We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOL”
Review of Joe's Tavern

Joe's Tavern
Ranked #20 of 38 Restaurants in Cohoes
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Cohoes, New York
1 review
“LOL”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

had to park a block away in a not so great area of Cohoes. greeted out front by a group of drunk smokers. once inside I was afraid to touch anything. this place looks like what you would think it looks like by the name of the place. very expensive dinning for a run down hole in the wall.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank verizonbspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My friend had eaten here and told me how good it was. Wanting to go somewhere close after a long week, we asked friends to go with us to try Joe's. Directions in hand, we were able to find the place without a hitch, even got to park right in front of the place. I will admit I was a little nervous, because it is right in the middle of a row of houses. But the minute we walked in we loved the place. Everyone at the bar was super friendly and the bartender was a real sweetheart. Our table was ready in just a few minutes. We started with steamed clams and Utica Greens. By far the best greens I have ever eaten. The cup of Potato Leek soup was very good. I had the grilled chicken and shrimp with a lemon wine sauce over penne. YUM and it was even better the next day! Our bill was even a pleasant experience! Will go back again and again and bring more friends!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clarkbar07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Glad we were able to find this place”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Even though I had looked on the map, we had to call for directions, but it was definitely worth finding this place! We got there early on a Saturday and had to wait a few minutes for the dining room to be set up. The bar is super small and the dining room seats about 30 people so it does get noisy. We had the Utica Greens as the appetizer and I had the chicken and sausage in vodka sauce as my entree. My husband ate the chicken tortorella. We both had enough to take home leftovers to enjoy another day. Mike, the owner, came out to ask how we had liked the food. The waitress was attentive. We will come again and try their pizza, which everyone raves about.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seg56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohoes,NY
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Joes tavern is in a secluded street in the City of Cohoes, and if you are looking for something big keep looking. Mike who is the owner and Chef comprises specials that you would like. All time standards of pizza, and sandwiches but a goal you have to try is his dinner specials. You will leave this establishment wit a full belly and still have money in your pocket. I beg you not to try this place because I won't be able to get in when I want. A true diamond in the rough. His staff in the kitchen produces an excellent product and the waitstaff is also top notch .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mski110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohoes
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“yuck”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The place has a bad smell, setting, dismal, ... food - abundant but ...however, main entree was over cooked, - they do have good chicken wings. Just not a fan of the main dishes. Pizza and wings only.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Morning S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Joe's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing