We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty breakfast with a pinch of "surly"”
Review of Pig Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cold Spring
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pig Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Cold Spring B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We can see why some reviewers below have been put off by "poor service," but the truth is the person who runs this inn seemed to us like a good, decent guy. He just doesn't give the kind of pampering, fawning service with a smile many are used to, and that might rub some people the wrong way.

But not us! We enjoyed our brief stay and would return again. The breakfast was pleasant and the woman who serves it is a real sweetheart. The town is beautifully located and worth a stop.

Room Tip: Take a look around first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weeebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 167 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Pig Hill Inn on our honeymoon in the Tranquility Room. We checked in rather late and had to be led by the innkeeper to our room over our cell phone, so we started off rather shakily. But things improved after that - a delicious spinach and Swiss cheese omelet the next morning with bacon and ham, plus fruit and muffins. The room was nice, a little cluttered, but clean and very comfortable bed with fireplace in room and large jacuzzi tub in nice bathroom. The inn keeper even gave us some wine and beer the next evening after we had a day out touring. The Inn is very close to several restaurants and walking is easy. I would return and would recommend this Inn.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank pottsofgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was a travel agent for 25 years and so we were largely traveling to far off places in Europe for 3 day jaunts. This delightful and refreshing little gem has all the comforts of home but gives a European feel. Even in the rain, it is romantic and just a great way to feel rejuvinated. Highly recommended

Room Tip: little noisy on the front street Vera makes it all happen, the manager can be grumpy, but work thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I were recently married in Cold Spring. We rented about 9 rooms at the Pig HIll Inn for friends and family. We also had stayed there on a visit to town.

The hotel is right on main street in a beautiful old building. The rooms vary in size, beds, and location as it is an older property. We stayed in a great room that even had a wood stove to take the chill out of the air when we visited in early spring.

The staff is also quite helpful. And breakfast is fantastic. None of this continental breakfast stuff. We had waffles with fresh fruite, great coffee, omelettes, etc. Really good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We just spent this past Sunday at the PHI. The inn is beautifully and tastefully decorated. Vera kindly let us check in three hours before the official check-in time (as the previous occupants had checked out early), then offered us delicious homemade blueberry pie in the afternoon. The next morning, a big complimentary breakfast was brought up to our room promptly at the time we requested.

The Tranquility Room was noisier than we'd hoped because it's right on the street, but was otherwise lovely and romantic. We're definitely planning another trip to PHI, but will stay in the Enchantment Room, which also has a jacuzzi but is located in the back, overlooking the garden.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chickenlegcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in August 2012.

The best thing about this place is the personal attention we got from Dave (manager/chef), Vera (owner), and the other staff. Everyone was friendly and went out of their way to help with anything that would make our stay better.

This is a cozy place jammed full of antiques. Every room has its own distinct design theme. We were in room #2 Victorian Elegance. This room had dark green wallpaper and is full of dark furniture and a wood burning stove.

There are so many antiques in this room that it was hard to find a place to open our suitcases and unpack. The bathroom is also antique:
* bathtub on feet with a flimsy shower curtain -- everything works well, and they expect you to get the floor wet.
* toilet that flushes like you'd expect in an antique house -- you have to hold the handle for at least 10 seconds to make sure that it will really flush

The bed was very comfortable, the A/C worked well and the two small windows overlooked the side garden.

Breakfast was good but not gourmet. The bread, muffins, and rolls all seemed to be basic supermarket items. There are many great local bakeries in this area -- it would be a nice upgrade if they had better baked products.

Room Tip: we heard that the best rooms are on 3rd floor -- we'll try that next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shakespeare_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the Inn for 2 nights in August. The location is wonderful. Central to many of the sights in the Hudson Valley. The town is lovely - with a beautiful view of the river. The Inn was okay, but not what we had hoped. The common area is very dark and not particularly welcoming. The check in procedure is somewhat strange - you enter the in through a retail shop. We had a little rain while we were there and it would have been nice to be able to sit and read somewhere other than our room. The room was fine - but not memorable. Breakfast was ok, but again not anything special. Weak coffee!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slepthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cold Spring
2.8 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
1,031 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Fishkill
Hampton Inn Fishkill
#2 of 14 in Fishkill
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
7.4 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pig Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pig Hill Inn

Address: 73 Main St, Cold Spring, NY 10516-3014
Location: United States > New York > Cold Spring
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cold Spring
Price Range: $170 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pig Hill Hotel Cold Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing