We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Review of Hudson House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cold Spring
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hudson House Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Cold Spring B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My fiance and I wanted a little weekend getaway for his birthday so we chose to relax, eat, drink, and celebrate peacefully at the Hudson House Inn.

The rooms were pretty much what we expected for a 175 year old Inn but Room #6 was very clean and well kept. The Main Street terrace was very small but it had a chair and enough room to step out and enjoy the cool breeze on a sunny day. It had a screen door so we left the door open while we were in the room since the weather was perfect! The hot water took a while to come on and felt just warm most of the time in the shower but the pressure was good. The ceiling fan did not seem sturdy and made a loud clicking noise when we turned it on so we left it off. The TV was old but that was to be expected. The staff was very friendly and helpful!

The Hudson House Restaurant was amazing! I didn't realize it was such a popular place but you wouldn't know it until you went downstairs and opened the door into the space. While we were in our room it was very quiet and peaceful, but while in the restaurant the service was great, the jazz music (like Frank Sinatra) in the background was soothing, and the specials were delicious. The Hudson House specialties like the Blueberry Pancakes and Bananas Foster are a must. The NY Strip steak was perfect and the Lobster Mac and Cheese was YUMMY! My favorite dessert was the Flour-less Chocolate Cake! We had brunch after we checked out, before we left to head home and it was worth it!

The Main Street strip is only a block and a half away so that was all the activity we needed for our relaxing weekend. We explored some of antiques shops and a cafe that I will mention in a separate review. All in all, this was our second B&B and better than the first for sure so we'll be back! Being conveniently located near the Cold Springs Metro North train station made it easy to get to after work from the city (in a little over an hour) on a Friday and helped to avoid driving and rush hour traffic.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anitam79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    24
    12
    15
See reviews for
16
60
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I visited Hudson House in February for a winter weekend getaway. Fantastic service, lovely room and a comfortable bed with a great view of Main Street and the Hudson - ice on the river and a morning sunrise view. Susan and Mina were very knowledgeable of the area - recommended some great hikes and top notch local restaurants. Plus, it's hard to beat the plate of double chocolate cookies hovering nearby as you walk up to your room. Come up Friday night, have a fabulous dinner in the inn's dining room (excellent fish and meat dishes), try the killer blueberry pancakes Saturday morning as you watch ice and seagulls drift down the Hudson and stop by the farmer's market for some of the best local goods around.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This was an anniversary weekend. We love Cold Spring off season. This was our first time staying overnight. The staff was very friendly and are very hospitality aware. I mentioned a bad nights sleep because of high winds and a nearby flag pole clanging all night and the staff made an adjustment on our bill without our asking them to do so. The inn is very old and historic which can be seen on the first floor, Old floorboards. The rooms have been renovated over the years and lack any historic charm. However, the furniture was antique, the bed in room 4 was a great rather new sleigh bed. Linens are top notch. Bathrooms are ok. A great breakfast is included. Ask for a room overlooking the river. There are trains around, but stop running around 12. We happen to enjoy the sound.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyLW137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My girlfriend surprised me with a much needed, yet unexpected getaway for New Years Eve. We traveled a bit north to a place I had never been along the river opposite West Point. From the moment we entered the Hudson House Hotel/Restaurant I knew we were in for a great night. The place is amazing, 100+ year old Historic Hotel with 2 very different but equally enjoyable dining areas. We had a fantastic 4 course pre-set dinner overlooking the river, as well as a great bottle of red wine. Before heading upstairs for the night, we spent a bit of time in their Tavern style area to enjoy the fireplace and holiday décor. Our accommodations were perfect - a cozy room on the 3rd floor overlooking the river, comfortable bed, and to my surprise plenty of TV channels to choose from! Not the usual 1-20 you find in many hotels. Pancakes and coffee in the morning was the perfect end to a fantastic little getaway! Looking forward to another trip when the weather cooperates a bit more! Would gladly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CBS1578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had always wanted to splurge for a weekend at the Hudson House Inn so when we ended up staying in that area we scheduled a night, WOW! WHAT A LET DOWN AND A RIP OFF! We were not only dissapointed but also angry to be charged what we were for bare bones of a room. Our room was basically "attic" provisions. We were on third floor - it must have been an attic at some time....the room was tiny...14 inches or so on either side of the bed and a bath....that was it!!!!! There were curtians on only one window - a shade actually. There were wide gaps between the windows and the wall....if it had been winter or hot summer it would have been more than uncomfortable as the heating/cooling would not have been regulated. There were dead bugs on the floor as well....in the corners. The food at the inn was ok......but not worth the price and nothing special. What a dissapointment. I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money...there is nothing here I can recommend...although Cold spring is a lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluecrow1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We used the Hudson House for our rehearsal dinner, day after brunch, and as a hotel for our guests. In each capacity they were fantastic.

The private room was the perfect spot to host a rehearsal dinner and our guests raved about the food. Was hoping for the day after brunch to be a low-key, stop in whenever you want kind of morning. They made it sure it was exactly that. 2 different kind of events but both worked really well there.

As an inn it is obviously a small space (13 rooms I believe). However, everything was clean and well appointed. It is such a cute town with so much charm it was great for out of state guests. The suites were great for people who wanted more room.

Mina Park handled our inn reservations and meals and did a great job in doing so. She was out of work for a few weeks and even during that time we made a seamless transition to and from another manager without any issues.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimes33m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Everything was very clean, sunny and cozy. The staff was really nice and helpful. Great stay. The food was also excellent. The continental breakfast was more than exceptional...fresh fruit, with yogurt and granola wasn't your bland melon, but fresh giant raspberries and blueberries. The hostess/bartender was really nice and we enjoyed spending some time at the bar. Overall, a fantastic night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugarbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cold Spring
2.7 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
953 reviews
8.9 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
209 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
320 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Roundhouse
The Roundhouse
#1 of 1 in Beacon
172 reviews
5.5 mi away
No photo provided
Countryside Motel
#1 of 1 in Cold Spring
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson House Inn

Property: Hudson House Inn
Address: 2 Main St, Cold Spring, NY 10516-3202
Location: United States > New York > Cold Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cold Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This old inn began doing business in 1832. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hudson House Hotel Cold Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing