We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding weekend/Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hudson House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cold Spring
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hudson House Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Cold Spring B&B and Inns
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding weekend/Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We used the Hudson House for our rehearsal dinner, day after brunch, and as a hotel for our guests. In each capacity they were fantastic.

The private room was the perfect spot to host a rehearsal dinner and our guests raved about the food. Was hoping for the day after brunch to be a low-key, stop in whenever you want kind of morning. They made it sure it was exactly that. 2 different kind of events but both worked really well there.

As an inn it is obviously a small space (13 rooms I believe). However, everything was clean and well appointed. It is such a cute town with so much charm it was great for out of state guests. The suites were great for people who wanted more room.

Mina Park handled our inn reservations and meals and did a great job in doing so. She was out of work for a few weeks and even during that time we made a seamless transition to and from another manager without any issues.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimes33m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    33
    23
    9
    15
See reviews for
14
56
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Everything was very clean, sunny and cozy. The staff was really nice and helpful. Great stay. The food was also excellent. The continental breakfast was more than exceptional...fresh fruit, with yogurt and granola wasn't your bland melon, but fresh giant raspberries and blueberries. The hostess/bartender was really nice and we enjoyed spending some time at the bar. Overall, a fantastic night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugarbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I loved the location and that you could walk to the train - it was like two blocks! The rooms were lovely, and I had a great read before a restful sleep. The only downside was seeing the results of renovation over the years, although I understand that a limited budget means having to make choices. The staff was excellent and helpful. The breakfast the next morning was fancy! Started off with a warm muffin, fresh fruit, then a yoghurt parfait in a martini glass! The absolute best part, though was the tiniest. They had set up a pitcher with spigot with iced water and some lemons. It was the most refreshing thing after a nice hike in the area! There were also some delicious chocolate cookies.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cecesimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We chose to stay at Hudson House Inn for a night, to go to the Shakespeare Theater in Garrison. To be honest, choices in the area are limited, and this seemed like the one with the most charm.

It was a grand old place in its day, and the wear and tear shows in many nooks and crannies. But it was over all comfortable and quiet, and the staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was wonderful, and weather permitted us a table on the porch looking out over the river, so that was a bonus.

We had a room with a little porch ion the second floor, so it was fun to sit and watch the world go by and drink a glass of wine in the evening and coffee in the AM.

It's pricey for what it is now, but again: those limited choices.

Room Tip: Choose one with a balcony/porch on the river side to get at least a little of the old world charm th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night over the Labour Day weekend. We arrived early and our room was not ready, fair enough. The receptionist took our number and said she would call us if it was ready early, we didn't get a call so went back at 3:00. I fail to understand when check out is at 11:00, why it takes four hours to service the rooms. We had a river view, which would have been fine if you could actually see out of the very small windows, one of which had an AC unit installed. The room was very small with nowhere to hang clothes or place suitcases out of the way and only one chair in a room for two people. Dinner in the restaurant was very expensive and we waited almost one hour from the time of placing our order to actually getting our meal. Not recommended and would certainly not go back. Free wi-fi, but only on the first floor, nothing in the rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor which has a terrace, there is nowhere to sit in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishyLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford area, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked almost a week in advance. Got there and was not given the room we asked for (Queen), instead were given a full sized bed. The A/C is the room barely worked and since the room was on the 3rd floor, it was hot. The bed, RICKETY. The room itself old and just overall yucky. They should be ashamed of what they are asking $180 a night for. Although the error was theirs, all we got was an apology, since there were no other rooms available. You would think they would offer a free drink in the bar, free dessert, % off coupon for food... something. I DO NOT RECOMMEND. However, the town itself is cute.

Room Tip: AWFUL room. Don't waste your $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pnsy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed here a few weekends ago and really loved it!

We wanted to stay in Cold Spring as a little getaway from the city while also visiting family in the area.

First off, the staff was excellent. We were warmly greeted and shown to our room, with complimentary cookies on the way up!

They really have an amazing location right on the Hudson River. The building is very old, there is some historical information when you first walk into the foyer, with images of the original building. Somewhere in the early 1800's it was built,( I believe the 1830's?) and it still looks lovely.

We booked a river view room. The room was bright, sunny and very clean. Something that is very important to us both. Our room was also quaint and charming, the bed was a queen size, it was pretty comfortable and so were the pillows. The view of the river was wonderful!

We had dinner there on the last night of our stay. Our waitress was friendly and attentive and very helpful with suggestions. What a kitchen! We ordered the porter house - to die for- with a side of sweet potato casserole and asparagus YUM! I know this is for inn reviews so I will save the rest of the dinner details for their restaurant review!

There is a delicious complementary breakfast each morning, we were able to eat out on the veranda and look out at the Hudson. It was such a pleasant experience! The room was lovely, the staff was cheerful, and our stay was excellent. We will definitely be back! We aim to reserve a room with a balcony or terrace on our next excursion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cold Spring
2.7 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
8.9 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
8.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Poughkeepsie/Fishkill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson House Inn

Property: Hudson House Inn
Address: 2 Main St, Cold Spring, NY 10516-3202
Location: United States > New York > Cold Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cold Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This old inn began doing business in 1832. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hudson House Hotel Cold Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing