We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Inviting!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 7 Clinton B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Susan and Tim shared their lovely home with us and we immediately felt comfortable and relaxed. They have thought of every convenience, anxious to assist with directions, suggestions of activiities and good places to eat. Susan makes a delicious quiche and the oatmeal bread was scrumptious. We enjoyed great conversation and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: The first floor room is convenient with lots of shower bars, etc.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nscgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We hope you return soon and often!

Susan and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 75 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just stayed overnight with my son for the purpose of a college visit. The Artful Lodger is beautiful and immaculate, and the owners are clearly "seasoned professionals" when it comes to service for their guest. I have a terrible back, and always look for a firm bed before I book my accommadations. Well....the beds are excellent! The breakfast was delicious, and the house is in a great location as well. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sksm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

So happy to help! Thank you for writing a review. Enjoy the rest of your college visits, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights at The Artful Lodger B&B. The historic house was beautifully restored. Our room was comfortable, quiet and well appointed. The common living area provided comfortable sofas for reading and lounging. Complimentary soft drinks and coffee were always available and delicious homemade cookies awaited our return each afternoon. The breakfasts were excellent--quiche and bacon one morning, blueberry- and strawberry-stuffed French Toast another. The B&B doubles as an art gallery, and included interesting paintings, pottery and jewelry, all for sale. Hosts Tim and Susan were helpful with directions and suggestions for local restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harlan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you so much for writing a review. We hope you will visit again soon!

Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at The Artful Lodger after our day in Cooperstown. We found Susan and Tim to be extremely welcoming, the B&B and grounds were beautiful and our room was charming. We were impressed that everything from the emergency flashlight in the power socket to the lighted make-up mirror in the bathroom to the magazines in the bedroom had very clearly been carefully thought through. We will definitely look forward to our next stay at The Artful Lodger.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and I traveled to the Clinton area for her family reunion last week. We were fortunate to be able to make reservations at The Artful Lodger - and glad we did. The location is just perfect - in a beautiful 1830's home just across the street from the village green, shops, pubs and restaurants. The hospitality was great - Susan and Tim took care of our every need. Pretty much everything is thought of - from coffee if you wake up before breakfast to afternoon cookies and fruit. We started each day with a home-cooked breakfast that featured ingredients from the herb garden out back and the local farmer's market. Just right. The house has many original features and is well decorated. Easy in and out, regardless of the time. Our room was furnished very nicely and what you would expect in a nice B&B. There are a couple of great restaurants just across the way, a coffee shop and 2 famous pub/dive bars for some local flavor, not to mention the handful of shops and pizza places. When in Clinton or surrounding areas, check this B&B out...

Room Tip: The website has descriptions of the various rooms available. We weren't able to book the room...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

We're glad you enjoyed your time in Clinton and hope you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I only stayed overnight at The Artful Lodger, but I found the room cozy and clean. The bathroom was a bit small, but it was a minor feature. The proprietors were friendly and helpful, and the Inn is beautifully kept up and decorated. Local art, jewelry, pottery, and cards are available for purchase. Delicious breakfast, too. Nice village location, great restaurant called Nola's walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eastcoasttraveler137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you for writing. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We enjoyed our very comfortable room in this Inn, which is located in a pretty New York State Village. The owner was also helpful with restaurant recommendations. However, when we sat down to breakfast, we were a bit disappointed. There were three choices, but none of them were particularly generous in sizw and one was only packaged cereal -- not even the granola the owner served with a yogurt and fruit cup. What we had was tasty, but it was the smallest breakfast we have ever been served in a B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViaAmable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busy0ne, Owner at The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, but sorry you left the table hungry. Our hot breakfast option is the most filling, and we encourage our guests to let us know if they would like more. For some, a bowl of raisin bran is just the ticket, which is why we offer the cereal option. (We aim to please - just ask!)

We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!

Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites By Hilton New Hartford Utica
9.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott New Hartford
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Utica
Holiday Inn Utica
#2 of 3 in New Hartford
81 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Artful Lodger Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7 East Park Row, Clinton, NY 13323-1544
Location: United States > New York > Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clinton
Price Range: $109 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Clinton's Historic District, this 5 room B&B showcases the work of regional artists. One mile from Hamilton College. Private baths, air conditioning, free wireless internet, and full breakfast included in room rate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing