We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for Thanksgiving”
Review of Hudson House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cold Spring
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hudson House Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Cold Spring B&B and Inns
New York
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Thanks for Thanksgiving”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Arrived way early for our reservation (our fault) and waited 15 mins past reservation time...only because staff does the most bizarre seating program of predetermining reservation tables for the whole restaurant ahead of time..so that we were the first 6:30 two top to arrive and the last 6:30 of all to seat.

Besides that we were comped our first drinks which was totally appropriate but unexpected. Side note: we remained calm and enjoyed chatting before dinner and were determined to not mind waiting. So the wine was a great unexpected treat.

When we were met by the most delightful server (sweet brunette with short hair) our night was set and everything forgotten.

Delicious meal, great (awesome) service, plenty of food, and a real Thanksgiving dinner. Above our expectations.

Thank you for a great Thanksgiving experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SarahSesaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    24
    12
    15
See reviews for
16
61
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings on Hudson
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our hosue was hit by Sandy and we needed a night out to let the tree people rmeove the oak from the roof (ouch!). All hotels in 20 mile radius were booked with others like us running for shelter from damaged homes. I recalled Hudson House Inn where we had spent a nice weekend a few years back and made a direct call. They had room overlooing the Hudson, with a veiw of West Point, We went, It was loverly, Prix Fix dinner for $33 was terrriic,. As was the chocolate cookies by the stairs on the way up to the room. Would do it again though it is 40 miles from our home.

Room Tip: Room 9 waa great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahesh39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This National Register of Historic Places hotel was built in 1832, which is good news/bad news. It has been fairly well maintained w/in the constraints of the designation. Not surprisingly, the A/C is really poor and very noisy, the rooms are tiny, really tiny, but it has a great location right on the Hudson River at one of the most picturesque viewing sites imaginable.

The rooms are the smallest I have stayed in, except for an ashram in central India. The walkway around the bed is the smallest I have ever seen and there is just NO other space except in the bathroom or the closet. Housekeeping was not good - there was a condom wrapper and a script for a play "The Champ" (not kidding, really...) under the bed. The downstairs outside door was not secure as it could not be closed to latching from the inside. The room "value" was low. There is WiFi only on first floor near the restaurant.

The restaurant is very good; the crabcakes and the CA avocado/turkey sandwich were exceptional. Bkfst was "healthy omelette" which was very good.

Room Tip: Get the largest room you can - it will still be small. Street is not noisy at night. Generally qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeuroscienceYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The woman who checked me in was very thoughtful and accomodating. However, the remainder of the stay was a disappointment. The building is in desperate need of a major renovation and the room wasn't particularly clean. The window a/c unit was barely adequate to cool the room. The public areas of the inn were very warm. Breakfast didn't begin until 8:30am, which is far too late when you are a traveler. No employees were on site after about 9:00pm which I found somewhat disconcerting. It could be a charming place, but someone needs to spend the money to get it into shape.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank C0rgiL0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The positives are a great responsive staff both for the inn in general and for the restaurant at both breakfast and dinner. From the website we had gotten the impression this inn was on the river with private property to relax on. Instead it is on a street corner across from the Village square. Our room was not clean, the bathroom was almost completely outdated, and some things were simply in bad condition (baseboard pulled away from the wall, stains in the bathtub, carpet stains, fraying towels. The bedding was fine. If it were not for the gracious and as accomodating as possible staff I would be giving this a terrible rating.
Highly recommend the dining room for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cold Spring hotels

Brooklyn
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Breakfast and service were great. Didn't eat dinner at their restaurant, but it always seemed busy during our 2-night stay. The inn is right on the Hudson River with lots of nice public spaces. This does mean noise though especially when it's nice out. One night, a group of people who chatting away under our window, which they are allowed to do, but there was little to keeping their boisterous voices out of the room.

The biggest disappointment was simply the building itself. It's really rundown. The small room: peeling wallpaper, dirty carpet, stained duvet cover (the bed was quite comfy though), cracked too-low sink, the too-high mirror, the dingy linoleum floor in the bathroom, rusted garbage can, chipped paint everywhere, the hugely torn screen on the door to the balcony. More shabby than chic that's for sure. At almost $200 a night, I couldn't help thinking I should have gone with the other inn on Main St.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miffyninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This review is for the Sunday brunch experience only.

Sunday brunch is always marvelous, something for everyone off the menu, and can be very good value for $26.

We return regularly with local and out of town friends to experience the view of the Hudson River and West Point.

Drinks are over-priced, the only spoiler. Otherwise All-Star Evaluation.

Easily accessible too from Metro-North train.

Room Tip: Don't miss Sunday Brunch. Many tables with view of Hudson River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AisleSeat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cold Spring
2.7 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
963 reviews
8.9 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
212 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
8.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
6.0 mi away
The Roundhouse
The Roundhouse
#2 of 2 in Beacon
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson House Inn

Property: Hudson House Inn
Address: 2 Main St, Cold Spring, NY 10516-3202
Location: United States > New York > Cold Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cold Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This old inn began doing business in 1832. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hudson House Hotel Cold Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing