shoes. A slow walk takes you to the naval battery (well preserved, with a fresh coat of white paint) which also has good views of the island.

Unfortunately the snorkeling along the island itself (close to the pier) was not great - there were some parrot fish and some colourful fish like blue damsels, but the corals are dead and bleached.

Chiquita island - there is another island called Chiquita island in the southern part, but it is approachable (by walking in the shallow water - remember to bring rubber slippers) only when the sea is not rough, so we did not try this. Our boat man told us that the snorkeling here is better.

You can find more details and photos on my blog here - http://subicbayphils.blogspot.com/

Remember -
1) The food in the resort is a bit on the expensive side - it is a good idea to bring your own fruits, soft drinks and some snacks.
2) The tariff includes only breakfast - it does not include lunch / dinner.
3) Bring along good walking shoes, rubber sandals, shorts and full pyjamas (for the trails or just walking along the island, I suggest wearing pyjamas and walking shoes, and carrying your shorts and rubber sandals in a back pack, with water, of course)

Shops close by -

By the way, there is a 7-eleven 2 minutes from the water front road office where you take the boat, where they sell snacks, coffee, soft drinks, beer, etc - it is near the Sao Roque church. There is also a ministop at Subic plaza building - just 5 minutes from the water front road office (along the same path) which has rice meals. For fruits - you would need to pick them up either from SM Olongapo or the Olongapo public market or Pure Gold or Royal (in SBMA)

How to reach Subic SBMA / Grande island water front road office and jetty -

If you are coming to Olongapo by bus (Victory liner from Manila), you can either take a taxi direct from the Victory liner bus stand to water front road (300 pesos, seats 9 people) or take a yellow jeepney to SM / main gate (9 pesos per head) and walk it up from there (15 -20 minutes leisurely walk through the ex navy base)

If coming by car, use SCTEX from Manila / Angeles, come into SBMA, through Pure gold junction - Park and shop junction - left turn - pass via Spanish gate - takes you to water front road. There is adequate parking space next to the jetty / water front road office (located next to the casino)

Room Tip: The houses on the further end of the island - north western edge - near the light house - are more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank New_YLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I had the opportunity of staying at the Grande Island Resort for a work team building event. To get to the resort you must use the ferry which seems run down and not well maintained. It's okay though, if it sinks it will spare you the night that YOU MUST spend on the island since you cannot escape once you're there. The "resort" centers around a large pool and man made lake. However the lake appeared to be missing water so it was actually a puddle. Walking to your room you get to witness two horses tied to a tree with their bones/ribs showing and there's quite a lot of litter. Usually the remnants of the team building that has just departed. Rooms were shabby and the toilet was awful. Photo's included.

Other "facilities" that are available are:

Soccer pitch - Two sets of goalposts randomly tossed on a piece of land strewn with litter.
Banana Boat - No they will not let you use it to ride back to the mainland.
Billiards Room - This has two tables which appear to have been used for ice skating given the huge number of tears in the cloth. It would be difficult to play a shot given the room is also used as a shed.

Worst resort I have ever stayed in. Thankfully only for one night.

The plus points... Homemade cookies were nice and the aircon worked.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mowzertron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Not much to brag about. Rates are high against service. Rooms were clean but aircon not working well and the sink is all clogged up. Food was ok. Beer is expensive. Pool was nice and warm. Beach was itchy.

Would think twice before i go back. Maybe after renovation.

Room Tip: forgot our room number but check the aircon and rest rooms first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakwatsero612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I was here when it was newly opened several years ago and the excuse was that it was bad necause it was newly opened. It's now even worse. Very disorganized check-in, their ferry seems to be poorly maintained. Food was unsanitary, literally a hairy experience. Rooms were dirty and all the poor harassed but hard working staff had was a dirty rag and cleaning solution. They use the same rag to wipe the toilet and your tables. Yuk!

Room Tip: Just don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FilipinoBusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Subic Bay Freeport Zone hotels
0.1 mi away
Court Meridian Hotel
Court Meridian Hotel
#2 of 27 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
240 reviews
4.1 mi away
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
#5 of 27 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Subic
Best Western Plus Hotel Subic
#4 of 27 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vista Marina Hotel and Resort
Vista Marina Hotel and Resort
#3 of 27 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Subic Park Hotel
Subic Park Hotel
#12 of 27 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
157 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic Bay
Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic B...
#15 of 27 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Island Resort

Property: Grande Island Resort
Address: Waterfront Road | Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 319
Also Known As:
Grande Island Hotel Subic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing