We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place for short trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing place for short trip”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is we'll maintained and very nice . The beach is clean and tidy . The hotel staff is friendly the only challenge I had was to get my food bill corrected at the hotel since that had put a wrong bill of 11k on my room for the date when I had not even checked in to the hotel .

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mrinalw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    216
    128
    50
    30
See reviews for
316
59
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

There is so much to like about this place but there is also so much to hate. Their staff is well trained, courteous and very helpful. Unfortunately, it stops there and I am so desperate to like this place if only for the staff. The first thing that will annoy you about Camayan is that they have a lot of infrastructure eating into the beachfront. So while they may have hundreds and hundreds of rooms, there really isn't much space on the beach considering the price that you pay for. It does not help too that bulk of their beach front is occupied by these large nipa huts that are rented out to the public who are not staying in the hotel. So while they try their best to make their resort more high end, they also delve into cheap tactics of overselling their beach including a P500 fee for having your photograph taken with a sea lion. The beach is also a little on the dodgy side as the view is ruined by big boats from a nearby commercial pier. The food is the worst. There are no restaurants nearby and so you are forced to pay atrocious prices for a big mound of rice with limited proteins and an abundance of not-so fresh vegetables that you can get in any eatery in Manila. There seems to be few options for seafood, and even fewer options for local fare. While their staff is dedicated and amiable and run a very tight ship and keep the place almost immaculate, the management and owners of this hotel seem to be a little on the desperate side, overselling their patrons leisure and relaxation that the resort cannot provide.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank qtpiegollywow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Subic Bay Freeport Zone hotels

Winter Park, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Perhaps my American definition of "resort" colored my Filipino experience of this "resort." It is NOT a resort by American standards in any way, shape, or form. The price did not reflect the experience- meaning it was overpriced for what you got. Rooms are clean- though the cigarette ashes from the last person using the balcony was not exactly wonderful given I hate and am allergic to cigarette smoke. The beach atmosphere was nice- the screaming children and over abundance of families were not. All of this being said, they allowed my group and I to remain on the beach into the late night time hours, which was probably my favorite part of the experience. Our waiter at the restaurant went out of his way to ensure we had a great dinner experience, and he succeeded with flying colors.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JetSkiFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

My family and I decided to celebrate my dad's birthday with the grandchildren by taking them to the beach, and since it is the super peak season, we had very few resorts within driving distance from Manila that are available. Since this is very close to the Ocean adventure, we decided to book rooms here. We were lucky enough to get deluxe rooms over a very busy weekend. There were a few company events being held in the resort during that same weekend. We arrived just before lunch time so we had to wait a couple of hours before we could get our rooms. The staff we polite and patient with clients who are asking them multiple times on when they can move into the rooms. I guess with the price they paid, there is a certain level of expectation to be met.
We left our bags and had lunch at the freeport zone and came back and our rooms were ready. The rooms were clean and well kept. I loved that we had a patio that also gives us easy access to the beach. The beach was clean and the waves were not that strong, so its quite safe for children to swim in. I loved that they had big clay vats filled with water on the walkway from the beach to the rooms, to wash off the sand from your legs.
My cousins and I had foot massages and the price was cheap (same price as Bangkok). I would have loved to have another one but they were fully booked for the timings that we had wanted another round.
The breakfast buffet in the restaurant was a bit disappointing in taste. And since it was facing the beach, there is a chance that the specks on your omelette are not black pepper, if you catch my drift. We also had lunch there because the kids didn't want to quit swimming until the afternoon. The taste of the food was so-so, and with that price we could have gotten a more satisfying meal in one of the restaurants in the freeport zone.
For the price we paid for that weekend accomodation, we had high expectations; and we were disappointed.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gbytes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We frequent stay in this hotel yearly since 2007, the beach view and garden view is usually our pick, but when we came this may its a shock, we checked in weekday at 10pm i asked the front desk if they could give us a time to enjoy the beach a late checked out but they denied us, ok fine my kids and i got the garden view when we entered the room it smelled mold the aircon isnt clean when i checked the cabinet saw the corner moldy wet area as if a water has been stagnant for weeks i then asked to be transfered to the new bldg, ro0m is ok it smelled ok, the breakfast buffet at the reef was chaotic, literally you would be swandering with some fly. Felt so sad how our fav. Place degraded, t

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We booked two rooms in Camayan Beach Resort. I can tell a lot of improvements since the last time I was here.

Pros:
- clean rooms
- beach area is clean (first visit, it was full of rubbish)
- friendly staffs
- beach toys for kids are available, reasonable price

Cons:
- defective miniref
- flies in dining area (hope the management can do something about this).

Tips:
- Don't feed the monkeys.
- Don't leave your valuables outside your room. Monkeys run really fast. =)

If you are looking for a short vacation near Manila, go here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanArcher21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

A good place to stay just 3 hours outside Metro Manila. They provide 20% entrance discount to Ocean Adventure which is just a carpark away from the resort.

Our room has 2 queen-sized beds but TV was a bit old. The have a minibar where you can store your food and refreshments. They have hot and cold shower and a bath tub.

For an overnight stay, they offer free breakfast buffet at their restaurant "The Reef". Their food is good. They have music bands that perform at night for entertainment. They have a gaming area near The Reef where you can play billiards and foosball (table football).

The beach offered clear calm waters in the morning and we really had a very relaxing swim, setting the Bataan and Zambales mountains as the perfect backdrop.

Be warned though, monkeys live within the area since the resort is situated near the rainforest. Every morning, these monkeys would visit the resort in groups to ransack any available food they find unattended in the verandas. Keep away from these animals as they are so used to human presence, but they're still wild and may attack when provoked. Do not feed the monkeys.

Overall, we had a pretty good stay at the resort. Their staff is accomodating and courteous. Given the chance, I'd probably return for another stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank jon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subic Bay Freeport Zone
4.2 mi away
Court Meridian Hotel
Court Meridian Hotel
#2 of 27 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
240 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Subic
Best Western Plus Hotel Subic
#4 of 27 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
131 reviews
4.2 mi away
Vista Marina Hotel and Resort
Vista Marina Hotel and Resort
#3 of 27 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic Bay
Wild Orchid Beach Resort Subic B...
#15 of 27 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
333 reviews
4.4 mi away
Subic Bay Venezia Hotel
Subic Bay Venezia Hotel
#9 of 27 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
135 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mangrove Resort Hotel
Mangrove Resort Hotel
#2 of 18 in Olongapo
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel

Property: Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
Address: Camayan Wharf | West Ilanin Forest Area, Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Luzon 2222, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Camayan Beach Resort, your escape destination where the forest meets the sandy shores of lovely Subic Bay. Relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery and natural environment. Or swim, snorkel, paddle, and peddle your way through a wide array of beach and forest activities. Next door discover a world of wonder at Ocean Adventure, the only open-water marine park in Southeast Asia. Join us for an unforgettable vacation. Escape today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camayan Beach Hotel Subic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing