We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but interesting - for adults and children”

Cold Spring Harbor Whaling Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the history of whaling, the importance of whale conservation, and Long Island maritime history at The Whaling Museum. See an authentic 19th C whaleboat, learn how scrimshaw was made, and touch real whale bones. Enjoy special programs, craft workshops, lectures, and films.
Huntington, NY
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“small but interesting - for adults and children”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

you do not need much time: there are only few rooms, but it is an interesting lesson in local history and the kids should enjoy the treasure hunt the museum offers for them

Helpful?
Thank hitulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    26
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Surly staff”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I visited the museum with friends from London and the staff behaved as though we were inconveniencing them by being there. I will not return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Llama11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Cold Spring Harbor Whaling Museum, responded to this review, October 28, 2016
Hello there -- thank you for posting your review. We're so sorry our staff did not welcome you warmly at the time! We have gone through some staff changes and were hopeful you might give our museum another chance to welcome you with complimentary admission. Please contact us at director@cshwhalingmuseum.org. We hope to 'sea' you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Good slice of nautical history.”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Go with the kids for a good idea about the whaling industry in the Cold Spring area.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank justgotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Syracuse, New York
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
242 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Interesting small museum.”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I found this museum on the computer while checking out aviation museums. Since the location wasn't far from the Cradle of Aviation and American Airpower Museums, a visit was possible.

The museum is a one story 4-5 room building. Outside is a landern and large anchor. Inside hanging from the ceiling is a dugout canoe, with the museum's main exhibit, a large 19th century whale boat, with original gear. Also many different tyoes of whale bones and the shull of a killer whale.

The museum has over 6000 objects and archival documents about whaling & maritime history of Cold Springs and Long Island.

The museum is very kid friendly, as several events are hosted just for kids. The day I visited, a large group of vkids were enjoying theirselves, possobly a birthday party. This made walking room to room a bit tight.

The museum is located on the slope of a hill, witha large white sign. If a visitor doesn't know the museum's excat location, they can easily drive by, which Idid. Parking is on the street.

A tour shouldn't last more than 30 minutes. I would have enjoyed the museum more and stayed longer if not fior so many children. If you are interested in whaling, marine life or some of Long Island's history, this museum maybe an interest to you.

Summer hours, 11:00-5:00 PM. Memorial Day to Labor Day.
Admission:
Adults $6.00.
Seniors $5.00.
Students 5-18 $5.00.
Children under 5- Free.

Jack L., Syracuse, New York.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great museum! Wonderful programs!”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I've been going to Whaling Museum for about a year now with my daughter. Even though it is small, there are some very interesting exhibits. Best of all though are the wonderful programs that are offered for children. Each month a variety of programs are offered including crafts, stories, camps, movies and even a haunted Whaling Museum at Halloween! The teachers there are all great and they make each visit fun.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ltencza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cold Spring Harbor Whaling Museum also viewed

 
Cold Spring Harbor, Huntington
 

Been to Cold Spring Harbor Whaling Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing